We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, even during the Streetparade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtschaft Neumarkt

Wirtschaft Neumarkt
Neumarkt 5, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
+4144 252 79 39
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Switzerland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Peaceful, even during the Streetparade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited the Wirtschaft Neumarkt in the evening of the Streetparade in Zurich and seating in the cool, quiet garden under the trees was a welcome change after the loudness of the techno and house sounds on the streets, less than 500 m away. The food was excellent as always. I appreciated the information about the provenience of the meat, poultry and vegetables. I had a small Caprese salad, a rolled sausage with oven potatos and a "rote gruetze" (vanilla ice in a soup of red berries); my wife had a cold cucumber soup, a rabbit ragout with polenta and a strawberry sorbet - all very tasty. The service was friendly - just don't accept the maitre d's suggestion for a table if you see another one that suits you better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    45
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
590 helpful votes 590 helpful votes
“One of the best places for outdoor dining in Old Town Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I truly loved this place, on a very hot summer day, sitting under wide canopy of beautiful ancient chestnut trees, with wine barrels and huge bouquets of sunflowers, one almost did not feel the burn of 33C outside. Ambience at night is even more impressive with gentle treaded lights and fairy lights, but it was just as lovely during the day, shaded by old medieval buildings. To top it all off, service was excellent, food fresh, modern Swiss cuisine, a real must in the Old Town. The lunch order was introduced by little salad of leaves with cottage cheese and lovely citrusy dressing, so refreshing. My main of Swiss and Zurich specialty of softest "melt in your mouth" veal pieces with mushrooms and fresh chanterelles was truly superb, served with home made pasta cooked al dente. My friend's steak of "free range" Alpine pig from a famous area of the Swiss Alps served with potatoes and beans was also appreciated. Truly caring service, on a hot day, they made me my custom made peppermint iced tea as if they were making it all the time. Truly cosy. Cant wait to get back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Zurich Outdoor Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local and we really enjoyed it. If you are not familiar with the city you may need GPS because it is tucked away down an narrow alley. Nice outdoor courtyard shaded by a large tree. Super lunch menu and really nice desserts. Seemed like traditional Swiss cuisine. I had the deep fried batter dipped fish with greens. The fish was very light and tasty. Relaxing place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful athmosphere, trendy but not artificial, the old town at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

To make the experience even nicer, you have to walk to the Neumarkt through the small Zurich old town streets. On Muenstergasse, just before Niederdorfstrasse, take a right onto Spiegelgasse. It is Zurich experienced as a small village. Every time I walk through those cobbled street, I want to buy a house or even a tiny apartment...keep on dreaming. Spiegelgasse goes first up and then down before you reach Wirtschaft Neumarkt. The restaurant is great, moderately expensive... we are in Zurich, remember... but the clientele is you and me; not investment bankers... If you haven't booked, it's ok, there is a wonderful cafe adjacent to the restaurant where waiting at the bar will be a nice treat. Around 8 pm, just before the neighbor Theater opens it doors, the cafe is a cosy and nice place to enjoy a beer or glass of Syrah from the Wallis mountains,.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Smiling, Helpful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I've been here ten or so times and I never cease to enjoy the menu. One of the keys for me is the menu is not TOO long and always has very fresh ingredients - and they seem proud of their twist on Swiss staples. Nice wines as well. In summer the terrace garden is great for lunch or dinner (but best to book). In the winter the dining room is cosy. Most of all it's the service that stands out, very friendly but not in your face. Be back soon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtschaft Neumarkt also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Wirtschaft Neumarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtschaft Neumarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.