We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Theatre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Perfect location - close to train station, Bahnhof strasse and Alt stadt. Some of the single rooms are however VERY small with VERY small bathrooms. But nice modern hotel. Can be a bit noisy over weekends with the bars & nightclubs in the street below.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We are thankful that you have taken the time to share your personal impressions on Tripadvisor.

Reading your comment you are most likely a regular guest therefore we would like to take the chance and thank you for your loyalty!

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel du Théâtre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    152
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
91
39
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very close to Central, Polybahn, Main train station and the river. A lot of restaurants are just nearby within walk distance. Price is acceptable as it is in Zurich. However, the room is very small and there is no air conditioning. When I was there, it was 34C and I couldn't get in sleep very well. Breakfast costs CHF 20.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TA, it is true that most of our rooms do not provide AC. We simply have an air cooling system which allows us to cool the temperatures down compared to the outside temperature furthermore we provide fans on request.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back at your next trip to Zurich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in May. Location is very central and you can walk to the hotel from the railway station easily.

Downsides:
The room was small, hot and the bathroom was tiny. The bed did not have a duvet. Phoning for a wake up call, got crossed lines.

Upsides:
The room was very clean and the bathroom whilst tiny, was functional. The bed mattress was comfortable. Location is very central and if you have a car there is a parking garage opposite - inside some sort of old shelter or storage facility - huge doors! Staff were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a bit further from the street - both sides have noise, I was 4 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback.

You mentioned that you missed a duvet on the bed which is really surprising for us to hear since we prepare our beds with duvets, if this happens again please feel free to contact the Front Office 24/7 they will gladly organize you one.

Last but not least we are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of our rooms!

We hope to be able to welcome you back at the occasion of your next trip to Zürich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was in Zurich for a business visit and this hotel was booked by my principal's. Although i found this a bit too expensive as price was CHF 200 + per night but then the attitude of the staff particularly Larissa, Stephanie, Sandra, front desk gentleman made up for everything.

At the breakast room, Sandra and Miss Turkey were very helpful and very courteous.

They offerred free internet so i could look into my business, talk to my family. Stephanie also bent backwards to help for phone recharge etc - honestly I did not expect this.

Location is also great. It was in the centre of the best restaurants, lake, shopping (Coop), Railway Station. If i have to stay in Zurich I would come here again.

Room Tip: I found all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback and that you took the time to share it on Tripadvisor.

We are overly happy to read that you were satisfied by the effort of all our staff members – I can assure you it is a big boost of motivation for all of us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon in Zurich at your home away from home.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hotel du Theatre has a good location. It is close to the train station and to the river walks which are a good way to get a sense of the city if you don't have too much time. We also found the front desk staff to be very helpful.

It is expensive--and breakfast is not included--but Zurich is the priciest place we visited on our recent trip. It is clean and up-to-date, and the rooms are quiet, even those fronting on a busy thoroughfare. On the other hand, the rooms are very small--our's had only a double bed and it was still a tight fit. One nice touch is that the bathroom included wash rags, which one does not usually see in European hotels. On the downside, placement of the bathroom mirror made close work, such as shaving, very difficult. We found this place o.k. for a night, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time than that there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests

It is a pleasure to read that you had positive experiences with our staff and that you were happy with our central location.

Regarding the size of the room I would strongly recommend a Superior double room next time instead of a Economy rooms, it is true that if you have big suitcases the Economy rooms are a very tight fit.

Furthermore we really appreciate your input regarding an additional mirror in the bathroom we will gladly look into it with our Housekeeping Manager.

Nevertheless I hope you will give us a second chance coming back to Zurich and wish you all the best in meantime.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyana NSW Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good central location only a few minutes from the main station.Very helpful staff - we advised day before arrival that we were booked on a tour mid morning - the room was ready for us to leave our luggage & tidy up before the tour. Good clean facilities & ample breakfast. Cons are room was a tad small & is in a noisey traffic location -although the double glazed windows kept that down, the curtains did not make the room dark enough for us & the room was way to hot but friendly reception staff made up for the inconvenience!

Room Tip: A room on the station side of the hotel would be quieter as that side doesn't appear to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jim and Rosey

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write down your personal impressions, your comments are very valuable to us.

Regarding the darkness of the room we would like to inform you and future guests that we also have automatic shutters in all rooms, the switch is located right to the window slightly hidden by the curtains; this allows you to completely darken the room.

Last but not least we would like to thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and cleanliness.

We hope to welcome you again at the hotel du Theatre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Loved our welcome by friendly staff! Hotel clean and comfortable,central to easy walking,site seeing,plus easy walk from train station.Modern and interesting decor,quirky!Great full breakfast!Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us. It makes us very happy when our guests are!

Furthermore we are delighted to read that you recommend our breakfast this proves us that the changes we made were in the right direction.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#49 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.