We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendy service and good Swiss food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten

Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten
Limmatquai 40, Zurich, Switzerland (Old Town)
0041-44-250-5363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #355 of 1,382 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $11 - $87
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendy service and good Swiss food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a quick lunch here and the food was traditional Swiss-food. The service was okay and the food was nice.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“There's an indoors?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place finally made one of my long held (and sad) little dreams come true... a real, full on chief cooked Swiss cheese fondue!

It was in the middle of December, so NOT warm in Zurich, but under the front of the building there are some torch-lit arches with tables & a surprising amount of people eating outdoors despite the snow on the ground...

We are welcomed by a large gentleman not as tourists or outsiders, but like lost family friends! He kissed my hand (not in a sleazy way) and practically bear hugged my boyfriend! We asked to sit outside & this made him even happier... apparently only the locals have the nerve for it in that weather! but as we sat we were told the big sheepskin type rugs over the chairs were to wrap ourselves in! so we are wrapped up, surprisingly warm and being plied with copious amounts of beer I am handed the specials menu and there it is... the fondue!

Our very long evening here was well spent. Great food (the fondue lived up to all expectations!) and fantastic company. I'll say nothing of the service as it felt more like eating with friends than being served... it was really that good.

Needless to say, we did return later in the week!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Everything's overpriced in Zurich, making meal cost here very much in line with typical local upper-tier restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff served terrific food - not memorable but close to five-star.

However, the hidden bonus is that the restaurant is housed in a medieval guild house first acquired in the mid-1400s, and rebuilt in 1708 after a fire. Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten translates literally to "Guildhouse of Carpenters." In those times, journeyman carpenters were true artists, and the remaining original interior wood was truly beautiful with inlay, carving, etc. - they demonstrated remarkable skill in its construction.

In the early times there were no sophisticated banks as we know them, and members of the various guilds secured their personal wealth in their Zunfthauses, often in gold or silver tableware which they used daily, and kept in a well-guarded, large, built-in safe with multiple key locks requiring a large ring of original huge iron keys to open all the latches. At the time of my visit, we befriended the owner, and he made the very rare late-evening gesture of offering to open the early-17th century safe for us. Its contents were gorgeous and valuable samples of the special tableware.

Excellent food, good company, fine service, new friends, and the 300-600 year old decorations and valuables made a standout of the evening itself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very expensive, good food and bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were a group of 9 and asked to bring some (self-produced) wine when reserving the table, which was unfortunately not allowed but certainly not a problem for 99% of the time.
We then sat on the second floor (if you walk by, enter to the third floor which is very nicely renovated) and had one 2 tables with guests.
The waiter must have had a bad day: 1. When asked for bread (salt, olive oil and butter was on the table) after receiving the menu, he answered that he will first take the order. 2. with one person still eating, he already cleared away all the other plates and also salt&pepper on the table. When asked for any special desserts, however, he asked us that he will not tell us yet, because "madame" is still eating(!). 3. THEN asked for his recommendation, he bluntly named the two most expensive desserts on the list 4. asked for a "Espresso Macchiato" at the end, he said that this would not exist(!). ...maybe we were just unlucky and everyone else is great, but he surely wasn't up for it.
The food was very good, although the plates could have been warmer and for being at least 50% more expensive than many other places in Zürich, I'm definitely expecting more.
So, to eat the touristy all-you-can-eat fondue while sitting outside and wrapped in blankets it might be fun. If service is important to you, however, you will like it elsewhere better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KramerGastronomie, Manager at Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the bad experience that you had in our restaurant.

We want to encourage you to contact us directly via telephone or in person, so that we can discuss the criticised points. In this way we can hopefully find a solution that is satisfying for all.

We would be happy to welcome you again at the Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten and wish you all the best.


Florian Kunzendorf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great atmosphere and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My brother was visiting Zurich for a weekend and I wanted to take him somewhere for Fondue. Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten advertise an open air fondue which I had seen one day and I thought it looked very touristy...it is touristy but also great. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The fondue is all you can eat and not very expensive. All in all a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.