We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wiener Schnitzel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blaue Ente

Blaue Ente
Seefeldstr. 223 | Zurich, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
+41 44 388 68 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $16 - $80
Cuisines: Swiss, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Zurich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Wiener Schnitzel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Best Wiener Schnitzel in Zurich, by far. The manager also recommended an excellent wine to us from Tuscany.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik B, Inhaber at Blaue Ente, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for that positive comment you left which we really appreciate.

We would be happy to welcome you and your guests again soon.

Your Blaue Ente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool setting, ok food, service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We celebrated a birthday bash at the venue. To start with - in the bar which is right beside the restaurant you can still smoke! This might be off putting for some people but you can also stay outside and enjoy your drink before heading to the restaurant.
They offer a good variety of dishes - food is good, but not extraordinary. My roast beef was perfect but with three slides of beef it was rather something to start with.
My wife had pasta which is not hard to cook. The plate was big and my wife was glad that I helped her finish the plate. The place is recommendable in the summer time when you can sit outside in the yard of the old mill.
All in all I could recommend it but not because of the kitchen. Setting is worth checking out.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik B, Inhaber at Blaue Ente, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Thank you very much for your comment which we appreciate.

We hope to welcome you again soon in our restaurant or on our terrasse . Let us know in advance and we will book you a good table.

Your restaurant Blaue Ente team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Luxury in down town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

The restaurant has very old fashion with modern touch. It is quite well connected from the Zurich main station so called the Zürich HB. Also it seems to be well organized for business/small group deal. In short, it is difficult to say something about the food, to me it was just average (it was a business party) which mostly doesn't fit with the price of the menu even though the drinks were good! The restaurant is recommended if you are the one who would like to taste whatever it cost!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik B, Inhaber at Blaue Ente, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comment.

We are happy you chose our restaurant for your business party and looking forward to see you and your guests very soon again.

Your Restaurant Blaue Ente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Viennese charm comes to Zurich: Revival at the Blaue Ente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The restaurant situated in an old industrial mill has always had one of the most interesting settings in Zurich (the other one being La Salle ) but the food was "Swiss comfort", well executed but boring, with indifferent service. Now, lead by Christian, himself from Vienna and under management by the same restaurateur who has brought us Atelier and Baerengasse, the blaue Ente (blue duck) comes back with charm (the lights are now flattering and no longer blaring), you get your own loaf of fresh bread, service with smiles and variations on Continental food:
several small dishes to start (truffle lovers, do not miss the perfect egg in a glass with soft mashed potatoes and spinach ), charcuterie from first class provenance, beef from Argentina (hello cousin Baerengasse), Wienerschnitzel and its crisp pommes allumettes and desserts : Marillenknoedel (apricot beignet), melting chocolate cake, cheesecake, your sweet tooth will not be disapointed. The wines are well chosen but not much on the reasonably priced side, however you can order by the glass. Your classics are here with an update, top quality ingredients are used. We hope to see new creations too in the near future and perhaps some menus to soften the blow (everything is expensive in Zurich). We will be back.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik B, Inhaber at Blaue Ente, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Thank you very much for this absolutly positive comment which we really appreciate.

We feel really happy about you have enjoyed your stay in the "Blaue Ente" so much.

We`re looking forward to welcome you and your guests again very soon.

Your Blaue Ente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Back stronger than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

After its renovation, the Blaue Ente in back stronger than ever in Zurich. Very friendly and attentive staff, spacious sitting in a historical setting (Mühle Tiefenbrunnen) and delicious food are a winning combination. It starts with the small detail of serving a fresh small loaf of bread to be cut by yourself, and then feel free to select from their "Mühle Häppli" (aka Tapas) or head straight to the appetizers, entrees and desserts. So far I have tried on two occasions the "Züri Ei" (poached egg on creamy spinach and black truffels) and the spicy shrimp, the herb salad (with herb bacon), the Wiener Schnitzel and the Roastbeef "Ojo de Agua" with crispy Pommes Alumettes - the beef being tender and tasty, although the portion size could have been a big more generous. Last but not least the dessert classic is the warm chocolate cake with liquid core and sour cream ice cream.

A current specialty on Monday evenings is the fresh Suckling Pig - an excellent traditional dish well made!

I will keep coming back to the Blaue Ente on a regular basis - it's just a good place in Zurich to have lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik B, Inhaber at Blaue Ente, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks alot for your positive comment.

We are very happy to read that and hope that we will see you and your guests again soon.

Your Restaurant Blaue Ente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaue Ente also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Blaue Ente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaue Ente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.