We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden world amongst the forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royston Hall Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Royston Hall Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royston Hall Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Royston Lane (off Old St. Faiths' Rd) | Umtentweni, Port Shepstone 4235, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Discounted Price
Ranked #2 of 15 Port Shepstone B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A hidden world amongst the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nestled amongst indigenous forest overlooking the Umtentweni river Royston Hall is a hidden jewel. The rooms are elegant, refurbished with a real intent to preserve the grand colonial splendour of the house. The welcome is warm, the beds are comfortable and the birdlife and scenery is immense. I only wish I could have stayed longer to explore the nature reserve!

Room Tip: I would choose one of the two rooms on the first floor as they have high ceilings and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Nick,
Rather late than never: Thank you for your positive review; sorry about the slow response! It was so lovely meeting you. do please come again, bring your lady and stay longer.
Best regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Delegates, thoroughly enjoyed the service at the Royston Hall. Catering, the food and stunning location was the buzz in our feedback received. Thank You Ria and the Royston Team. The service standard was by far nothing short of excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Ashley,
Thank you for the kind observations and beautiful review.
May God bless you.
Regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

small things are missing..no hairdryers in rooms..rooms are NOT ensuite, which is not indicated either on the website or when booking. we had booked dinner both nights and they ran out of wine...and served the same dessert both nights (we were the only repeating guests, but still...)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for staying with us on the 1/2 price Special through Daddy's Deals. And thank you for the constructive critism which wqould have been much kinder delivered in person, I would have bent over backward to rectify and please you as a guest. We will go through the various websites and make sure there is no confusion about the 2 upstairs bathrooms being 'privately allocated' as stated at length on my website. Still, we offer 4 double rooms and 4 bathrooms.

There was bound to be ONE disgruntled guest - that is how human nature is. It is also the first time RH is critisised for lack of small 'details'? I hope this is not affecting other potential guests.

We are not lisenced, so please note that the wine was a gift and as I explained on the night, I didn't expect the other guests to request their wine on arrival - and again at table. I'm sorry you were put out, but happy that I could serve you wine by the glass when requested.

Lastly, I have never served 'the same dessert' two nights in succession. I'm sorry you didn't take note of the detail there. To tell you a secret, I cook 'off the cuff' and simply don't have the same ingredients a second night!

Kind regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongaat
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

we had a wonderful 1 night stay at royston hall. the place is set amongst the trees and is safe and secluded. beautiful views of the Umtentweni river from upstairs and the outside. Michelle and her staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. the rooms are individually decorated with inc furniture. the property has a train line running underneath a part of it which we found amazing. there is a trail to the dam below or the estuary or to the beach. there are two huge dalmations on the property for the animal lovers. they are inc friendly. the food is lovely and freshly prepared.the house is a monument and most interesting.great stuff.

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms have a little balcony and the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear 'Pops',
Thank you for your beautiful review.
It is so kind of you to have taken note of all the detail I take pride in, as this is also my private home.
Please come again soon!
Regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Totally awesome, out of this world experience. Great hospitality and wonderful attention to detail in every aspect from the decor to our general well being as guests. The meals were deliciously scrumptious. We found the history of the home most Intriguing.. It was an all round delightful place to visit :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Kim,
Rather late than not at all: Thank you for your gracious review.
Do come again soon!
Regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

So last weekend we took a "short-left" to the peaceful surrounds of the Umtentweni river and stayed at the historical Royston Hall.
We were welcomed by the two, my girlfriend calls them "horse-dogs", of the biggest Dalmation dogs we've ever seen and the very friendly Ria.
The meals were superb throughout our stay, with supper served with a lovely bottle of wine.
Overall, this was a very peaceful stay from the time you drive in; with so much greenery overlooking the river and the calming sound of birds chirping.
We round up our stay with a 3.4km hike on Sunday morning offered by the Conservancy and recommended by Ria. This hike leads you to the Whale watching deck where we enjoyed a beautiful sea-breeze, although we didnt spot any whales :-)

A truly lovely stay and one I'd definitely repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for the holiday suite or one of the outside rooms for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Neo,
Thank you for your loevely review. Rather late, but better than never!
Do come again - and bring your buddies?
Best Regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ria was so personal and welcomed me after a rather nasty experience. The food was superbly prepared, presented and tasted even better. Highly recommended. The view over the river is amazing. I will definitely recommend Royston Hall to colleagues and friends who wish to experience tranquility and great service away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria H, Owner at Royston Hall Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Betsy,
Sorry so late, but thanks for the kind review. I am so pleased when business people also enjoy staying here, because they can be so valuable to us during the week.
Please come again soon!
Regards,
Ria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royston Hall Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royston Hall Guesthouse

Address: Royston Lane (off Old St. Faiths' Rd) | Umtentweni, Port Shepstone 4235, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Shepstone
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Port Shepstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royston Hall Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royston Hall Guesthouse - circa 1897 - is a stately Victorian Manor House graded as 'Superior' by AA Tourism Grading and listed with the Historical Council. We have two resident Great Danes and a Siamese cat who will welcome you and add to the homeliness of Royston Hall. Nestling in its own small Private Nature Reserve it overlooks the Umzimkulu Estuary with the Indian Ocean twinkling in the distance. This romantic property lends itself to a place of quiet rest. We offer only 4 double rooms and 4 bathrooms for maximum of 8 guests at any time to ensure exclusivity. Regret no children. This YOUR time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royston Hall Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royston Hall Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.