We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel in the heart of Zurich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Hochschulen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in the heart of Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my brief stay at this hotel. I have stayed in 15+ different hotels in Zurich over the years and the Hotel Ambassador really impressed me. The first impression is a smart, modern hotel with friendly and helpful staff. They were efficient and courteous both at reception, the porters and the staff in the restaurant. My room was on the small side but it was equipped with tea and coffee and the bathroom was perfect too. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others, looking for a place to stay in Zch. The train from the airport was the S16 to Stadelhofen (appro chf 9) and a stone's throw from there to the hotel..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear “hbrun”.

Many thanks for your comment! Great to hear that our Hotel impressed you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you were happy with the complimentary tea and coffee in your room and that you appreciated our friendly employees and our location close to the Stadelhofen train station.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    69
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
60
32
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bretagne
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is my third stay in Zurich and before staying at the Ambassador I tried two other hotels ( Eden au Lac, not impressed and Schweizerhof, good but very pricey). The Ambassador is far better: location, service, rooms, amenities are outstanding and the price is reasonable compared to its competitors. The staff is extremely attentive to details and helps with every aspect of your stay, before you even arrive. Rooms are nice, location right behind the opera means you can walk everywhere and trams are 3 minutes away, including 15 minutes direct tram to airport.
Overall : outstanding stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear “ChristineBindert”.

Wow, many thanks for this 5-star comment! We are delighted to read that you had an “outstanding stay” with us and that you were satisfied with our location, service and room. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for pointing out our attentive and helpful employees in your comment.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Location; It is right behind the Opera. Few steps to the lake. Perfect location.

Rooms; One thing l love in these old fashion hotels is the double door which blocks the noise from the aisle. Yes, it is an old building but rooms are renovated, bathroom is perfect. Toiletries are of high quality. Nespresso and tea is available in the room and free of charge. Bed and linens are very good too.

Breakfast; It is served in the hotels restaurant. So, it is a nicely decorated atmosphere and has sufficient choices including champagne and fresh selection of fruits.

There are 4 jugs of water with lemon, lime, orange and apples in the lobby at all times and always kept fresh. I found it quite nice.

Bar; Restaurant's bar is available throughout the day to serve outside sitting area as well.

This is not a very big hotel. Small lobby with few seats only. Very convenient hotel for Zurich.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear “Levent G”.

Thank you very much for your detailed comment! It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our location, the room facilities, the breakfast choice and that you appreciated the refreshing station in our Hotel lobby.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

After much research! I booked this hotel for my parents on their first trip to Zurich; fabulous. Brilliant location at Opernhaus with trams running to all our destination points and Lake Zurich on the other side of the road. Bahnoff Stadelhoffen is a five minutes walk away and is an easy commute on S16 train (16minutes) direct from Zurich airport.
Recognising my parents were in their mature years, the hotel staff welcomed them as long lost friends and provided a super room - as if it was home from home.
The front of house and restaurant staff couldn't have been more helpful. Great to deal with and accommodated plans without any hassle.
We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear “Sandra D”.

Many thanks for the 5-star score! We are delighted that your parents enjoyed their stay with us and that they appreciated our location. Moreover it was a pleasure to read that you point out our helpful and welcoming employees. We gladly will forward your compliments to them!

We are looking forward to the next visit of your parents.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The location is excellent and the service superb. However, the rooms are a bit dated and the carpets everywhere -particularly in the elevator!- have clearly seen better days.

The hospital-like bed is gimmicky and when completely horizontal not particularly comfortable.

I'd recommend it but only if you get it at the right price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear “Eric C”.

We are sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations concerning the room design. The hotel is in a beautiful turn of the century building and the room design reflects the class of a “town house”. Moreover, please note that we renovated all rooms within the last 4 years.

Concerning your comment about our electric adjustable beds: Sad, that you were not happy with our quality Treca beds. Usually our guests appreciate the electric function and call them the “best mattresses in Zurich”.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

With only a weekend in Zurich over Valentines, I wanted to make sure our visit was going to be luxurious, in a great location, quiet and most importantly value for money.
We certainly got what we paid for and more. Luxury was paramount from the moment we stepped off the tram, and walked to the hotel, it ouzzed period style, curb appeal and the charm we expected from this highly regarded boutique hotel. The location was in a quiet street, behind the Operanhaus, and next to the River Limmant. There were a few restaurants nearby, and a cafe, but the hotel restaurant is worth a try. Zurich is not cheap, but the restaurant was good value for money. We were invited to a wine tasting evening with the hotel management and staff on the Friday, which was a wonderful bonus, plenty of great wines to taste, and we met the hotel manager who managed to secure us a table in the hotel restaurant even though it was full for Valentines Day. Thank you. The rooms are well maintained, very clean and luxurious with a coffee machine, free wifi, remote controlled beds and extensive Tv Channels, not just the news !. But the front of desk staff are the hotels jewels... Each and everyone would acknowledge you as you walked in, make small talk about your day, and nothing was too much trouble, from ordering a early morning taxi, to breakfast rolls for the journey.
Getting around Zurich was very easy and convenient, be adventurious and frugal, the number 4 and 11 tram from the airport (4 chf each, (much cheaper then the 60 chf taxi ) we bought a 72 hour pass from the Tourist Information in the train station for the trams, trains, museum and galleries, also included was a cruise around the lake. This cost 37 chf each... Worth every franc !

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade in quieter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear “MRSBUDD002”.

Wow, many thanks for this lovely comment! It was great to hear that you enjoyed your Valentines weekend with us and that you appreciated the luxury throughout the Hotel, our location, our Restaurant Opera and the Manager cocktail on Friday. Moreover, we have been very delighted to read that you call our front desk employees “the hotel jewels” -with pleasure we will forward your compliments to them.

We would be pleased to welcome you soon back wit us.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have made it a habit to stay at this very fine city hotel whenever we are in Zurich. An attentive front desk group can make anything happen from your concerns within the hotel or indeed outside reservations for events and restaurants. The rooms are well maintained and clean with all the amenities you could expect from a small luxury hotel. A weekly cocktail generally on Fridays, has the general manager and key staff meeting any guest who wishes to attend. A superb restaurant that serves a broad range of tastes and can even cater to quick service for the nearny Opera performances makes this a great pied a terre in Zurich.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear “bedrich72”.

Thank you so much for this great comment. It is a great honor for us that you always stay in our Hotel Ambassador à l’Opéra whenever in Zurich.

Moreover, we are pleased to read that you appreciate our helpful employees, the weekly manager cocktail and that you recommend our gourmet Restaurant Opera to Tripadvisor users.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your private town house with an atmosphere that says: “welcome”! Directly next to the hotel is the famous Zürich Opera House. The nearby lakeside promenade is ideal for a morning jog or a leisurely stroll. Just a five-minute walk away is the glamour of the famous “Bahnhofstrasse”, the most attractive and exclusive shopping mile in Zürich. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.