We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location, and then some” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Location location location, and then some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for three days during our European trip. Fantastic location, easy walking distance to everything downtown, including restaurants listed in our Zurich reviews. Hotel staff very helpful, elevator for easy access, room was very clean and comfortable, room was cleaned every day, mini fridge to keep drinks cold, decent sized shower, laundry service ( send out ). I would be careful about getting a room on the courtyard/patio side as it can get noisy at night. WIFI was hit and miss. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room away from the foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
28
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It is really good to find such well priced gems while you are traveling in Switzerland. But this is one of them. In the heart of old town, you are going to be in this charming, small but super clean place.

Parking is going to be a problem so be careful if you have a lot of luggage. Since the hotel is in the heart of old town really not accessible by car.

Good news once you are in the hotel at least for one night you do not need to leave since the restaurant was really delicious and served the best swiss food that we had.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really liked this first hotel on our Switzerland trip. Easy to walk from the train station (with our luggage). Great location in charming old town, easy walking to historic areas as well as main shopping street. Stayed only one night, but wish we had more. Room was upgraded to jr. suite, not ready for our mid-morning arrival, but reception cheerfully held our luggage until room was ready. Room was roomy, bathroom more than adequate, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Even though we were on a top floor, there was some noise from the busy area around hotel (not cars, just people having a good time). It was warm so we had windows open. The noise was not excessive and didn't bother us. Had a really great intro to traditional Swiss food at hotel restaurant - Chuchi. Very good - don't miss it! Best sweets & hot chocolate EVER at Condotori Schober in old town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed 3 times at the Adler and have had a consistently positive experience each visit. The hotel is located on the corner of one of the squares in the old town - scenic and close to everything. Because of all the outdoor restaurants and bars, sometimes people will be out and about in the square well into the evening but the hotel windows are thick and I was able to sleep just fine.

The beds are comfortable and everything is spotless in the room. The hotel is geared towards both vacation and business travelers, with a decent sized desk even in my small single room. It's an easy walk or tram ride from the train station and the breakfast offered a good variety of options. I've enjoyed both fondue and Raclette at the Chuchi restaurant downstairs on different visits - both were excellent. As I was on a business trip most recently, I was a solo diner but I was seated in a nice location (as opposed to some places who locate single diners in the corner)and the service was friendIy and efficient. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly as well.

I recommend the Adler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms here are fine- not budget not luxury. Room rates are tyical Zurich- quite high for what you get, but this property was the best of the worst (rate that is!). Located in a boisterous part of town, a couple of metro stops from train station. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Adler is a great value for Zurich. Located close enough to the main train station that it was an easy walk, and right in the heart of Zurich's Old Town, yet a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the Bahnhofstrasse for incredible shopping. Although the rooms are quite small, they are beautifully decorated, as is the whole hotel, with all the necessary amenities you need, plus a full size shower and tremendously comfortable bed. We stayed during a very warm spell in early July and although there is no air conditioning, we had a beautiful window which opened into in interior courtyard and a small fan in the room provided additional air movement. We will definitely stay again next time we are in Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was really nothing wrong with the Adler before its recent refurbishment but now it is even better. As usual, we only stayed the one night so did not spend much time in the hotel but can truthfully say that it was an enjoyable experience. The room was well-furnished, the bathroom immaculate, and the free mini-bar a nice touch - although it only contained mineral water and Coke this was, nevertheless, very welcome. The buffet breakfast was very generous with everything we could possibly want, the only downside being that we had eaten so well the night before in the Chuchi restaurant that we had little need of a large breakfast! The waiters were unfailingly helpful, efficient, and cheerful. The Reception staff were also very competent and had good English. Their willingness to take care of our luggage for a few hours, even though the amazing left-luggage "drawer" was full, was much appreciated. I am sure we will be returning when next we pass through Zurich as this hotel provides great value for money in a handy location.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms we have had over the years has proved to be noisy until late evening when the near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We will forward your warm words to our staff - what a superb encouragement for them! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Rosengasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#34 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.