We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Zurich.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Hochschulen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Zurich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location near Zurich lake, near main street - Bahnhofstrasse (great shops, cafe etc). Very nice, quite rooms (double doors provide absolute silence from neighbors). Small surprises in our room during stay (apples, chocolate) made us smile.
Value... we always want to pay less and get more. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador à l’Opéra. We are pleased that you were happy with our location next to the lake and city center and that you appreciated the small surprises in your room.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us!

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    66
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
59
32
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the true great, though small hotel that i´ve been.

Restaurant has a 2 michelan stars!! And there are many other options around, I recomend the Latino the freshest italian food in the middle of the winter anywhere. I´m talking fresh tomatoes, basil, muzarella,etc.

The staff was so nice and attentive, always smilling these people, were ready to ready help.

The room is a true 5 star, heated floor, big tub, nice shower, smooth towels, the bed is a cloud, I felt levitate. Good tv and wireless.

I love Switzerland, what can I say, every time I go there, I have tremendous fun, but sinse I only go on winters, a good hotel Is a must, for the tired feet, and legs, and this is the case here, Ambassador delivers as every hotel should, besides, excelent prices, and they call themselves a mere 3 star?!!!No way, this is a true 4 to 5 star hotel, with a history, located litle off centre it´s true, but anyone that has gone to Zurich, knows that a tram will be on the next, corner and it will take you everywere in style, afterall, when in Zurich...!!

Carlos Moggi

Room Tip: Stay in a good hotel and explore by tram (trolley) the city, Zurich has a lot to offer 4 to 5 days w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as “one of the true great, though small hotel” you have been. Furthermore, we are delighted that you appreciated our attentive employees, our Restaurant Opera and the room facilities.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon back with us.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel management seems to know (and care about) what travelers appreciate. The welcome is friendly, the room is comfortable, nicely styled and well equipped, – including an espresso machine, fast WIFI and a large selection of pillows. The bathroom is very clean, equipped with an excellent shower. If you book a room facing backside, the Ambassador is one of the few hotels in the heart of a city, where you can sleep late and hardly hear any noise and won't be disturbed from the usual annoying 'wake up call' racket of the morning's room cleaning. For me a big plus. The pricing relative to other Zurich hotels is competitive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the friendly welcome and that you appreciated our room facilities such as free Wifi and Nespresso coffee machine.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cute hotel with friendly staff, cozy, warm rooms (great bed!) and a really good restaurant downstairs - try their Crème Brulée with your complimentary glass of champagne!
Great location too, only a short walk to the old town.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly staff, the room and our Restaurant Opera.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

During my business travels, Hotel Ambassador Zurich is one the very few hotels make me feel at home. Every staff I encounter is enthusiastic and the place is welcoming. The hotel management must be very proud of their team that every staff member is posted in the hotel website.

Radhaysy is the receptionist who checked us in and more often we were assisted by Klara and Angela. Hotel staff greet us by the name and they treat every guest with equal friendliness, which is important to Asian guest like us. I guess that’s why Chinese guests left overwhelmingly positive comments in the hotel guest book.

At Friday evening cocktail reception, we met General Manager Rudolf Zehnder, Resident Manager Martin Spycher and Chef Pierre Meyer. This is what we like most about Swiss hospitality that management is never far away.

The very well-managed hotel is complemented by wonderful Opera Restaurant which makes our stay in this hotel a perfect experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for this great comment about our Hotel Ambassador Zurich, complemented with pictures of our facilities. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly employees and the cocktail reception with me and my colleagues. Furthermore we are delighted that your stay was a “perfect experience”.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Small friendly hotel, well-located close to the Stadelhofen station and the lake. Staff are very welcoming and efficient; restaurant serves excellent food and, for variety, there are a range of other eateries nearby. Very comfortable beds. All BBC / ITV channels (not just BBC World / BBC News 24) and WiFi included. Would definitely recommend The Ambassador.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you were happy with our hotel and services and that you appreciated our location and welcoming staff.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel between Christmas and the New Year.

It is very well located in central Zurich - just off one of the main squares and a few metres from the lake.

The front desk were really outstanding in their friendliness and their advice regarding the city. The rooms are well appointed and the decoration is well done. This is NOT a European city hotel where the money is invested in the lobby and the rooms are tiny. It is well balanced.

Breakfast is good - although fresh orange juice should be the norm in this level of establishment - and the service staff was very attentive.

The only hic was the variable temperature of the shower water - going hot and cold and hot again for no apparent reason.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador Zurich. It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our location in central Zurich and the friendliness of our employees. Concerning your comment about the fresh orange juice: we always would like to improve our breakfast choice and will gladly consider your feedback.
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the shower water. I just informed our technician to solve the problem.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your private town house with an atmosphere that says: “welcome”! Directly next to the hotel is the famous Zürich Opera House. The nearby lakeside promenade is ideal for a morning jog or a leisurely stroll. Just a five-minute walk away is the glamour of the famous “Bahnhofstrasse”, the most attractive and exclusive shopping mile in Zürich. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.