We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bar, lovely staff, nice localtion, and not too costly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande

Grande
Limmatquai 118, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
0041442621516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,375 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little bar, lovely staff, nice localtion, and not too costly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was only in Zurich for 3 nights and this was the chosen destination for two of them.
The location looking over the river was delightful, they had a couple of good local beers on tap, made a mean spritz and were really friendly and welcoming, recognising making a bit of a fuss of us the second time we came in.
Highly recommend it for a pre- or post- dinner drink. The outside area is lovely in the sun and the inside's pretty cosy.
A small beer was CHF5 which was on the cheaper end of the spectrum of places I saw/tried.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“steak was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife had fish which was excellent she only let me have a taster!
I am a pleb and had a rare steak with fries which was superb and the wines which i can't remember now were a shiraz equivalent and a french red. I shouldn't have had pudding (bread and butter type) it was great with the coffee but I was full. I had a brandy with the coffee.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Worst latte macchiato I had in a while :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stopped there because it was raining and ordered two latte macchiato.

The coffee was bitter and the latte was not very hot (coldish...). All this for the fantsatic price of 13.- CHF. Next time I get coffee at Mc Donalds around the corner...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
“lovely people cool style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

lovely cafe directly at the limmatquai
nice easy style and good coffee
smal but very cute
enjoy! enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“High-quality coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It is, as are many Limmatquai establishments, a place to "be seen", particularly if you fancy yourself a bit of a hipster. Be prepared for furtive looks if you're not a regular or not dressed to the standard certain clientele may expect. Still, it can be forgiven that since it has really excellent coffee and the carrot cake is very moreish. Be prepared to pay a lot but then pause and remember you're in Zurich - what else would you expect?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.