We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms with air matresses and remote control beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich to your Saves list
Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Seefeld)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Big rooms with air matresses and remote control beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the true great, though small hotel that i´ve been.

Restaurant has a 2 michelan stars!! And there are many other options around, I recomend the Latino the freshest italian food in the middle of the winter anywhere. I´m talking fresh tomatoes, basil, muzarella,etc.

The staff was so nice and attentive, always smilling these people, were ready to ready help.

The room is a true 5 star, heated floor, big tub, nice shower, smooth towels, the bed is a cloud, I felt levitate. Good tv and wireless.

I love Switzerland, what can I say, every time I go there, I have tremendous fun, but sinse I only go on winters, a good hotel Is a must, for the tired feet, and legs, and this is the case here, Ambassador delivers as every hotel should, besides, excelent prices, and they call themselves a mere 3 star?!!!No way, this is a true 4 to 5 star hotel, with a history, located litle off centre it´s true, but anyone that has gone to Zurich, knows that a tram will be on the next, corner and it will take you everywere in style, afterall, when in Zurich...!!

Carlos Moggi

Room Tip: Stay in a good hotel and explore by tram (trolley) the city, Zurich has a lot to offer 4 to 5 days w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as “one of the true great, though small hotel” you have been. Furthermore, we are delighted that you appreciated our attentive employees, our Restaurant Opera and the room facilities.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon back with us.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    76
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
67
35
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel management seems to know (and care about) what travelers appreciate. The welcome is friendly, the room is comfortable, nicely styled and well equipped, – including an espresso machine, fast WIFI and a large selection of pillows. The bathroom is very clean, equipped with an excellent shower. If you book a room facing backside, the Ambassador is one of the few hotels in the heart of a city, where you can sleep late and hardly hear any noise and won't be disturbed from the usual annoying 'wake up call' racket of the morning's room cleaning. For me a big plus. The pricing relative to other Zurich hotels is competitive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the friendly welcome and that you appreciated our room facilities such as free Wifi and Nespresso coffee machine.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cute hotel with friendly staff, cozy, warm rooms (great bed!) and a really good restaurant downstairs - try their Crème Brulée with your complimentary glass of champagne!
Great location too, only a short walk to the old town.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly staff, the room and our Restaurant Opera.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

During my business travels, Hotel Ambassador Zurich is one the very few hotels make me feel at home. Every staff I encounter is enthusiastic and the place is welcoming. The hotel management must be very proud of their team that every staff member is posted in the hotel website.

Radhaysy is the receptionist who checked us in and more often we were assisted by Klara and Angela. Hotel staff greet us by the name and they treat every guest with equal friendliness, which is important to Asian guest like us. I guess that’s why Chinese guests left overwhelmingly positive comments in the hotel guest book.

At Friday evening cocktail reception, we met General Manager Rudolf Zehnder, Resident Manager Martin Spycher and Chef Pierre Meyer. This is what we like most about Swiss hospitality that management is never far away.

The very well-managed hotel is complemented by wonderful Opera Restaurant which makes our stay in this hotel a perfect experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for this great comment about our Hotel Ambassador Zurich, complemented with pictures of our facilities. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly employees and the cocktail reception with me and my colleagues. Furthermore we are delighted that your stay was a “perfect experience”.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Small friendly hotel, well-located close to the Stadelhofen station and the lake. Staff are very welcoming and efficient; restaurant serves excellent food and, for variety, there are a range of other eateries nearby. Very comfortable beds. All BBC / ITV channels (not just BBC World / BBC News 24) and WiFi included. Would definitely recommend The Ambassador.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you were happy with our hotel and services and that you appreciated our location and welcoming staff.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel between Christmas and the New Year.

It is very well located in central Zurich - just off one of the main squares and a few metres from the lake.

The front desk were really outstanding in their friendliness and their advice regarding the city. The rooms are well appointed and the decoration is well done. This is NOT a European city hotel where the money is invested in the lobby and the rooms are tiny. It is well balanced.

Breakfast is good - although fresh orange juice should be the norm in this level of establishment - and the service staff was very attentive.

The only hic was the variable temperature of the shower water - going hot and cold and hot again for no apparent reason.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador Zurich. It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our location in central Zurich and the friendliness of our employees. Concerning your comment about the fresh orange juice: we always would like to improve our breakfast choice and will gladly consider your feedback.
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the shower water. I just informed our technician to solve the problem.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

No complaints. Good location. Good Service. Nice and quiet. Our room had a wonderful little patio with a great view of the opera house. We had a baby too and they had a little baby bed for us and fit great. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Many thanks for taking your time to write this comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you have no complaints and that you appreciated our location, our service and your room with view to the Opera house.
We also would like to congratulate on these two beautiful snow pictures!

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich

Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The gourmet Restaurant Opera - winner of various awards - is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.