We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good value for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So, it's difficult to find a good hotel in Switzerland when you have a teenager. Depending on age, the teen could be considered a child or an adult and in all cases they insist on an extra bed (usually with a charge). I found that sending e-mails rather than using the internet sites worked better.

We had trouble finding a place in Zurich that would work (reasonable review, good location, and price). We were given a room on the top floor that was like an attic room -- it was large, had a sloping roof and a desk. The bathroom was modern and small. You can just see the river if you lean out of the window. The bedding was comfortable and there was a refrigerator with water and coke that was complimentary.) Breakfast is served downstairs in the Swiss Chuchi. (It's a little chaotic on the weekend but otherwise good.) The room we had was on a courtyard with restaurants all around and so it was loud on the weekend but not incredibly unreasonable.

The location is very central to everything - it's within walking distance and there's a little boat that you can take from the hotel side out to the lake. Note that the hotel is in a walking only area but you can drive in to drop off your luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with A/C. We also asked for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
33
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely overnight stop over - very welcoming staff and well maintained, clean and spotless. Superb restaurant and nice 'Swiss' style everywhere. I have stayed here before on business and I liked it so much that this time we came on a personal stop over on the way to Lake Como. In my opinion it's much nicer experience than a plastic corporate business hotel offers and personally I'd recommend it for both business and pleasure trips.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice rooms, but they are directly over an ally with all night party goers. We had to keep ear plugs in and the fan on high to get any sleep. They part ALL night. Every other aspect of the property is very nice, location is very good if you follow above caveat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in 4 hotels in 3 countries on this summer family Eur-rail vacation, and Hotel Adler was right up there in terms of making our travels easy. The hotel is very well situated (very lively and beautiful area in the evening - never a problem to find something to eat or have a drink by the river, and the traditional Swiss restaurant connected with the hotel was great. The room was clean, comfortable (great A/C - a plus in late July). There was even a mini-fridge stocked with free water...great not to have to search for a grocery store for this during a short (3 day) stay! We had a family room on the top floor and four of us (daughters ages 12 and 15) were very comfortable. Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful with advice, getting around, etc.

Room Tip: Quad room on the top floor is great for families. Plenty of room for our luggage, etc. & we slep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

good place for a night, decent size rooms though price is as per location. They are located in the heart of zurich. I liked the accessibility of hotel from all areas- bahnof, eating joints, zentrum.
overall a good place

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An easy 10 minute walk from the train station with your baggage.

In the center of the old town and yet all the sights,shopping and the lake are an easy 10 minute walk.

The room was very comfortable with the only negative being that there is no air conditioning. Anyway was there last week and with the fan this was not an issue.

Breakfast was complete including boiled eggs. Other eggs could be ordered at an extra cost.

The staff were courteous given that this can be an issue in any major city of the world.

Room price was competitive and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for three days during our European trip. Fantastic location, easy walking distance to everything downtown, including restaurants listed in our Zurich reviews. Hotel staff very helpful, elevator for easy access, room was very clean and comfortable, room was cleaned every day, mini fridge to keep drinks cold, decent sized shower, laundry service ( send out ). I would be careful about getting a room on the courtyard/patio side as it can get noisy at night. WIFI was hit and miss. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room away from the foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.