We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Veg food.....and the veg meat seriously tastes like MEAT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hiltl

Hiltl
Sihlstrasse 28, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 227 70 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $107
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Founded in 1898 by Ambrosious Hiltl, Haus Hiltl is the world’s first vegetarian restaurant in the world. Four generations later, Haus Hiltl is managed by Rolf and Marielle Hiltl who have transformed the restaurant into an internationally renowned establishment. From the early hours of the morning until late at night, guests enjoy home-made fare, prepared fresh every day – from take away snacks to coffee and cakes, right up to refined cuisine and house made beverages all served in a unique atmosphere.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Veg food.....and the veg meat seriously tastes like MEAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

been here a couple of times and always had a good experience....its a bit pricey for what you get, but the food is super dooper good, and their and the veg meat seriously tastes like MEAT. Water is free to take as much as you like....the wine list is ok, but not wine, and priced rather on the high side.

Conclusion - Great place for veg and non-veg people.....lovely experience!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Hiltl, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    520
    134
    44
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Be aware coeliacs!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The food is amazing!
I have Coeliac disease so having all food labeled with Gluten is great and I can enjoy a meal out (which I can't offen do)
My only reason I say be aware is I asked a chef if the wedges and falafel are cooked on the same oil as the other Gluten containing food. He said it was! So even though they state No Gluten containing ingredients they have been cross contaminated in the oil it's cooked. I had a bad reaction after I left as I'd already eaten them :(
This hasn't put me off I just stick to the non fried food!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Hiltl, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for you compliments for our food and variety.

We have used separate deep fryers for years, until we got the advice from the centre for allergies in Switzerland (aha!), that the structure of Gluten is harmless for people with Coeliac disease after heating it over 200°C in a deep fryer. We have tested several samples with our partner laboratory and can assure you, that the samples did never exceed the critical values for gluten free food (20mg/kg).

If you drop us your e-mail we can send you the test results. Anyway we find it rather alarming that you are talking about a bad reaction after eating at our restaurant and we are very sorry for that! We will ask our partner labour to test the wedges (potato skins) and falafel right away and will get back to you with results as soon as we get them.

Thank you for your question and your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Variety is the spice of life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The only downside of Hiltl is that it is always crowded. In spite of that, the service is quick and the food great. I love the variety and if you can handle the crowd it is really enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Hiltl, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“"Da isst jeder gern vegetarisch"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

As also the billboards at the Haus Hiltl says: "Here everyone eats gladly vegetarian."
You can choose either to have your meal at restaurant with a fine atmosphere or at bar-lounge.
Haus Hiltl offers you a very comfortable atmosphere where you can enjoy health food, refreshing juices and nice music.
You pick your plate and then start deciding what you want to eat and how much you want to eat. Every single one of the vegetables are nicely prepared.
I definitely recommend every one to try Haus Hiltl!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Hiltl, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Great review, thaks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“interesting cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

its a wegan restaurant,
you need to get used to this type of food...
pasta integral grain, tuna which is not fish, and very strong chocolate cake...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Hiltl, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are a vegetarian restaurant with a big choice of vegan dishes. But we offer also „normal“ food like pasta and salad, if you are not that adventurous. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiltl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.