We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel/A Little Out of the Way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greulich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Greulich Hotel to your Saves list
Greulich Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herman Greulich Strasse 56, Zurich CH-8004, Switzerland (Langstrasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel/A Little Out of the Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

They've got a good thing at the Greulich with its modern design and environmental consciousness. The concrete construction and all rooms opening in to a court yard actually remind you a little of a prison cell block, but the walk to and from the court yard is pleasant, the staff extremely helpful, the food is great - it all fits together well. We walked from the train station and it took about 25 minutes, then later used the bus to go back which took about 10 minutes. The Greulich is in a neighborhood which was nice to experience, but far from the city center and the Old Town which makes it a little inconvenient for those with only a little time who want to sight-see. Breakfast and dinner were both very good.

Room Tip: We were in a Superior Room Double, # 1. I believe all rooms were on the ground floor and opened into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina W, Leiter Front Office at Greulich Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to hear, that you discovered the whole package that we offer and that you not only enjoyed your stay in the hotel but also liked our restaurant offer.

If you will ever visit us again, we are happy to recommend our bicycles or the public transport to reach the old town in a few minutes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and remain with kindest regards,

Marina Wettstein
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
48
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I found this hotel to be relatively cheap compared to the other options in Zurich and looking at the location, decided to book it.
Quite easy to get to from the train station, just 5 stops on Bus 31 and a 5 minute walk then.
Check in was a breeze with the very pleasant lady who speaks very good english escorting me to the room as well.
The room size is big, and looks very clean and white. No air conditioning as its Switzerland but I felt I needed it in June. However, a small fan which more than serves the purpose.
The bathroom doesnt have a door, which is something I do not really like as it doesnt afford any privacy if sharing a room with someone, but I was alone so did not make me a difference. There was no cupboard, rather a curtain covering shelves in the wall that had a safe.
The radio was an awesome touch to the room and gave it the hip feel.
What I liked was that it was not like a typical hotel with floors and lots of rooms - here when you open your door you see a nice courtyard.
The turndown service was excellent as they gave a piece of chocolate as well!
At night, when I got to the room, there was a vacuum created so when I opened the door of the room, a light cover came crashing down - I immediately went to the reception and they came and saw it and said its okay no problem.
Checkout was a breeze and they stored my luggage for the day and gave me a bottle of water when I was heading out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nicely done hotel on the edge of Zurich's downtown. It has an understated laid-back design and attracts a bit of a hipper (but not young) crowed. The rooms are in a sort of bungalow style straight line, all on the ground floor. The cafe is pleasant and draws some non-guests on it's porch for a coffee/drink as well. There's even a bocci-ball court! The rooms are modern, white with nice design elements. The staff where super cool. Free internet and continental breakfast. Not sure how it is in the Winter when you have to walk out to get to the Lobby. Also, it's very near what is in Zurich considered a red-light district (very tame) but still maybe not the best option for Family travel. It's not a full-service large hotel but that's not always needed. Regardless, easy choice to stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to pick a lower number - just cause it's closer to the lobby and exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

located on the side of nightlife area Kreis 4, it is a okish clean hotel. try to avoid rooms on the street side. hotel is quite new and room furniture is modern ikea style with tendence to typical white boutique hotel style

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great hotel in a good location for going out and exploring the city. Nice relatively spacious rooms and a good restaurant. But best of all were the staff. All were very friendly, helpful and professional. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Zurich.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time at the hotel and once again we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and quiet. The modern decor is interesting with a minimalist, though comfortable, atmosphere. Our only complaints are: no air conditioning, not a problem in May, and the breakfast buffet is limited and expensive, 21€ per person for a very basic continental breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina W, Leiter Front Office at Greulich Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sir

It was our pleasure to welcome you again at hotel Greulich and we thank you for your kind feedback.

We do, indeed have no air conditioned rooms as when the hotel was built, we abdicated to the idea of air conditioning for the sake of our environment. However, we do offer fans in all rooms.

Furthermore we thank you for your input regarding our breakfast buffet available at CHF 21.00. We are already working on our breakfast offer and your comment proofs, that we are about to improve the right point.

We hope that we may satisfy all your needs at your next stay at hotel Greulich!

Best regards,

Marina Wettstein
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very nice hotel to stay in.
Modern, Clean room with all the amenities
Nice Bar and Restaurant for Breakfast. (didnt eat dinner)
Not many restaurants close by but with a 5min Bus ride you are in the main centre.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greulich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greulich Hotel

Address: Herman Greulich Strasse 56, Zurich CH-8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#15 Business Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greulich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're sitting under the birch trees in our central Zurich courtyard and raising a glass to another successful day, or studying our local gallery and design shop tips in the comfort of our bar, we'll serve you the latest discoveries from our kitchen artists - creating lust for more. As a hotel guest you'll stay in uniquely designed rooms in our garden pavilion, or in the main building in rooms with generous floor plans. The Greulich: Design with soul, prime location, caring service, people with ideas. Above all, you'll feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Greulich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greulich Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greulich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.