We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Hotel Adler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice Hotel with a good location. But sometimes you could here highheels above and next door. And when the Xmas market opened there Was a quartet singing which could be heard easily into the room.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
52
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very comfortable hotel in the old part of the city. This hotel also has a great restaurant, the Swiss Chuchi restaurant, but booking is a must. If you enjoy cooking on a raclette or a fondue then you will definitely enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The small room was tidy and charming at first, but sleep was difficult. The bed had only a heavy down comforter. No top sheet. When I opened the window for cool air, there was constant noise from the activity of old town outside. All night long there were noises: people, carts, vehicles, the church bell nearby. If I kept the window closed, the room became too warm. This is especially challenging if you're struggling with some jet lag. I gave up trying to sleep and walked to the train station at 4 AM searching for the only cup of coffee at that out. The night clerk kindly offered to make me coffee, but I wanted to get some fresh air. I regret not requesting a few sheets upon check in. Heavy comforters are a common problem, and they are especially unworkable when you can't open windows. The Adler's restaurant is expensive, loud and the food simply wasn't that great.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We come here now for over 4 years whenever we are visiting Zurich. The Ladies at the Restaurant ( the blonde one of our last time especially) are usually very friendly and give me personally a cheerful start for the day ..

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly / helpful staff and close to train station, as well as, restaurants and shopping. Hotel has free wi-fi. It is on main street which can be noisy but the rooms when the windows are closed seems very tranquil.[Room 402]. There were chocolates at the pillows, AC, fridge with free water , coke.Breakfast is typically good. My opinion is that beds are very soft. I would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: choose top roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel Adler for two nights in October on our first visit to Zurich, which we found to be a pleasant city. Niederdorfstrasse is the main street in the ‘Old Town’ area and has been pedestrianised. The Adler is on a corner of it, overlooking a nice little square which marks the end of the part of the street (the northern end) which has become a little tacky and contains lots of cheap restaurants and souvenir shops. The Adler is a smart and comfortable hotel, well positioned in central Zurich, a few minutes’ walk from the Grossmünster. It contains a very popular public restaurant, the ‘Swiss Chuchi’, which specialises in fondues and raclettes, and is therefore never free from the odour of melted cheese! Our room was spacious and elegant and the en-suite, also spacious, had an excellent shower. The breakfast buffet provided a good selection.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The good: the rooms are very clean and attractively decorated, the bathrooms are modern, breakfast is fine, and the location in a trendy Old Town neighborhood is a good one. You can get to the lake, Banhofstrasse or Grossmunster in a few minutes. The not so good: the rooms are absolutely tiny. The bad: on the low floors you smell the raclette and fondue cooking in the restaurant below (which apparently has been a Swiss restaurant since the eighteenth century -- I don't care, I didn't want to smell it all night), and it's on a noisy square that didn't quiet down until after one. The windows had to be opened to cool the room down on an October evening, and that meant putting up with the din. The breakfast staff were great, and the folks at the hotel desk were helpful enough. I understand that Switzerland is expensive, but usually the high prices are justified by high quality. Hotel Adler suffers in important respects, but in truth, I am not sure that you'd find a better deal in Central Zurich. Would I stay there again? Yes, but I'd bring ear plugs and demand a higher floor. It's not a bad hotel at all, in some ways it's a nice one, but . . .

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing Rosengasse are probably quieter than the rooms on the square. High floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.