We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss quality in Zürich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Zurich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland (Oerlikon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #18 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Swiss quality in Zürich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

You can easily access the hotel by train, either from the airport or from the main station, just get off at Oerlikon station and cross the street.

My standard room was clean, with recent wood furniture in a nice beige tone. It was quiet and comfortable with a safe.

On the top floor there is an infinity pool with a nice view of Zürich.

Across the street there is a mall with a Migros supermarket where you can buy all the food you need; they also have a cafeteria restaurant.

All in all, good quality for a reasonable price (around SFR 150).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
"Gruezi" Marc L ☺

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad that you and your friends had a great time at Swissôtel Zurich!

Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    507
    120
    42
    11
See reviews for
188
379
103
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Frequent business traveller, first time at the Swiss hotel in Zürich. The actual service and staff friendliness are good, very Swiss. But the hotel and the value it delivers is poor. For the significantly high price that you are paying - the rooms are quite small, the standard of finish is poor, little things like the air conditioning not working properly in the middle of winter begin to annoy you, there’s not even any complimentary water when you get in. There was even a crib in my room ? And in 10 years of frequent travel to Switzerland, I’ve never ever seen a smaller portion of French Fries accompany a Club Sandwich! The whole experience reminds me of one of those super-large airport hotels, where it’s literally like a cattle market for middle management - desperately trying to extract every dollar of profit they can from your stay. When I was checking out, the representative asked me if I’d had a pleasant stay. I politely listed the above factors as having come in the way. By way of compensation, he said he was going to remove the 5 CHF room service delivery charge from the 450 CHF total hotel bill. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Better options exist in Zurich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Middle M

Greetings from Zurich to London!
First of all I want to thank you for your highly appreciated feedback and your honest words. If you are interested, you can contact me in person under jenny.cardinaud@swissotel.com . I am sure, we can do it better!

With my best regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a excellent stay at this property. Breakfast was awesome with live station for the eggs and good variety. The hotel is also conveniently located close to the airport and about 2 train stops away from the city center. Room was well decorated and personal touches were given to the room. Compliments to the emotions manager, Jenny. She really went all out to make us feel special during our stay. It was truly a memorable night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear vfwah

WOW - thank you for your feedback! If you had a memorable night, we made a good job ☺ If there is anything I can do for you in future, just let me know, I am happy to assist you.

With my best regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in Zurich for two nights prior to returning home from skiing in Austria. The Swissotel was perfect place to stay. We loved coming back to the hotel in the afternoon and using the swimming pool while looking over the city. A huge surprise came when the concierge booked a reservation for us at Swiss Chuchi (an amazing fondue and raclette restaurant) and mentioned it was my wife’s birthday. The restaurant turned off all the lights and brought out a cake with sparklers on it, my wife was blown away and this was all made possible by the concierge at the Swissotel. The breakfast each morning was perfect with plenty of choices. We also thought the location was very convenient and did not take more than a few minutes to get to the old town on the train.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear kayakvail

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us - a really unique moment! I am happy, that our Concierge made your stay "better than expected" ☺

With my best regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend and agree that is well-located by the Oerlikon train station which is great for HB and airport connections. Only challenge is when you are coming back late at night from the city center - not convenient then. Service was excellent at the hotel. My room was smallish, but very clean and modern. Great weekend winter rates too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sanjay S

Greetings to New York! Thank you for your rating, perhaps we can welcome you back one day? ☺

Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Visited Zurich last week and stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Good hotel for a conference, as the location is just bang on. Right beside the train station, with a very efficient tram system to boot. The front of house staff.. especially (J.D) and Antonia were were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The dining area for breakfast is in fact part of the bar, and open to the public, so every morning was very busy. Our room was fine, looking on to a side street with view of McDonalds (quaint). Zurich is very expensive and I was a little disappointed with the quality of food in the restaurants. I dont think Zurich will be on my list of re-visits.. Once bitten twice shy..

Room Tip: The higher the room number the better... Rooms on opposite side to train station quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear 234liz

Sunny greetings to Dublin!
Thank you for your great feedback on our Guest Service Team member Antonia - she was very happy to hear it ☺

With my best regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in Swissotel on my visit to Zurich..The location is superb, bang opposite Oerlikon station which is just two stops from main zurich station..The front desk and staff extremely polite and ready to help you with any information.The Bar and restaurant also good and not to miss the breakfast This hotel i surrounded by very gud restaurants and shops..
If given a chance to visit zurich again would certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on Higher level say 24 level onward too gud and very very quiet and peaceful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear niks94

What a great feedback! I just forwarded it to our Front Office team and they were happy to hear it ☺ I hope, to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Zurich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.