We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“form should follow function” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Save Saved
You added B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brandschenkestrasse 152, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Enge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“form should follow function”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

the B2 is an interesting design concept hotel, with excellent staff -- but design is unfortunately prized higher than comfort. the suites have tiny bathrooms and closet like toilets while the rooms are large. The rooms are not air-conditioned, despite high summer temperatures, and the roof top swimming pool is tight, with no shade options for someone who doesn't want to sit in the blazing sun. Surprisingly there is no free parking even though there are numerous parking spaces in front of the hotel -- with clear towing signs. design is nice but form should follow function -- especially at these high prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
61
2
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

great spa great loacation, great service.
if u dont minf 10 min walking to citi center than u are at the right place.
please note that the spa is publice therefore it its bit busy.
dont let this spoit the stay. very recomndedm,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

HOTEL

Hotel staff were fantastic from start to finish and without exception. Front desk, lounge area and the hotel manager were all friendly, gracious and helpful. The room was cool, modern and comfortable. Had a nice breakfast and the staff assisted with transportation instructions. A five minute walk from the hotel to the Enge Train Station where direct trains to the airport are available. If you are on a 24 hour Zurich train pass in the central district, you can purchase a zone upgrade to the airport for a few extra dollars (one of the only bargains in Zurich).

SPA

I had read ahead of time that access to the rooftop pool was included with the room rate but I must have read bad information or the policy has changed. It was a 25 CHF upgrade for hotel guests for use of all the spa facilities but it is a unique experience and probably worth the upgrade. The downside to the spa facilities were the wooden staff and the confusing layout. There were no smiles to spare in the spa areas and it was difficult to get advice or assistance regarding the offerings. I'm admittedly handicapped by my language limitations but it was still a pretty stark contrast to the hotel staff. I did understand when I was barked at for taking pictures on the roof though. It is sort of a shame to have such a pool and a view and prevent people from sharing it.

I would definitely stay here again though I'd probably explore more of Zurich in lieu of visiting the spa again.

Room Tip: If you are assigned Room 106 or neighboring rooms, you might beg off. The rooms open into the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

i have stayed at the B2 Boutique Hotel for several days this month, and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very unique, with a lobby and rooms that definitely can catch one's eye for how different they are from what we've seen before, and how incredibly comfortable they feel. Furthermore, staff is very friendly and will help you with all you may need. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Some tips:
- the restaurant is very good, and the main ingredients and all of the beverage (including alcoholic) comes from the region, but do not expect to eat several meals there without being tired, as the menu is very restricted (although I did not eat anything that tasted any less than great);
- the hotel is not located in the city center, which means some walking/driving/commuting to get there;
- the spa is absolutely crowded on weekends, so try to go on week days (it is open until 9pm), and beware that hotel guests also have to pay to enter (25CHF, as opposed to 55CHF to the public);
- if you want a massage... well, book it in advance: the spa seems to always be full! Just remember that Tuesdays are ladies only, so guys will not be admitted in the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were so delighted as we looked up the hill and saw this hotel - we knew it was going to be extraordinary and it was! The staff were so amazing and nice and always had a smile on. The interior is super cool with a library for a dining room. As for the rooms...well let's just say they were fab! The bed was huge and very comfortable; Nespresso machine was appreciated; and glass waterfall shower was a major bonus! We had a lovely lunch as well as breakfast there, and enjoyed the amenities greatly. Great location as it is quiet but the city centre can be reached in 10 minutes. A must to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'd like to thank the warm & friendly staff at B2 for being such amazing hosts. My wife & I arrived early in Zurich after a ~24 hour journey, and all we wanted to do was burn the clothes we were in and have a hot shower - you know the feeling. As soon as a room became available the staff made it available to us, and prior to that we were seated and served breakfast by an incredibly sweet and hospitable gentleman (I think his name was Karim, please thank him again for us) in the expansive library area.

Luckily the weather was quite bad, which made the spa and rooftop pool all the better. I've never experienced spa facilities that come close to this, and it was the perfect jet lag remedy to get us into shape before a dinner that we had planned that night. The rooms, spa, lobby & interiors are all so incredibly well engineered that you get an added level of satisfaction from knowing how much thought has gone into this place. There's absolutely nothing arbitrary or accidental about the way this hotel has been put together and this was fully appreciated by me and my wife.

Thank you to all the friendly staff for being so kind and accommodating - we can't wait to come back!

Cheers,

Scott & Ash x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We’ve stayed at the B2 Boutique Hotel to celebrate my birthday. The whole experience was outstanding. We were very nicely welcomed by the reception staff who upgraded us to a Suite. The room was absolutely fantastic. The room itself was huge, with two different levels: on the ground level you had a big table, the bathroom and a spacious living room with a balcony. On the upper level, you could find the king-size bed with a huge TV and a huge bathtub. The decoration is very minimalistic, which fits perfectly the hotel (an old beer factory totally renewed).
We had some drinks at the bar, and as mentioned before, the service was really attentive.
Breakfast was delicious. There is a quite tasty variety choice, and you can also order freshly prepared eggs and toasts. The orange juice was fresh and delicious as well. The breakfast room is located within a huge library and with very funky chandeliers. We loved the hotel’s decoration.
The hotel is annexed to a SPA which we tried. As we were guests of the hotel, the price for the entrance was of 25 CHF. The SPA was absolutely incredible. We spent the whole afternoon on the roof-top pool, looking at Zurich. Then we did a thermal route at the Irish-Roman baths. This was totally relaxing and highly recommended.
After the relaxing afternoon, I found in the room a small birthday cake with a lovely birthday card, prepared by the hotel. This was definitely a really nice touch.
I do deeply recommend this hotel, which is in a calm place, but yet near the city centre. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Address: Brandschenkestrasse 152, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa in the former Hürlimann brewery offers 60 rooms and suites - all with parquet floor, Nespresso machine, free Wi-Fi and 2 boardrooms for up to 18 people. The highlight of the hotel is the Library with 33’000 books, where breakfast, SWaPPa's (Swiss tapas) and wine from Zurich are served. Guests enjoy special conditions and direct access toThermal Bath & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.