We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Zurich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland (Oerlikon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #20 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Can't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Clean, convenient and safe! Swissotel Oerlikon is 10 min away by train from the Hauptbahnhof or 15-20min by tram to the city center and best of all 5 min from the airport by train. There is a Migros supermarket right across the street with a restaurant so breakfast, lunch or dinner is not a problem. The room is clean and sleep quality is great. They also allow you to use the pool and spa on the 32nd floor as part of your stay. I will definitely come back here whenever I am in Zuerich! Oerlikon is a great spot to feel right in the center of life in Zurich outside the tourist-filled Altstadt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SMSJH

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that you feel comfortable with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon! Happy weekend! Carmen Kresse, Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    530
    124
    45
    11
See reviews for
194
403
104
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel has an amzing view. I and my sister stayed over on the 23rd floor, which has a very good view. We could see everything and it gets even more beautiful at night. The staff was very friendly and the entrance of the hotel is simply amazing. There is a Starbucks inside the hotel and a McDonalds right opposite the hotel with a small mall which is called Neumarkt. The McDonalds has free Wi-Fi, so I used to connect with that. The Starbucks Wi-Fi only allows you 10 free minutes. The hotel does provide Wi-Fi, but it is unfortunate not free. But if you stay in the lobby near the McDonalds you still have the signal. The train station at the hotel is called Oerlikon and is just about 5 minutes from the hotel. The hotel is actually very good, as it provides swimming, fitness and has a dashing restaurant with very friendly working people in it as well. the rooms are clean and very good. Though, there are many more things to do in Zurich/Switzerland and I have to say, this hotel is quite far away from al other activities. Furthermore, when our neighbour-roommates went to take for a bath I could hear the water flow for a hot tub. Not really pleasant when you want to sleep. The breakfast was good and waiters were friendly. But well, all hotels got their good and bad. To me this one had more good than bad. Surely to recommend this one!

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor if possible for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked Swissotel Zurich reading in most of the reviews that it was very well located. I'd like to clarify here for the sake of my fellow travellers that this lovely hotel is certainly well connected but unless you have a desire to be near the business district or the airport, it is not well located at all. The connections to the city centre are great. Train station is across the road as is the tram service that takes about 15 minutes to reach Paradeplatz.
When you book Swissotel reading reviews that say that it is well located, don't expect to walk into a lane full of restaurants, bars or places of interest in a 10 minute radius.
Otherwise, it is a nice hotel with good service (even though I needed a second reminder to guest services to send up an adapter for my chargers) and well appointed rooms.
There is Starbucks on the ground floor as well as a bar which was "buzzing' even on a Tuesday evening.
All in all a good hotel. Just not well "located"

Room Tip: Avoid at any cost the corner rooms which are very oddly shaped as well as small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel during my vacation to West Europe... I really enjoy staying there... The hotel room is comfortable.. This hotel is located just the opposite of the railway station, but no noise at all in my experience... Near the hotel, there are also some fast food restaurants, like Burger King and McDonalds .. In the lobby, there is also a Starbucks...

The breakfast is also excellent for me.. They provide a wide range of food selection, and I like the cereal most... The staff is also really friendly and helpful... I also had dinner with the local food in the hotel restaurant... The atmosphere is great.. But I don't really like the food ( maybe subjective to my food preference, since I prefer Asian food rather than western food ) ....

The hotel also has a quite small fitness centre, sauna , and swimming pool... However, it is really well maintained and i enjoyed doing exercise and swim there... And one more important thing to note, there is a relax room near the fitness centre , which has a stunning beatiful city view from there... Can see the city view from there... I really enjoy it...

Room Tip: Go exercise and do fitness in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for two nights towards the end of July over a weekend. The location is comfortable and it took us about 5 mins by train from the main Zurich station and the hotel is right across the street from the Oerlikon station. Our stay was made memorable by the team and they upgraded us to the Junior Suite on the 27th floor and made us celebrate our special occasion in style. Many thanks!! The room was fabulous and had good views of the city with a large living area and a comfortable bedroom. We were on the go throughout our short stay so couldn't dine at any of the restaurants however they have a nice bar where we grabbed a drink.

We would love to stay again here on our return and would surely recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Gautam_Anu

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your short trip to Zurich and that the room gave you enough space to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for the recommendation to your friends. Warmest regards, Carmen Kresse, Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent business hotel, where the staff offers an excellent service and makes you feel like you at at home.
The hotel is ideally located, and almost every place in Zurich can be reached in a very short time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for one night here and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We are upgraded to an executive room with nespresso machine. There is also pillow menu which is excellent! One setback is there is no complimentary wifi in the room. There are nice indoor swimming pool,jacuzzi and steam room. This hotel is in Oerlikon, one or 2 stops away from main station Zurich HB,depending on what train you board. There is a morning market behind the hotel on Saturday which is worth exploring. Coop,the supermarket and Starbucks are just next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Business Hotel in Zurich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Zurich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.