We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of terrasse

terrasse
Limmatquai 3, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
044 251 10 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 1,245 restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Old Town
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“An Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We'd never been here before but the room looked really attractive and inviting for a Monday lunch with visitors from abroad. At 1.30pm the business lunch crowd were finishing up and the room was busy, but that quickly changed. I've seen the reviews here of poor service but we found it efficient and professional albeit not really warm. The food though was sensational. We all went for the daily lunch specials starting with the delicious soup all round. At CHF 5.5 I was very impressed straight off the bat. For main course the sea bass special was wonderful and a decent serving for a lunch special. No desserts but some quality Prosecco finished off a great luncheon experience. I would recommend and go again but our by chance avoidance of the madding crowd at peak time was probably a smart thing in hindsight and could be the difference on the service front. It's a big operation between the large room and bar and I imagine full on in summer when the outdoor seating comes in to play overlooking the river. Very nice and I look forward to a return in the summer months next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    36
    87
    35
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sad customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have been toTerrace at several occasions, and every time we are disappointed by lack of customer service. It is a nice place with adequate food (although expensive for what you get) it´s a shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It should be rated higher on Tripadvisor list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This restaurant/bar/club was very close to our hotel and recommended by receptionist. Unfortunately, we were leaving that night so didn't have enough time to truly enjoy the experience. Nevertheless, food we had was of greatest quality, service good but unpretentious and the ambient perfect. Bar area was full and had vibrant atmosphere even though it was early Sunday evening. Hope to have a chance to repeat the visit. It is unfortunate that places which are not reviewed as often (maybe because they have more locals than tourists) will not make it in the first few hundred restaurants on TripAdvisor, and many "tourist traps" will...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“lovely spot for sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we were in zurich for a long stopover and asked a resident for a recommendation for a nice lunch. he said try terrasse and we did. it's very nice. great location. a mix of locals and tourists. limited but adequate selection on sunday. liesurely pace, attentive service. it looks like outdoor dining would be a treat but the weather was not cooperating. it was pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a summer lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch on Saturday in the garden. The location is gorgeous and the service impeccable. The menu is rather limited but you always find the appropriate combination of food and wine. Suggest you dress up properly... Without wine we have spent 50 chf for a shared entree and a main course. Will be back in winter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed terrasse also viewed

Zurich, Switzerland
 
Zurich, Switzerland
 

Been to terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.