We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Madrid

Restaurant Madrid
Froschaugasse 15, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
+41442511333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 1,382 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $22 - $90
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Tapas, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

spanish restaurant in the historical centre of zurich

the food is average. my "rape a la gallega" (monkfish galician style) was the usual monkfish you can find in zurich (not so fresh, but frozen fish) however is was not "a la gallega" but something different. meat was good. no garnison comes with main dishes, meaning that you have to order an aside garnison. at the end prices go quite high, to as much as 130 sfr for two main dishes, garnison, water and dessert, which is a bit in the high side for what we ate.

the wine list was very complete, at usual zurich prices.

unfortunately, as it happens too often in switzerland, the separation from our neighbours table did not exceed 5 centimetres, making difficult to keep some privacy while you have dinner. the overall athmosphere of the restaurant was good anyway.

the service was corteous.

i have other spanish favourites in zurich like "el real", but this can be an option despite of their price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bubbly little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

On entering the restaurant it was a little dated but I suppose that added to the authenticity of the place, it was absolutely rammed full we had a party of 8 booked at the last minute and they managed to squeeze us in , staff were extremely friendly, the food was cooked very well, for starter we had the seafood tapas for the table, every person on the table had a different main course all enjoyed the food very much not one person had a bad word to say, the bill was very expensive but still in line with Zurich prices so no complaints, a fun lively evening

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food, bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Liked the food. Were there last when smoking permitted. The management deemed us the villains when we took offense with 3 people smoking cigars. We couldn't open windows as the cigar smokers complained. The management asked US to move rather than the smoke creators. Thank goodness Zurich finally prohibited smoking in restaurants. Might try the restaurant again but not impressed with their last response.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great wines and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The restaurant doesn't look like it is one of the best in Zurich but it surely is.
The food is outstanding, the wines are just a dream (Hacienda Monasterio, 2007) and the service is great. We were just 3 peolpe but the owner took his time with us, sat at our table and even offered us some carachillos.
Top noch.
Order Tapas, veal cutlet with saffron risotto and for dessert a crema catalana!
A dream.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Please go to another restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We went there yesterday night and it was one of the worse experience here in zurich so far; the food was nothing special (some tapas, one dish of paella, some poor wine), service very poor and the price absolutely high (we were in 12 and we paid each 135 CHF). I believe it is a restaurant for tourists.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Madrid also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.