We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Kaiten-Sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yooji's Seefeld

Yooji's Seefeld
Seefeldstrasse 115, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
41 (0) 44 383 92 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #830 of 1,375 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Kaiten-Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The reason to visit Yooji's Seefeld today was an article in a local newspaper that mentioned they serve REAL wasabi (horseradish) as a speciality.

You have to order it separately first and then they bring the whole wasabi root to your table and grate it in front of you for your portion. It is really great to taste the real stuff with all it's flavor.

We tasted the sushi from the conveyor belt and it was generally ok. Unfortunately there was only little choice besides salmon, tuna and shrimp on the nigiri side. I generally prefer white meat fish but understand that it is difficult to get in good quality in Europe.

They also had some tasty fried shrimps maki sushi and some other unusual creations.

In general it was good quality but it comes at a steep price. The cheapest plate on the belt is CHF 5.80 up to the most expensive at CHF 12.50.
For a similar quality in Japan at a conveyor belt it would not cost more than JPY 200 (CHF 2.20) per plate.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baeretswil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

this is where my husband likes to eat when we find ourselves in Zürich. He likes to get it to go and we take it home to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, but you need deep pockets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Wonderful sushi, sashimi & co, fascinating conveyor belt self service or upstairs seated and served. In summer the terrace at the back is terrific.

Better value to order a platter or dish than choose from the belt, but the belt can be fun...

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure I'd bother again... No... I am sure. Don't bother.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We both love sushi so thought we'd try it out Yooji's.
From the outside it looks a cool place and it's clean and relaxed. I liked that each seat has its own screen for internet access too.

The food was much fresher than supermarket sushi in the UK which we tend to avoid for that reason but no better than any sushi restaurant I've been to before. It was expensive. It's the centre of a European city so I know to expect this but I mean it's really expensive. The conveyor went round soooo slowly that it took forever to wait for things to get round to you. We had slowly lost the will to live by the second plate and couldn't see anything on the menu that suggested they cooked any hot food like a katsu curry or noodles. There were some noodles on the conveyor but they were cold. Hmmm.... Wasn't tempted. Prices ranged from CHF5.60 to CHF12.80 per item.

Overall very disappointed. Paid for the 2 plates and left.

Oh and internet access is very limited to certain pre-selected sites.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice and good Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Good place. Clean, friendly and reasonably priced despite being fairly popular. Local, mostly Swiss clientele in upscale Seefeld area. Sit at counter watching the sushi chef or at big wooden tables. Right at a tram number 2 stop.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yooji's Seefeld also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Yooji's Seefeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yooji's Seefeld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.