We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shamefull Cancellation Rules - Business Travellers can loose hundreds of Euros/USDs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greulich Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greulich Hotel to your Saves list
Greulich Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herman Greulich Strasse 56, Zurich CH-8004, Switzerland (Langstrasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shamefull Cancellation Rules - Business Travellers can loose hundreds of Euros/USDs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I have not stayed in the hotel yet. But for business travellers like my colleague and I with regular last minute changes in their itinerary I made a very painful 500 Euro/ 700 USd (2 rooms/ 1 night) experience - They will not reimburse a cancellation unless it has been cancelled a full 48 hours in advance.
So, if you need to be flexible like many of us and avoid arguing with your Travel Expense Department for spending 500 Euros/ 700 USD for a night that you did not spend... look for other hotel options

Tom

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
43
17
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 250 cities Reviews in 250 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

AFAIK the only hotel in Zurich with a cigar lounge. Fantastic cuisine. Very friendly service. Nice, cozy design atmosphere. Crowd is a bit undefined, mixed, rather on the young side. Zen-like birch-tree garden. Motel-like minimalist rooms. A good hotel for connoisseurs who don't want to spend the top-$ the Hyatt or Widder sometimes charge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

After the over designed, and over stuffed atmosphere of many North American hotels I found the Greulich to be a refreshing change. Yes, when I first arrived, with the usual fuzzies from jetlag, I was a unsure as to whether I liked it or not. But after a brief wander around and working out how my suite's windows opened, climate controls and shower worked I realised how intrigued and impressed by the place. Take your time to discover the Greulich, from the light filled inner courtyard area with its birch trees, singing birds and overall sense of peace and calm, to the relaxing suites and rooms with their comfortable beds and linens to the energy and atmosphere of the streetside tables of the restaurant

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Superb intimate hotel that with all the latest high tech gadgetry. Neet almost Bauhaus design and very clean. Loved the shower / bathroom layout and the anemities.

My 17 year old daughter loved it. Reminded her a bit of Hollywood W, but on a much smaller scale.

Thumbs up all the way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Great bed, good soaps and shampoos that relax and smell great, ipod connection, free broadband, ticket for public transport and/or free urban bike, great coffee and healthy breakfast with the essential choices all delivered with a smile and professionalism.

The restaurant is an additional plus for people who love great food.

The location is not super-central but works great for me. Access to nearby park (Baeckereianlage) with a nice biergarden on a nice summer evening is an additional plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I normally stay at the Park Hyatt but this time it was going to be CHF1500/nt so I tried the Greulich. Must say I loved it and will come back. I disagree with the other comments on here about it being 'cold'--the staff were as warm and friendly as one could want; I arrived after 11pm when the kitchen had closed and they still made me a sandwich and desert. The room was very comfortable, bathtub lovely, internet connection worked *perfectly* and they don't charge extra--what more could you want? I am a light sleeper and there was no noise to keep me up during the night. Breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful pointing me in the right direction for my meeting. I even liked the location; it's nice to get slightly outside of central Zurich and I was at Paradeplatz in a 5 minute tram ride from the Gruelich.

My only complaint? No separate shampoo & conditioner in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Just came home after a short stay at the Greulich. All in all, a pleasant experience and good value for money.
The hotel is not very central but a short bus ride (8-10 minutes) on bus 31 from the main station or tram ride on tramway 8 from Parade Platz. The surrounding area is rather quiet and uninteresting.
The hotel is situated only on the ground floor of the building, the rest are luxurious furnished and serviced flats for rent. It has 19 rooms and some mini suites.
The "design" concept has pluses and minuses. Can feel a little cold, certainly not cozy.
The bed is good and comfortable. The tv set is very small and only CNN in english!
The shower gets messy with water and the toilet is separated from the room by some glass panes which do not offer much privacy. Toiletries too basic.

The public spaces are very warm and inspiring, in contrast to the rooms.
Good, free hi speed wifi all over the hotel.

Breakfast is rather basic for 28 swiss francs, not much variety.

Staff very friendly and cheerful.

Might stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greulich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greulich Hotel

Address: Herman Greulich Strasse 56, Zurich CH-8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#23 Family Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
#46 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greulich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're sitting under the birch trees in our central Zurich courtyard and raising a glass to another successful day, or studying our local gallery and design shop tips in the comfort of our bar, we'll serve you the latest discoveries from our kitchen artists - creating lust for more. As a hotel guest you'll stay in uniquely designed rooms in our garden pavilion, or in the main building in rooms with generous floor plans. The Greulich: Design with soul, prime location, caring service, people with ideas. Above all, you'll feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Greulich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greulich Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greulich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.