We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Zurich.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Theatre to your Saves list
Hotel du Theatre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location in Zurich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location, good room, friendly staff. Just one problem - there is no air-conditioning. You can open the window, which is good except the traffic noise will keep you awake. Or you can keep it closed and lie awake because the room is too warm and stuffy. But the location makes up for this because it's just a short walk to just about everywhere you might want to go - from the old town, Bahnhofstrasse and Lake Zurich to the central railway station, the Kunsthaus and the national museum.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are glad to hear you have had a reasonable stay with us and that you had everything you were looking for nearby.

We know that the street noise due to our central location might be an issue therefore all our windows are equipped with triple glass and we put also in all our rooms ear plugs. Furthermore we can provide fans in order to keep the air fresher.

Nevertheless we can tell that you had a good overall experience and hope therefore to welcome you back at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    166
    58
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
110
40
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed just the one night, en route by train from UK to Venice. Arriving late afternoon we walked out of the station, over the river, crossed two streets… and there it was – a warm welcome only about 5 minutes away.

The desk staff gave us our free wi-fi details and we were shown up to our compact (but not tiny) room. Had we not already booked dinner in a nearby restaurant in advance, I’m sure we would have taken advantage of a discounted meal in the hotel’s highly regarded restaurant. Next time, perhaps!

Returning to the hotel later my wife and I enjoyed coffee and conversation with a bright and friendly waitress before turning in. All I can say about the room is that there was ample wardrobe storage, décor was modern and stylish with a hint of ‘cinema’, the bathroom was immaculate, and we slept like logs.

Our hotel highlight was undoubtedly breakfast, at an invitingly sunny window table with an amazing view over the busy streets below.

The ‘amazing’ part came when I suddenly spotted a little red tram shooting out of an office building to our left, then along a narrow bridge across the street directly in front of us at eye level (we were 2 or 3 storeys up). Was I hallucinating? Had my delicious boiled egg been ‘spiked’?

I was quite relieved to find that my wife had seen the little train too. Then discovered from another guest that it was a 100+ year-old tram service ferrying engineering students up the steep hill to the university. We spent the next 40 minutes over delicious coffee trying to catch it on camera, as nobody in Zurich could have asked for a better vantage point!

Breakfast, incidentally, was excellent and varied: meat, fruit, cereals, coffee, teas, juices, croissants, toast and boiled eggs.

In a nutshell, this little hotel was perfect for our brief overnight stay. In fact we would definitely return here were we to spend longer in Zurich in future. Brilliant, thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Be sure to grab a window table at breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we want to thank you for your detailed, witty and uplifting feedback. You can probably imagine how happy we all were to read your kind words, it sincerely made our day!

Since you loved the “Polybahn” so much we want to share some facts with you. The Polybahn was built 1889 back then it was water-driven and in 1897 it was converted to electric drive. Nowadays it transports every year approximately 2 million passenger, mostly students. It takes only 90 minutes to drive to the top but once you get there you are rewarded by a great view over the town and if the weather is good you can even see the Alps.

As you can see you have to come back for a longer stay and take a ride on this funicular. We are already looking forward to welcome you and your wife back to our hotel.

In meantime we wish you all the best!

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for one night before my flight back to SIngapore in December of 2009. Though the room I got is quite small (the size is similar to common japanese hotel room) but it is well kept. They also help arrange shuttle service to Zurich Airport. There is a small grocery shop nearby in case you want to buy food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to rate us. We take it as a very good sign that you remember us vividly after almost 4 years.

We hope you will get the chance to come back one day to Zurich, our doors are open for you at any time.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

hotel staff is very nice and helpful. our room is close to the street and the hotel has provided ear plug but we did not use it as there was no issue with the street noise. room is small but enough space for 2 of us and 2 big luggage. Room is very clean and comfortable and the hotel looks quite new.free wifi with good signal. location is good - 2 mins away from the tram station and within walk distance to the main train station and old town. We enjoyed the stay and will recommend to friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your personal impressions. As you can imagine we are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you are recommending us.

Last but not least we want to thank you for your feedback on our staff; it is always uplifting to get a feedback like yours and we will happily share it with them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at the occasion of your next trip to Zürich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel, our room was on the top floor and we didn't have any issues with street noise or temperature in the room. Room was a dormer room but no problem with headroom, bed was comfortable, wifi was free and the signal strength was good. The hotel location was great, front desk staff very helpful, even bought our tram ticket from them for our trip to the airport. Would have no problem picking this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we hope you had a comfortable flight and got home safely. We also want to thank you for having taken the time to rate us on Tripadvisor and are overly happy that you had a good stay at our hotel.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, our doors are open!


Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed two nights there in mid-August during a business trip to Zurich, in a room on Level 2.

Good:
- Proximity to Zurich Main Station, Bahnhofstrasse shopping street and restaurants in the Niederdorf district
- Clean room

Bad:
- The noise coming from the street at night !!!

As mentioned by previous reviewers, there is no air-conditioning in most parts of the hotel (the lobby was very stuffy when I checked in on a warm Sunday afternoon). Although it would not have been a problem to sleep with the windows open as the nights were comfortably cool, throughout the nights, I could hear noises from people talking on the street below, car horns and emergency vehicle sirens (!!!). Normally I could still sleep well through minor disturbances, but I did wake up several times each night. I wonder how guests would cope during the winter months when it would be too cold to keep the windows open but stuffy with them closed (there were no air vents in my room - I checked).

Hence, if you're a light sleeper, I'd strongly suggest not to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is vitally important to us, to receive honest feedbacks like yours.

Furthermore, we think it is very helpful for future guests to choose a hotel in the center of Zurich. It is true that due to the very central location we cannot offer quietness.

Moreover we are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms since this a point where we can actually take control over.

We hope you will get us a second chance during the cooler month and wish you in meantime all the best

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Well situated hotel, close to the transportation links, tourist attractions and old town nightlife. Newly refurbished it was clean and comfortable and the wifi was free in the room.
The trams do start trundling past early in the morning and if you are a light sleeper as I am you will be roused early, even with the windows closed.

There is a restaurant, but when we asked to see a menu we were handed an A5 sheet showing a single choice for each course. I asked if they had another, larger menu. The receptionist smiled and said "Of course", looked in her desk draw and handed me an A4 sheet with exactly the same information on it.

We ate out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your honest assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear that you found everything you needed nearby.
In order to keep the noise out we highly recommend you to close the electronic shutters and to use our free ear plugs.

It is true that our restaurant has a small but very exciting menu; our cook is changing the 6 course menu every 3 weeks and we hope you give him next time a chance to let you surprise.

We hope that you will be returning one day to Switzerland and to our hotel!

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#59 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.