We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hiltl

Hiltl
Sihlstrasse 28, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 227 70 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,383 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $25 - $101
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Founded in 1898 by Ambrosious Hiltl, Haus Hiltl is the world’s first vegetarian restaurant in the world. Four generations later, Haus Hiltl is managed by Rolf and Marielle Hiltl who have transformed the restaurant into an internationally renowned establishment. From the early hours of the morning until late at night, guests enjoy home-made fare, prepared fresh every day – from take away snacks to coffee and cakes, right up to refined cuisine and house made beverages all served in a unique atmosphere.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I`ve been in this restaurant for a breakfast with friends. The atmosphere was very nice and the service very friendly. For just 25 Swiss Francs for the whole breakfast buffet (which is also a lunch buffet) and a choice of coffe and fruit juices, this is one of the best breakfast buffet I`ve ever had. Even though it was a vegetarien buffet, the choice of food is so big and as well delicous, that you forgot that there is no meat available (and I`m a meat lover:-) ).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the great compliment! We hope to welcome you soon again for a fine breakfast at Haus Hiltl. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    446
    117
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vibey Cosmopolitan Self Service Bar/Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Modern setup, Vibey atmosphere - good food and right in the centre of Zurich - people coming and going, the buffet is of such a high standard and the variety of food offered is mind boggling - self service ensures that you are in control whether staying to enjoy the atmosphere in the bar or to use the takeaway option and enjoy at home - meal was well priced - did find the drinks a bit pricey though especially for travelers which I'm sure that the majority of their custom is not - seemed to be filled with people who work in the city and/or those just meeting in a central place for a quick bite

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian restaurant with great options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the nicest vegetarian Indian restaurant I have visited where there are so many options without egg, fish etc. there is a wide variety of salads, curries, vegetables and desserts. Excellent food and very nice staff. Centrally located and nice ambience. A Must visit in Zurich!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vegetarian Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a recent trip to Switzerland we spent three days in Zurich (2 days on arrival and 1 day at end of trip). We had read the many excellent reviews and decided to try Hiltl on our first night in Zurich, although admittedly I'm more of a meat eater. The food quality and variety was so good that we ate 3 dinners there. We enjoyed the large variety, especially the Indian curries, which were so good that I didn't miss eating meat. A full plate can easily cost $30, which might seem to be high for a cafeteria style eatery, but it is actually quite reasonable for a very solid meal in Switzerland. The only negative is that it gets quite busy in the evening and finding a table can be a challenge.

Will certainly eat again at Hiltl on our next visit to Zurich. I wish that they would expand their operations to more cities in Switzerland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Outstanding review is the first thing I think of after reading your feedback. We are more than happy to elate our foreign guests on such a high level that they spend all their evenings at our restaurant. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us!

By the way, our partners from "tibits" maintain restaurants in Bern, Winterthur, Basel and London. Maybe an alternative to try?

See you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best veg / veg*n food in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I'd read the reviews of Hiltl on Happy Cow and then a coworker said another colleague told him about it as well, so we walked over from Banhofstrausse to check it out. I'm vegan but my colleagues are meat eaters who were willing to try a veg restaurant, and we were each able to find a wide variety of food and cleaned our plates. Indian, Thai, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean, Western; all cultures were represented here. As the hungriest and most adventurous, I piled my all-you-can-eat plate up high and it cost 34 ChF (about $39). Once I got over the sticker shock, I realized I'd easily pay this much for a meal in New York or London, and it was seriously good food. The atmosphere was fantastic, a cool, modern vibe with great music, where you can also take your dinner into the hip bar lounge near the buffet. Hiltl often hosts special events. Overall, a must experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hiltl, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Very positive review, thanks a lot! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiltl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.