We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place for vegetarians and everybody else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiltl

Hiltl
Sihlstrasse 28, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 227 70 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,383 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $25 - $101
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Founded in 1898 by Ambrosious Hiltl, Haus Hiltl is the world’s first vegetarian restaurant in the world. Four generations later, Haus Hiltl is managed by Rolf and Marielle Hiltl who have transformed the restaurant into an internationally renowned establishment. From the early hours of the morning until late at night, guests enjoy home-made fare, prepared fresh every day – from take away snacks to coffee and cakes, right up to refined cuisine and house made beverages all served in a unique atmosphere.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE place for vegetarians and everybody else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great, buzzing place almost any time of the day with buffet and a la carte vegetarian dishes that are a cut above the rest. Outdoor sitting in summer (if you can find a place). Upstairs can be reserved with the help on an app. Try the "tatar" based on tomatos but you will believe it is the real thing.

Although the food is vegi, the crowed is not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! :)

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards, your Hiltl-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    446
    117
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a great diner, brunch, fast lunch... With and without kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been there for a quick lunch and it was perfect; help yourself to the buffet, there's plenty to chose from. I have been there for a brunch with friends and kids, there was drawing books for them, pencils and markers to draw on the glass staircase; it was very relaxed and delicious. I have been there for diner with an Indian colleague of mine who really enjoyed having a great vegetarian meal after a week of traditional Swiss cuisine.
In short, it's always been a great choice for me, even though I am not vegetarian: it just tastes great and that's all I need!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your great review and the nice compliments!

We are looking forward to welcome you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very best vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It is my favorite lunch restaurant in town Zurich and and in the evenings we
enjoy a delicious indian buffet. I have not found any similar vegetarian restaurant
in Europe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
A big thank you for your positive words. We enjoy them very much. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Healthy good quality veggie all time favourite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

There are few restaurants that i visit so often and has never let me down..also have never seen such wide variety of health tasty veggie options .highly recommended..but be sure u book in advance or be prepared to wait .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
It`s nice to have such loyal guests. :)

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Vegi-Restaurant in Zürich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been several times at Hiltl, sometimes I meet with friends for lunch or we go in the evenings. I had only once a la carte. I recomend briefly to take the buffet, everything is made freshly, several times a day and has a big variety of different excellent things. Also recomended for vegans.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your nice review! :)

Greetings from your Hiltl-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiltl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.