We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffins Asian Kitchen

Tiffins Asian Kitchen
Seefeldstrasse 61, Zurich, Switzerland
+41 44 382 18 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #728 of 1,375 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Uninspired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Asian style cooking. It's not bad, but not very tastefull either. The chicken in sweet-sour sauce smelled like vinegar. The Indian platter with tandoori chicken wasn't spicey at all. Ad the cocktail we started with was watery. With main dishes at about Sf 30 it is not good enough.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc J, Manager at Tiffins Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear anoniem_10

Thank you very much for your visit to Tiffins and for your honest feedback.

I am sorry that you did not like the flavour of our sweet & sour chicken, as the dish is very popular amongst our regular customers. Concerning the Indian platter, please do not hesitate to tell our staff that you wish the food to be extra spicy during your next visit. We will gladly season the dish to your taste.

However, the prices for our main dishes vary between CHF 20 - 25, depending on the ingredients, as we set a high value on providing our guests with quick service and great food at a good price. We monitor the quality of our dishes closely every day and using only fresh and impeccable products is of great importance to us.

We would be pleased to welcome you as a customer in Tiffins again soon.

Kind regards
Marc Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian multiculti food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Familystyle open seating at large tables makes for easy and quick service. Food is very good and fresh. Mango pana cotta divine to sooth the burn of thai spices. Friendly service even for single woman travellers. Prices seem to have gone up, but still reasonable. Good place for everyone,unless you need peace and quiet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc J, Manager at Tiffins Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear agbtm

Thank you for your visit to Tiffins and for rating us on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you noticed the quick service and that you liked our fresh Asian cuisine. Your feedback helps us to further improve our service and I will gladly forward your compliments to our staff.

We look forward to your next visit to Tiffins!

Kind regards
Marc Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best thai in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the best tahi restaurant in Zurich- not only becasue of the cheap price-compared to rest of Zurich- but also becasue of the best chicken satay ever. The waiters are the friendliest-especially the ones from Bangladesh. I lived in Seefeld for 3 months and ate here twice a week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc J, Manager at Tiffins Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear taveller253

Thank you very much for your visit to Tiffins and for your compliments on our service as well as our famous chicken satay. I will gladly forward your feedback to our staff.

We look forward to your next visit to Tiffins.

Kind regards
Marc Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Delicious food, quick service, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Saturday night, you can't book but we only waited about 10 mins for a table- we were well & truly entertained with the lemongrass infused vodka mojito so weren't bothered that we had to wait for a few moments.
The service was prompt, & as usual in Zürich, multi-lingual! The menu is not huge but it has just enough to appeal to everyone. The food is delicious - we ordered an Indian inspired platter, duck (delicious) & a prawn rice noodle dish. We polished off all of our meals & thoroughly enjoyed them.
If you're after a quick, delicious meal with no fuss this is the place to go. Tables are shared so unless there are 8 of you, you will share a table with others-it's a great way to get to know your fellow diners but not something that appeals to everyone, we quite enjoyed it. Despite no reservations being taken, even though it was busy no one hassled us to leave our table once we had finished our dinner, we lingered on & enjoyed some more delicious mojitos!
Well worth a visit if you're in the area or looking for some delicious Asian inspired food in Zürich.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBueno, Inhaber at Tiffins Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Liz_D27

Thank you very much for visiting Tiffins and your rating on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff as well as your meal, especially because we consider the duck as one of our specialties. I will gladly forward your feedback to our staff.

We look forward to your next visit in Tiffins.

Kind regards
Thomas Gut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
458 reviews 458 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Good food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited today for a late lunch, so there was no crowd. It's a restaurant with an open kitchen. The host/waiter was friendly and took my beer and food order.

I had a large, cold beer CHF 7, Spring rolls CHF 6, and the Pad Thai with Tofu CHF 19. The spring rolls were very good and hot and I felt the Pad Thai was a large serving and tasted good.

The restaurant was extremely spotless and also had a magazine/newspaper corner for customers to view the news/concerts/offerings in the city. The bathrooms were small but very clean. The restaurant is located on the Tram line #2 and #4.

In general, reasonable prices and a very relaxing atmosphere, at least during the off peak hours. I would certainly visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBueno, Inhaber at Tiffins Asian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear FormerCaliBoy

Thank you very much for visiting Tiffins and for your rating on TripAdvisor.

We are very passionate about our food and we strive to improve our service every day, so we highly appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your Tiffins experience and I will happily forward your feedback to our staff.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Thomas Gut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiffins Asian Kitchen also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Tiffins Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffins Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.