We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service more than compensates for location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Zurich to your Saves list
Swissotel Zurich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #19 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
SYD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service more than compensates for location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A wonderful place. I stay in 5 star hotels often for work and have done so for the past 10 years. This hotel and its staff are marvelous and a delight to be around. I arrived on a long flight from Sydney. There was a mix up in my stay and a room was not available due to a full house. This hotel did not give up trying to think of a solution for me. They ended up preparing one of the meeting rooms which had a private bathroom. They used a roll away bed two bottles of water a razor toothbrush and towels. What an amazing attempt I was so grateful as I was very tired and jet lagged and they understood this. Swissotel excelled. The hotel is 10 mins on the train from the city center in a quaint area called Oerlikon. There is everything you'd need in that area from restaurants and even a bit of shopping with a small mall across from the hotel. The square behind the hotel has a market on weekends with gorgeous fresh food and fruits etc. This is almost a great treat being in a typically Swiss suburb sampling how the locals live rather than tourist dominated city center hotels.

DON'T hesitate in choosing this hotel Please don't let the location deter you. Its honestly not that far coupled with a super efficient rail system. I did a day drip to Lucerne which is a stunning city. Swissotel take a bow...you deserve it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear odmea
WOW - your words made us proud! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We have to thank YOU for all your unerstanding ☺ Hope to welcome you back someday. Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    576
    135
    47
    12
See reviews for
207
436
117
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location of the hotel is very nice near mac Donald and burger king opp.train station and megroes super market .Front desk staff was very helpful but rooms were small and big disappointment was NO FREE wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ubaid_N
Thank you for your feedback - I have great news regarding the internet: As a "Swissôtel Circle" member you enjoy free WiFi worldwide. Sign up now under circle.swissotel.com.
Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We travelled with our 9 years old son and all of us got out of the stay what we have been expecting and even more. The rooms are great - and the staff is perfect! It's very very likly that we are going to stay again at the Swissotel the next time we will visit Zurich......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I plus another couple stayed twice at this hotel during a vacation in Switzerland that began and ended in Zurich. As mentioned by many others, the location is excellent. And, from what we experienced, the rooms were clean, roomy and quiet. But what amazed me about this place was the excellent service and attitude of all the personnel working at this hotel.

As it had happened at this hotel, upon arrival our room was a bit warm. It was to be expected since there had been a recent heat wave in the area. I had thought that the room would cool down after we returned from dinner but this was not the case. We would have just opened a window but being adjacent to the rail station this presented a noise problem. I contacted the front desk about the issue around 9:00pm and they immediately sent a technician to the room who inspected the ventilation system and could not find a problem. He explained that there was not an actual AC system and it just recirculated the air from the outside. I indicated that we would not be able to sleep soundly in the room due to the temperature. He said he would contact the front desk as to a resolution.
Within minutes, we received a phone call from the front desk and they recommended that we change rooms. They sent a porter to our room and the exchange was made to another room which was much more suitable. We slept very well that night.
This was just one instance where we were requesting special services from the staff and they accomplished every one of them politely, efficiently and with a smile. I know that at times it is very difficult dealing with the public and especially with tired and fussy travelers.

The staff at the Swissotel made our vacation trip that much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a window opened at night, you might request a room that does not face the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear jhk49
Reading your feedback, I realized that we made a good job ☺ This is why we all work at Swissôtel Zurich, because we want to do our utmost to make your stay memorable. THANK YOU for your kind words! Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Swissotel Zurich. The beds were very comfortable and just what we needed after 18 hours of travel. The room and bathroom were very clean too. The front desk was helpful and gave us lots of great info about getting around Zurich and to our next destination. We were up early the next day because of jet lag so decided to use the gym which, while very basic, was a nice added perk.

The location is pretty good, right outside the Oerlikon train station, which is a 5 min ride to the airport and 7 min to Old Town.

Only downsides were no wifi included and no breakfast. There is a Starbucks on the bottom floor which was convenient, as well as Nespresso machines in the room.

We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear travelfriend84
Wow - great rating, thank you! ☺ As a "Swissôtel Circle" member you enjoy free WiFi in all Swissôtels worldwide. Sign up now: circle.swissotel.com and we hope to welcome you back.
Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the Oerlikon railway station which provides regular trains to the main station so although it is not realistic to walk into the city it is easy to get there.
Reception staff were very friendly. The pool is fabulous and I enjoyed swimming looking out over the Alps. My room was really nice, very spacious and clean. I would not recommend this room for a couple though - the bathroom has a clear panel in it allowing a clear view of anyone sitting on the toilet! The attached restaurant bar was very nice with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear KH
Thank you for your feedback! We also have rooms without clear panels at the bathroom - we did not forget the couples ☺ Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a room on the 29 th floor with great views, staff were very helpful and prompt with our requests. It is easy to get to from Airport by train and 1 stop to the main station HBF and city centre. The restaurant serves great food, we had room service one.night and dined in the restaurant another night and the food and service was excellent. Don't use tram to city , the train is quicker and you get one every 5 mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Agnes L

THANK YOU for your rating & best greetings to Derby! Hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards, Carmen Kresse, Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.