We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor

Angkor
Giessereistrasse 18, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
043 205 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #797 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $26 - $87
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

My business partner chose this restaurant since it is conveniently located in the Puls 5, a very modern, trendy technology park, 10 minutes by tram from the Zurich main train station.
Atmosphere is relaxed, traditional and it has one of the friendliest staff I have ever experienced.

They all spoke very good english and made us feel totally at ease. We could concentrate on our business discussion and did not have to worry about the food or drinks.

In the other room they even have a big fish tank with Koi fish which adds to the oriental atmosphere.

The only drawback was the lack of Wi-Fi connection. Hence my lower than maximum rating.
Strong recommendation for anyone who wants good food and piece of mind in this oriental temple.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    42
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Severe Discrimination towards Indians ...a shame!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We are staying in Novotel and went for dinner here.We were made to sit and dine in lounge cum waiting area since we had no reservation.While we ordered and waiting ,some of the diners left but we still were not offered a table ,moreover three or four groups came without reservation were provided siting in proper dining area.Towards the end another Indian family came in and like us they were offered place in waiting area.We clearly see from where we were sitting that empty table available.I see there is a clear case of racial discrimination.It is a shame and how this practice exist in so called "Asian restaurant".

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extremely nice atmosphere and great asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Very cool atmosphere, great food also. However, you pay what you get, so it's not exactly cheap (quite the opposite infact). However, for the right occasion or with the corresponding budget this is definitely a place to visit.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Even Yehuda, Israel
1 review
“Nice but incredibly overprized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

A big thai restaurant. Nicely decorated. The food was nice, not extraordinary. Expensive. Charged us for extra rice and tap water...

  • Visited March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing interior design/decor, good food - let down by service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This is my third visit (1st review) to Angkor. My first two visits were pleasant but not memorable inregards to food.

We decided to come here for a girls night out.the restaurant itself is gorgeous, beautifully designed, lovely decor, unique with the indoor koi pond, staff are dressed beautifully and the crockery (specially designed for the restaurant) is spectacular.

The menu is extensive but excessively so. It is too confusing to have to flip through 20over pages!!! I would rather a restaurant offer 12 dishes it does very well as opposed to offering 40 mediocre dishes. Having siad that my salad was fantastic - the tamarind dressing was the perfect blaance between sour, sweet and spicy and it was generous with prawns. My fish main (house speciality) was good but could not live up to the powerful flavors of the prawn salad.

Service was poor. The first waitress came to the table took drink orders from two of us... And completely ignored the other two guests! And when we finished our meal they didnt offer the dessert menu or coffee to us. 1.5 hrs after ending our main course we had to ask for the bill!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.