We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business travelers hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Zurich Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Zurich Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Zurich Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thurgauerstrasse 101, Zurich 8152, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A business travelers hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 11 yo daughter the evening before we returned to the states.
The beds are comfortae and the bathroom is clean. Thd rooms are spacious and quiet and the AC works well.

electric tain number 10 will take you straight to the train station to hitch a ride in to the city center.


My husband chose this hotel because it was near the airport and we had a semi early flight to catch.
If you are looking for a hotel to stay in while sight seeing in Zurich, I would say this is not your hotel. If you are in Zurich for business and its convenient for you then, yes, stay here.
The staff is very nice and helpful. We had trouble with cabs taking credit cards so we were worried we couldnt get a ride out in the morning. The staff called a cab conpany for us and ensured that they would accept credit cards.

Thumbs up to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing the Renaissance Hotel for your stay and for your kind comment.

I am glad you had an enjoyable experience and I am happy to forward your superb feedback to my team.

I and my team are hoping to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    187
    82
    27
    8
See reviews for
73
110
37
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

In 2013, almost everyone needs access to internet when you are travelling. Wifi in hotel is no more than a commodity. But this hotel is charging you more for 24 hours than a good dinner. Similarly, breakfast is awfully expensive. Of course you can have breakfast elsewhere and you can use wifi for free in the lobby and that's my point. This kind of commercial policy is more making you upset than really useful.

The staff was great though, the lobby is really nice, the restaurant was OK but not fantastic. Public transport is close, so is the airport. But the close neighborhood is not exactly pleasant - the hotel is very close to the train line and to a car re seller.

The room was very standard for this price (not cheap), which means it was clean, functional, and the bed was great. They told me I was upgraded to a junior suite as it was my first visit. Nice but quite useless for me, I would prefer from far no upgrade but not being (over)charged for Wifi. I could hear the train from my room too.

So as a conclusion, an hotel close to the airport, but not with defaults not acceptable for this kind of somewhat expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid being too close from the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay and your valuable feedback.

I am glad our Ambassadors delighted your stay with us and I am happy to forward your compliments to them.

The prices for the High Speed Internet and the Full American Breakfast are reflecting the level of the local area. Of course we offer alternatives with free WiFi in the Lobby and several Breakfast options with different prices.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comment, which is important for me and my team.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. My only complaint is the airport shuttle. Marriott's web site says airport shuttle. In the U.S. this almost always means free shuttle. Not here. They charged me 21 Swiss Francs for a 5 minute ride. The hotel does not own the shuttle. It is a service. For two or more a taxi is cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your valuable feedback.

I am concerned about the misunderstanding regarding the Shuttle Service and our Sales and Marketing will check on it.

Beside the shuttle there is as well the option to go to the airport very convenient by public transportation. The tram stop is directly in front of the hotel and will bring you in 9 minutes directly to the Airport’s main entrance. I do understand, that it is not very convenient, if you have a lot of luggage to carry. In this case the Shuttle is an alternative as well as the taxi. The taxi to the airport costs about 30.00 CHF.

I hope I and my team can welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are nicely updated with comfy beds. The staff is very friendly and speak English which is helpful. They do go out of their way to be of service. The restaurants and bars offer great food and drink at a reasonable price. Be kind to the bar staff here, the work really hard to please and are great people. I really enjoyed my stay here and I will be back.

Room Tip: There is no pool on the premises but a very nice public pool is located very close by. Just a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to take this opportunity ro thank you for choosing the Renaissance Zurich Hotel for your stay.

I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us and I am happy to forward your superb feedback to my team, especially to the Next2Bar.

I hope we can can welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My job requires that I spend around 200 nights in hotels a year, and I have learnt that you cannot expect anything for granted from a 5 star hotel to a bed and breakfast.

Over the course of the last 3 years I have stayed here about 100 nights, and thought it was time to ‘put something back’ on Trip Advisor, instead of always taking advice.

Quite simply this hotel never fails to impress me from check-in to check-out. The staff at any hotel are the forward facing point of contact, and at this hotel make it stand out from the rest – they are the best in the world! I stay in everything from JW’s through to Holiday Inns. Nothing is ever too much hassle for The Renaissance Zurich staff and they always make you feel at home (perhaps this sounds bizarre, but when you are spending so much time away, it makes all the difference when someone knows your face and actually makes you feel welcome). Sure the rooms are a little dated, but everything works, they are super clean and the beds always give a perfect night’s sleep.

The location is perfect for both the airport and the town. I see that some of the reviews on here criticise this, but a little fact finding and you can easily be in town in 30 minutes by the tram right outside the hotel, or quicker by taxi, and the airport in 10 minutes – it couldn’t really be better located for business.

The restaurants have great choice, the bar is superb, the club lounge perfect, there is nothing to fault. There are many restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, if the choice internally is not for you, and the staff are always more than happy to direct you.

Highly recommended for business or pleasure – no hesitation, no faults, perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing loyalty and your fantastic feedback.

I am very glad you always enjoy your time with us and I am more than happy to forward your fabulous comment to my teams.

Once again I would like to thank you and I and my team are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

a little bit pricey, but you know it is in Zurich... it's expensive everywhere...Room is okay and restaurants are good as well. Location is acceptable, about 30 minutes to downtown by tram. As a chain hotel, you always know what you can expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay and for your kind comment.

The location of the hotel is perfect if you want a short way to the Airport, but still the possibility to the discover the city. You need 9 minutes by public transportation to the Airport and 25 minutes to reach the city center.

Once again thank you very much for your valuable feedback and I and my team are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel after a long trek across Europe. We stayed here awaiting a flight home the next day. The staff was great and very helpful. We stayed on the business class floor which was wonderful. There were drinks, snacks, computer, and a conference room at our disposal. The room was spacious and modern. Breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was fabulous! The location, albeit close to the airport (only a couple stops away on the train and dropped you right at the front doors of the airport), was not great for sightseeing. It was pretty far outside the city. The train stop was right across the street and easy to figure out the route system, but you could not walk to anything except a couple meager restaurants. The restaurant inside the hotel seemed rather pricey but everything in Switzerland tends to run on the expensive side! This hotel worked great for us since we were staying the night then leaving for the airport in the morning. The hotel was very much like hotels in the USA so we felt it to be a nice transition to head back to the states (they had many American television stations available on the satellite service that they used).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Ulmer, General Manager at Renaissance Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment and your stay at the Renaissance Zurich Hotel.

The hotel counts to the Airport hotels, because with public transportation it is only 9 minutes away. Fortunately we are really good connected with several tram lines. This gives our guest the opportunity to reach the downtown area easily within 23 minutes.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and I am glad to share it with my team.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Roland Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Zurich Hotel

Address: Thurgauerstrasse 101, Zurich 8152, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#37 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Zurich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Glattbrugg
Renaissance zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Zurich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.