We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace

Taj Palace
Honggerstrasse 25, Zurich 8037, Switzerland
01-2716720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,054 of 1,245 restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I did not like this restaurant for the cold reception and lack of cheer in the service. The taste also does not stand value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    1
    6
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taj Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

service and quality of food was good ...only space is the constraint.. its does not have very large cover. only 30 people can have their food comfortably. .not suitable for groups ..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Terrible quality food service same.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We tried this restaurant years ago and had a wonderful meal. Sadly, either the owners have changed or our years in London have made us choosier. The meat here is atrocious! Tough and gristly and covered in fat. My husband loves spicy food so he was very much looking forward to the Vindaloo. He had one bite and didn't touch the rest. The vegetable dishes were okay but the food arrived on our table at a glacial speed. When we told the waiter the quality of meat was not up to standard he just sort of shrugged. Because of our love of a good curry we tried it 2 more times with similar results and have not been back since. These Asian restaurants need to realize that the Swiss clientele is well travelled and will not accept this poor quality food!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We tried to visit this place with a Groupon worth 107 CHF. I called ahead to check that this was okay. When we arrived, I showed the groupon on my phone, and the manager snapped at me that I should have printed it, and walked off without so much as a fake apology.

After he did not return for a few minutes (in the past, I've been asked to email the voucher) I had to get up and talk to him. We left without eating. Judging from the standards of service, I count this as fortunate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
2 reviews
“honnymoon trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

i come to frist time in zurich because i need better food in veg so please cosert me best food in indian taste

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Palace also viewed

Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 
Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 

Been to Taj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.