We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of the way hidden treasure!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Max-Bill-Platz 19, Zurich 8050, Switzerland (Oerlikon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #61 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great out of the way hidden treasure!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Close to train, easy access to everything!! Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast!! Two blocks from train. Hotel has in room safes, power hook ups for European,US and Japan. Very user friendly!! Free Internet

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    127
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
80
34
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley heights, New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I flew into Zurich airport on a Saturday morning and arrived at the hotel before noon. The staff was very friendly and let me check in to catch up some sleep. The room is very clean and my whole stay here is wonderful. The hotel is 5 minutes by walk from a major station called Oerlikin. There is a co-op supermarket across the street, selling things ranging from rotisserie chicken to sushi. With a five-minute walk, you can be in the Oerlikin station vicinity and eat at restaurants over there. A train ride to center city Zurich by tram (trolley) takes around 30 minutes from the station. There are also direct trains from this station to major locations such as Basle and Luzern. The Oerlikin station is only 20 minutes bus ride away costing around 6.x CHF. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood. I walked around in the evening and found myself surrounded by some office/residential mix. There are also a few nice little parks near the hotel. I regret not finding them in the morning and visiting them. I enjoy this hotel a lot. The slightly remote location in my opinion is definitely a good tradeoff with the price they charge in center city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triad, NC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

One thing about my business trabel habits is that I like predictability. This Marriott Courtyard is clean, quiet and convenient. I like the fact it is 2-3 blocks from the Zurich - Oerlikon train station. When it is time to pack and leave for the airport in the morning, I'm at my own schedule and not of a hotel shuttle. You can also obtain your train transfer from the hotel front desk.

If you're not into a last night meal at the hotel restaurant, the Co-Op market is across the street. Pick up a couple of rolls and some freshly sliced deli meat, a bottle of wine and dessert to carry back to your room.

I've walked the neighborhood and you can find some smaller local establishments, should your curiousity lead you in that direction.

I thought my room was a little pricey compared to other airport location properties, but again, I prefer the predictability.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A typical European Courtyard - clean - efficient - relatively affordable - good amenities
my only criticism is the steep fee for internet access - this should be waived like in the US.
the room was sized to US standard (roomy) and not Swiss (typically tiny). the hotel is located in the middle of a high tech industrial and also residential neighborhood marked by a very spartanic, rigid architecture (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_Bill).
The hotel is great if you need easy access to the University Irchel campus ( tram # 10) or the ETH Hoenggerberg campus ( take bus # 80 ; bus stop is in front of the door)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a good hotel! We were there 3 nights to explore Zurich and the surrounding area. The reception is friendly, the lobby is clean and attractive, the room was very quiet and comfortable and the location was good. It's a short walk to the Oerlikon train station, so you get get anywhere in Zurich, or Switzerland or Europe conveniently. It would be better located if it was closer to the old town or the lake front, but they are only a 10 minute train ride away. There is a good restaurant, although like everything in Zurich, it's very expensive. There is a small gym, but no pool. We were a little warm and even though we turned the t-stat down, we ended up opening the window. So we did hear some truck noises and voices early in the morning.

Room Tip: Get room on upper floor and facing courtyard for less outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in north Zurich's Oerlikon area a number of times, I know the service I received is consistently the same level of excellence I have experienced at other Marriott properties. The breakfast buffet is as good as you'll find in most business hotels, maybe a little better due to the variety of offerings, whether you're looking for a quick continental breakfast or a more traditional hot breakfast. One caveat about the breakfast, there are scrambled eggs, great bacon and sliced ham, potatoes, etc. but not as much variety in terms of hot made to order breads such as waffles or pancakes. The variety of fruits, breads, muesli, cheeses and cold meats speaks to a more traditional Swiss breakfast cuisine. The rooms are clean and large enough for most business travelers. I can't speak about larger accommodations for families, as I have not seen the suites. I know there are adjoining room suites available, just haven't seen them. One thing I appreciated was the automated metal blinds on the windows. Under the light switch just inside the door, a switch raises or lowers these heavy metal blinds, allowing for quiet and complete darkness for someone needed to get some sleep during the day to get over some jet lag.

The wireless internet was as fast or faster than most I have used in hotels. The rooms all have mid-size LCD TV's with a table/desk arrangement typical for the Courtyard hotels. This includes a table you can pull out and an office type chair for adjustable comfort if you have to spend much time working in your room.

For those wanting to save some money on eating out, there are a couple of great grocery stores within easy walking distance. Exiting the hotel on the Binzmühlestrasse side, if you turn right and walk a couple of hundred meters along the street, you'll find an Aldi store on your right. Or if you walk out of the hotel (same side) and cross the Binzmühlestrasse, there is a large COOP store with everything you could need from a grocery, only in a more upscale facility with higher quality merchandise, and of course the requisite prices. If you want some of the great Burli rolls (you have to try this crispy, chewy, bread you generally can't find outside of Switzerland) you better get there in the morning. Once the bakery items put out fresh in the morning are gone, they are gone for the day.

The Oerlikon train station is just 5 minutes on foot from the hotel, one stop to the airport, and easy access to downtown Zurich as well. If you're not traveling on an expense account, this is an easy and inexpensive (relatively) option to get to and from the airport.

I find the staff to be friendly and eager to serve any reasonable request. We had a colleague retiring after 40 years of service with our company on this trip, and the hotel manager couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating to help us put together something special to celebrate her retirement.

You won't find cheap accommodations with this quality anywhere in Zurich. For the money, I would recommend this hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. In any case, there are heavy blinds that can be lowered (motori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I work for a large multinational Swiss company and my four colleagues and I stayed at this hotel (based on my recommendation) for two nights. Unfortunately I had another reservation that was not properly cancelled and will end up paying for a no-show. In spite of being a good customer, there was no forgiveness. The other problem with this hotel is that it that there is no free wi-fi and the wi-fi is very expensive.

Next time I am on a business trip to Zurich, I will choose another hotel in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord

Address: Max-Bill-Platz 19, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#47 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Zurich Nord Hotel
Courtyard Hotel zürich
Courtyard Hotel Zurich Nord
Courtyard Zurich
zürich Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Zurich Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.