We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PERFECT START TO OUR HONEYMOON.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Zurich to your Saves list
Swissotel Zurich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A PERFECT START TO OUR HONEYMOON.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My Wife and I were on our way to Asia for our month of honeymooning, and from Dublin, our gateway was Zurich. Swissotel is really conveniently located next to the bahnhof, which is in turn, conveniently near the airport. The magnitude of the hospitality we received was refreshing and uplifting on our first day. Without us knowing they upgraded us to a bigger suite, and were helpful in every question we had. The room had a modern swagger to its layout, and the view was pleasant. There is even a tram right outside the hotel that goes straight down to the lake zurich, and thats where were we relaxed and took in breathe-taking summer scenic lake views and the fireworks of national day. The beds are real comfortable, and they even have a pillow menu, and this was for me a great advantage to rest, because I don't sleep on long flights abroad. Morning Breakfast was what topped up our 1 day & night stay here. Fresh Swiss Milk and a buffet of everything that warms my morning spirit was being cooked and prepared, and my wife and I were recharged for our long flight to Asia.

Thank you Swissotel for the perfect starter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    640
    152
    52
    15
See reviews for
233
471
127
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After reading several reviews, we felt this was the best location for our last night in Switzerland before traveling back to the US - especially given the expensive hotel rates in Zurich. It was just steps away from the Oerlikon train station and only one stop from the airport. We were able to quickly get to the old town of Zurich within a couple of train stops.

The staff at check-in were extremely professional and our rooms were upgraded (stayed 9/14/12). The rooms were small, but very clean and had everything we needed. However, the bathroom was strange with just a glass enclosure. It was fine for us because we had separate rooms. There was a complimentary pillow menu with all sorts of wonderful pillows to request. I highly recommend it.

As much as I would love to give the hotel 5 stars, I cannot. My room was the hottest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The "air conditioning" was running, but not sure what the issue was. I called the front desk and they sent someone up with two small fans. Throughout the night, the fans churned the warm air. I was grateful to leave early the next morning. Had I stayed more than one night, I would have definitely changed rooms. My friend's room was not much cooler.

At check-out, juice and croissants were available - a very nice touch since it was so early in the morning.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If check-in sets the tone, this hotel is outstanding. I can't recall a more friendly staff.

While the hotel is 20 minutes out of downtown by the trolley and 10 minutes by train, it did not make a difference to us. Nice, clean, quiet room which is all we wanted.

The only caveat is morning rush hour in the elevator. Apparently many quests were checking out at the same time or off on a tour bus at about 8:30 am which caused a very long delay for the elevator to reach the 17th floor. One party decided to go up to go down after waiting so long.

The grocery store a block away pulls out warm croissants in the morning which the locals line up for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback.
You seemed to be satisfied with your stay and the offered amenities and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sunny greetings to Conneticut,
Torsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a good standard hotel approx 6 mins by train from the centre of Zurich. The check in was easy, the hotel staff very helpful and the rooms were good with comfortable bed, nice en-suite and mini-bar, tv, safe, coffee-maker etc. Great views from the hotel and quite easy to find. We arrived by train into Zurich central and it was easy to find the hotel by getting the train to Oerlikon with very frequent trains. The hotel is then right opposite the station. Would consider staying there again if we return to Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is really easy to reach - the Oerlikon train station is right next to it, and that is 3 minutes from the airport. The reception was great, smooth and fast. I had to swipe my room card to get the elevator to recognize that I wanted the 23rd floor, which was actually quite a nice security feature. My room was adequate, but what set it apart was the bed and pillows - quite the most comfortable I have had in a long time. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but well equipped although the shower door tended to make for an awkward entrance/exit. A minor irritation was a non-working ventilation fan, which I reported but was not fixed before I left. Breakfast was really good, with a wide range of foods to suit most tastes. Overall, I felt my stay was not the best value for money I could have found, and a real irritation was having to pay a lot for a little wifi internet - it was far cheaper to go to the nearby Starbucks and browse for free with a decent coffee than spend another cent on the hotel's offering. In this day and age, charging 10 Euros an hour for connectivity is positively anti-business-travel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

nice room, clean and well furnished. the hotel has an excellent restaurant (very good food, not that pricey for the quantity you get either- service excellent too) , and the bar is nice.

this is a business hotel but with character and panache.

the staff are very helpful

the location is 7 mins away from centre by train , that is the only drawback. the hotel is surrounded by a few bars and eateries eg starbucks etc

the indoor pool on top floor has superb panaromic views!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

After my flight was canceled with the not so wonderful Swiss Air, I was put up in this hotel along with the other 150+ passengers on my Sao Paulo flight. I was one of the last to check in, and despite the many unfriendly passengers who checked in before me, the staff was wonderful, polite and friendly.

As for the food they put on buffet for us... most of it was fried and the vegetable selection was either WAY over steamed veggies or lettuce. At midnight, I tend not to gravitate to heavy fried foods- that is the reason I did not give an excellent rating. I was unable to get the boxed breakfast, so I can't rate the boxed breakfast.

Another pain was the internet. I was never able to connect to the internet, even when I tried to pay for the service.

I wish I could have enjoyed this hotel under better circumstances- the amenities looked great- perhaps in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.