We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to Zurich's Asian fayre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Kitchen

My Kitchen
Franklinstrasse 6, Zurich 8050, Switzerland (Oerlikon)
+41 43 810 06 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,375 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Sushi, Malaysian
Neighborhood: Oerlikon
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Oerlikon
Zurich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great addition to Zurich's Asian fayre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Limited menu. No alcohol on sale and they don't accept credit cards. But both are going to be on offer soon. It's a small crowded, buzzing sort of place. But there's enough space between tables to make conversation possible. Its food has to be among the best-tasting Asian food on offer in Zurich, perhaps even the best. I can't recommend their bread highly enough. And my curry's spicing was simply yummy (it delivers a welcome sharp kick and yet also provides a delicious subtlety). The prices are reasonable. The service friendly. All in all, that makes it worth the trip to get to this backstreet kitchen in a part of town we rarely visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    17
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“At Last Real Malaysian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

At last Zurich or even Switzerland has an authentic Malaysian restaurant!! Food is really good featuring Malaysian food such as Roti Canai, Mamak Mee Goreng, Nasi Lemak the works! Do call and find out the specials for the day. And the owners Leena and Sam will make you feel right at home! Great couple!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I,ve been there like 2 months ago and it is absolutely amazing. The food was really good yet its taste just like my hometown's food in Malaysia. Great job for that.
Both Leena and Sam were just outstanding. Their friendliness,generosity makes me and my family fell comfortable. Theres no need for a formal dress or what so ever to enjoy this restaurant.
Even though the restaurant was a bit small, but the atmosphere was wonderful yet it is still maintain the concept in Swiss I guest.
Definitely will come back for this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best option for Asian food in Zürich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This small restaurant is truly a hidden gem – as yet. It is located in a side street in Oerlikon, and you're quite unlikely to stumble into it by accident. From the outside, it doesn't look like much: a small dining room (space for around 20-30 guests max.), nicely but not overwhelmingly decorated. There is no menu: just a blackboard announcing the 2-3 dishes of the day.

The food, however, is excellent. Authentic Malayan and/or Southeast Asian cuisine that tastes just awesome. And at very reasonable prices (by Zürich standards). But it is the two owners, Leena and Sam, who make this place truly outstanding. As soon as you step into the restaurant, you feel welcomed, and embraced by a warm and cozy atmosphere. You are served quickly, with a little extra drink here on the side, and a bit of extra fruit there. Before you know it, you're deep in conversation about Malaysia, your own home country or the football world championship. In Zürich, you do not find anything like this anywhere else: most restaurants are really stiff and formal, even the notoriously "relaxed" and "young" ones. Apparently, it takes two people from Malaysia to show the Swiss what hospitality really is.

Three more things. Since the restaurant is really small, it is advisable to reserve when coming during peak times (e.g., Friday or Saturday evening). But even if there's no seating available, Leena & Sam offer take-away. Also, be aware that the place is closed on Sundays. Finally, they do not accept electronic payment at the moment, so be sure to bring some cash; but in worst case, there's ATMs of every major bank within 100m walking distance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent address in Oerlikon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I can not say if it is the best restaurant in Zurich, as I have naturally not visited all of them, but I can truly say it was no1 for the overall experience (food, ratio quality/price, staff, atmosphere).

The staff/owners was really friendly and helpful (took a lot of time to explained in détails the menu supported by pictures on their smartphone) and very generous too (offered a present to our 1.5 year old daughter which was so pleased with it).

The food was amazingly good yet simple. But you do not need a lot of tricks, as long as the food is tasty, generous and plentiful. We had one starter, two main courses, one dessert and 4 drinks (sirup and teas) for 75.--.

The place is small but very pleasant and the atmosphere and staff makes you feeling at home.

A great dinner, will definitely come back!

N.B. : no baby chair yet, but they might buy one soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Kitchen also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to My Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.