We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic design hotel with spacious rooms, very well located.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorell Hotel Seefeld

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sorell Hotel Seefeld to your Saves list
Sorell Hotel Seefeld
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seefeldstrasse 63, Zurich CH-8008 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Palma de Mallorca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic design hotel with spacious rooms, very well located.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I had a very nice stay in this hotel. It is a 3 Sup' stars category but much nicer than many 4* Zurich hotels. Ideal for business stay, but also very convenient for week-end stays due to its location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    69
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
28
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel is WAY too expensive for what we received. The first problem, and the one that affected us the most is the hotel has no air-conditioning. It needs it! Especially in the summer. We do understand that air-conditioning is rare is Zurich, but this hotel, especially with a 3 star rating, needs to plan for an upgrade. The rooms were hot and airless - no way to get air circulating, even with the window open. We did not sleep well because of this. We also had to pay for wireless, which we felt was odd, again because the price of the room was so high. And our maid service was spotty. We actually had to request new towels and soap one evening.
The good aspects of this hotel are first, the location is great! Very close to the lake and shopping, the bus stations, restaurants. Very nice. The inside of the hotel is modern and good-looking. The staff were efficient and polite. The breakfast is good, with more variety in a cold breakfast than we were anticipating. All in all, a good place to stay, but NOT in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed to this hotel for three nights with my husband and my one year old son, and had a great time. The room was quite big, very clean and we liked very much the bathroom.The decoretion was modern - minimal. I also liked that they had facilities for making tea-coffee. The breakfast was very good and the service excellent.We didnt have any problems with the kid as the hotel was very quiet, the temperature in the room perfect and everything was clean. The location was also great, near to the center and to a lot of restaurants.The price was a bit high but everything in Zurich is expensive, so comparing to other hotel prices I found that was a very good choise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed here while passing through Zurich on business. The room was very comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was very nice as well. The hallways seemed to have begun to look a bit old. The stay was wonderful-the staff was fine-not out of this world. The hotel website made the bar scene look better than it was and the rooms as well. That said we had a very nice stay and would stay again if in Zurich.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

As someone else already pointed out, the hotel is modern and tastefully decorated and therefore a departure from your typical (old style) swiss hotel.
My husband and I stayed overnight since we wanted to enjoy ourselves (theater, dinner & disco) and didn't want to drive back to Berne being tired.
First, it's located outside the town, so its' pretty quiet even though it is on a main street and our room faced said street.
The decor was really good, quality and taste went into it and also practicallity. The bathroom was all white and spotless, flat screen TV, really confortable bed (I usually can't sleep well in hotels), and especially important, since this seems to be a pattern in most swiss hotels, it was not suffocatingly hot. Our room came with a small balcony, too, which says a lot. If you've stayed in a few hotels in Switzerland, you'll know this is a rarity.
Breakfast was good, until 13.00 hs (in many other hotels it's until 10/10.30 hs).
The bar was also nice and had a nice vibe on the Friday evening we were there.
All in all, I'd highly recommend this place if you are looking for an affordable place but you favor modern and minimalistic instead of heavy curtains and drapery.
Oh, and it's located a short walk from Zurich lake.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

This is a clean boutique-style hotel in a really nice area of Zurich, just a few minutes walk from the lake. The area is full of life, with restaurants and shops, but also quiet. The rooms are clean and well finished. My only complaint--and a big one--is that the dense cigarette smoke from the bar/restaurant drifts up the stairway and permeates the halls on all floors--even the fitness center on the top floor, which sort of defeats the purpose of working out... I travel a lot, and this is something I rarely experience any more in most hotels.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Zurich is a beautiful city with breathtaking architecture in every corner, lovely people and a clean lake you can swim in alongside swans and ducks. Sorell Hotel Seefeld is a five minute walk from the lake and the promenade that is million times better than the Southbank. You can go for a run alongside the lake and once you're done, you can just jump into the lake. The hotel has its own gym on the top floor, which although basic, has a treadmill, a rowing machine, swiss balls and weights. It's perfect. Dont forget to ask reception for the strap that makes the treadmill work.
The staff are all very friendly, especially Saskia, Daniella and Susanne. In fact all reception staff are very helpful. We booked directly through the hotel and although their rates are not the cheapest, i would probably stay at the same hotel again.
The breakfast is good, albeit slightly basic, but there's enough there to fill you up for a few hours.
Surprisingly, smoking is still legal indoors in zurich, but reception told us the ban is coming in in sept/oct 2009, which is great.
The hotel is easily accesible from the airport. The train to the centre of the city takes 20 mins and then it's either a 5 minute tram ride away or a 10 minute walk.
All in all, it was a great hotel in a perfect location to explore Zurich and its attractions, including the zoo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorell Hotel Seefeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Seefeld

Address: Seefeldstrasse 63, Zurich CH-8008 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorell Hotel Seefeld 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sorell Hotel Seefeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorell Hotel Seefeld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.