We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of Spanish tapas but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urania Tapasbar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Urania Tapasbar & Restaurant
Uraniastrasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 210 28 08
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Forget the rush around you and dive into the joyful sides of the Mediterranean lifestyles, paired with the culinary virtuosity of the South. Our little gem is located within the heart of Zurich in a landmarked building, owned by the city itself. The tall rooms and the big window front, the chandeliers, the dark wooden furniture as much as the tastefully arranged seating options convey an unmistakable professional appreciation for our guests and our work. The members of our young and versatile cooking crew are avid adepts of Iberian and Mediterranean lifestyles and know how to spoil the palate with their seasonal creations. On warm days, our clientele often takes the seating opportunity on our big patio where our attentive service and the warm summer breeze let you dwell in the moments of the summer in the city.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great selection of Spanish tapas but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were mistakenly wandering around the shopping street for food only to find the shops closing and right at the end running perpendicular to the shopping street was Urania, brightly lit with lots of people sitting outdoors dining on the Uraniastrasse.

We had no problems getting a table for 3 outside and they sat us immediately. We were a little late though, maybe about 830? The wait staff was also patient and happy to help with recommendations. My favourite Spanish tapas - pimentos de padrons (fried green peppers with salt) and bosquerones en vinegre (fresh sardines in vinegar) were available and truly very fresh, delicious, akin to the good ones in Spain.
In fact, all the tapas we ordered were SO good, we just had tapas and didn't do the mains at all.
Besides the excellent peppers and sardines, we also had the typical favourite Gambas (prawns) in garlic and olive oil, squid in olive oil (both were fresh and very delicious!), jamon Serrano and the pretty excellent juicy and lip-smackingly good breaded lamb chops and the marinated lamb skewer. They do lamb well!
The things I felt weren't as lip-smackingly good as the rest were the meatballs and chorizo.

We also had a large rocket salad with parmesan cheese to share and that went down very well too. Because I am cold easily even in springtime, I also ordered the tasty fish soup which was not too fishy and very delicious.

Overall, it was a wonderful meal we had and I would have returned during my stay there, had I not been so busy and also I figured I should be having Swiss food in Switzerland huh ;)
It was pricey too because all our tapas and repeat orders do add up!

Lovely place, good service and the outdoor seating was great to people watch and see the sunset over Zurich old town and definitely very authentic fresh and delicious Spanish tapas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good restaurant if they would change the staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good food but very rude & unfriendly staff. Reserved table wasn´t available at time of arrival and no excuse was given.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas downtown Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went for tapas, something small to eat and not at the restaurant. Quality of the food is excellent. We ordered a selection of small dishes ( tapas) to share: octopus, squid, cheese, typical spanish omelette and ham. All have been of very good taste. Wine selection is also ok. It is slightly overpriced, but considering the location in downtown Zurich close to the Bahnhofstrasse it is in the average of the area. I recommend it in that area.
On the negative it took too long to serve us after taking the order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dont Bother: Tapas was OK. Overpriced, Average Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spend an evening here, having sat in the bar having multiple warm up glasses of the recommended wine which was probably the highlight of the evening.

Our wait for a table went from 5 minutes through to 30 minutes, people walking in after us without bookings seemed to get preferential treatment because they were spanish and/or "VIP" guests.

Nevertheless the table arrived - we ordered five tapas plates, all reasonable, but nothing amazing.

The good?
Spanish Wine.


The Bad?
- The tables are were too close together resulting in the waiter edging in to wade over the tables beside us
- The service itself had a resounding arrogance or impoliteness about it, this is further qualified through the preferential treatment of people
- The cost was excessive

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Swiss Tapas, Very good fresh fish, a bit pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was taken here by a friend, and we enjoyed a pleasant lunch, with high quality food, but as
Restaurant Urania is located directly under the Urania Observatory in Zürich, you eat there, part of what you are paying for is location. My friend ordered three tapas plates which was way too much food for one person for lunch, so as a tip, if you are going to order tapas here, don't do it alone, but as a group. She had the classic Spanish omelet, paprika potatoes, and something like a bruchetta but baked with cheese.

I ordered their lunch menu, which consisted of fried dorade, veg, and rice. I thought the fish was both fresh and cooked perfectly. The sauce was a classic cream sauce and was just fine.

The waitress was knowledgeable about the menu, as my friend and I both are picky eaters, and she knew the ingredients.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urania Tapasbar & Restaurant also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urania Tapasbar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.