We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff, reasonable food but overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rosso

Rosso
Geroldstrasse 15, Zurich 8005, Switzerland (Escher Wyss)
+41 (0)43 818 22 54
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #986 of 1,375 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Escher Wyss
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff, reasonable food but overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice decor, could be a nice place but the food is boring, not a lot of choice either, small portions considering the prices ( pizza looked big though, but the rest is stingy) and the staff is useless. Waited for an hour for our mains plus half of the drinks were only brought after asking twice, and even then with a forced smile. One of these hyped places that ends up ruining it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    38
    17
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I wouldn't have taken the time to write a review of the Rosso if it hadn't been for many negative reviews that I've read. Based on those reviews - especially about the poor service - we were hesitant about our visit. All in all, we were very pleased with the service. From the moment we entered the restaurant until we left, the personnel were very attentive and friendly and also acknowledged changes in the menu that we asked for and pointed out that they offer free tap water. The food (pizza) was excellent and my family raved about the starter salad. The restaurant itself is also very attractive. We will certainly return to Rosso.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service, bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

For Zurich, it's not such bad decoration, but comparing with any other place, it's not special at all. Very arrogant service, called 4 times to try to make a reservation, but they are not able to serve food and take reservations at the same time (very challenging task for a restaurant...). Food is nothing special: pizza with very little toppings, tasteless pasta, terribly cooked meat, wine too expensive and nothing special. Not worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service, good pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Well the staff is arrogant and the service is at best poor. Pizza and location is great. There is other places in that area which deserves a visit before this one

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“by far, the best pizza in the whole world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

been going to rosso for years now... their pizza is the best i have ever had... thin crust, freshly made tomato sauce... excellent wine menu... nice atmosphere, be it winter time with their cosy fire place or summer time on their terrace.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.