We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and overall good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorell Hotel Rutli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sorell Hotel Rutli to your Saves list
Sorell Hotel Rutli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zahringerstrasse 43, Zurich CH-8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
La Jolla, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, and overall good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Walking distance from the train station, and in the heart of the Niederhoff Strasse area, yet on a quite and clean street. So I really liked the location. All hotels in Zurich are expensive, so relatively it was not that pricey. Having internet in the room for me was a must, so it worked well. My room was nice, and modestly but comfortably furnished. The single bed was larger that the usual twin bed. The breakfast buffet that was included was pretty good.
The only minuses worth mentioning are first that the TV is only pay-TV (and pretty pricey too: 27CHF), and there no shampoo/conditioner was provided.
I'll would definitely return there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback
Just to inform you the normal TV channels are for free, only special movies you have to pay for it.
The the TV is Pay TV and normal TV in one.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    161
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
88
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of old-town. Close to many bars, clubs and train station. Everything is walking distance so dont bother buying the Zurich 3 day city pass ... kind of a waste of money in my opinion. Hotel is also on a street with some of the hottest "escorts" if that's your thing. Not sure of how affordable they are, but they're quite friendly. Neighborhood is really safe, saw many people with kids during the day, and a lot of people at night. surprisingly, the hotel is quiet, despite being surrounded by bars and restaurants. There is free internet in the lobby and a really decent breakfast in the morning. Free Nespresso coffee in each room is nice, all rooms seem really well renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator (although not that important) If travelling solo, get a bigger be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice little property located conveniently across the river from the main train station. Great dining options in close proximity and the shopping district in Bahnhofstrasse a scenic stroll away. The rooms are nicely appointed - compact and very clean - yes rooms are small, however, this is Europe (for those not accustomed to European sized rooms in 3 star properties - do not expect large accomodations). Breakfast is overseen by a friendly staff.
I would recommend this nice little property and will look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms will closely overlook the adjacent building, however, will be quite and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location is excellent, 10 mins to town centre, 2 mins to trams, 5 mins to trains- Zurich has great public transport system. Hotel staff very friendly and spoke good English. Rooms were good size, and clean, hotel was non smoking. Breakfast was good, with great coffee.

Room Tip: You will prob get single beds pushed together so just ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on two occasions in October/November 2012. The location near the Hbf is very convenient and is within easy walking distance of the main sights. On our first stay we arrived at 09:30 after our long international flight and were very grateful to be able to check in straight away. We stayed in Room 301 which is a large, modern room with lounge area. The only downside was the noise from the local bars, although with the windows closed the noise was effectively blocked out. On our return visit we stayed in a standard room (314) which was called a "City Room". Very different to our first room being much smaller and less modern. Our bed was not made daily although the room was serviced. Breakfast was a more than adequate continental breakfast, the service friendly and helpful, and free wifi was available in the lobby. Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guests

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I paid 275 chf for 3night for single room. Because of the bad smell,i had to change my room.my second room was on the top floor and it had a small windows and view.i generally stayed single rooms and according to other city hotels this hotels' single room were so small.when i stayed room i feel to stay in a prison. The value of Breakfast as a 3 star hotel.there is a big wifi problem!!there is no wifi connection in the rooms.if you connect to internet you should sit a sofa which is near to the reception. It was ridicilous!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
Since Febuary we have free wi fi in the hotel lobby and in the rooms.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Actually stayed here December 2011 with husband and 11 year old daughter ( I’ve taken a while to review ....oopsy).
We had a triple room which was very spacious with large TV and good sized ensuite.
Front reception staff were very stand-offish and didn't really go out of their way to help.
Breakfast was a nice selection of food but waitress was very hard to grab to get a coffee and when you did she seemed a little annoyed that she had to do her job.... but I must say the coffee was fabulous !
Good walking distance to main attractions and to ferries around the lake.
Would I stay here again...probably !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorell Hotel Rutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rutli

Address: Zahringerstrasse 43, Zurich CH-8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rutli 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rutli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorell Hotel Rutli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.