We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, fantastic ambience. Best for couples. Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa to your Saves list
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brandschenkestrasse 152, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Enge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great room, fantastic ambience. Best for couples. Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: When walking into the B2 Boutique hotel in Zurich, you get the sense that the place is fantastically clean, and well designed. The reception area is small, but the staff are quick, efficient, and young. There is a touchscreen TV on the wall, giving you information about the hotel, the sights and more (This is done as a more eco friendly version of a printed hotel guide). The hotel is aligned with the Spa, which is a massive complex of different pools and baths (more later). The first thing you see on entering the hotel lobby is the extremely open plan space with the dining area, walled with old books in a magnificently high bookshelf with over 20,000 books there. In the centre is a huge “chandelier” comprised of bottles with lights inside. It is really nice.

GETTING THERE: The hotel is not really situated within walking distance from any major train or public transport lines. We arrived in Zurich via train and caught a taxi to the hotel. The hotel is situated at the top of a small hill, which is fine for walking, but unadvisable if you have any signifiant luggage over maybe a backpack. It cost CHF20-25 to go back and forth between the train station and the hotel.

ROOMS: We stayed in a basic room (123) which was surprising large. The room is perfectly clean, with all modern amenities. The bathroom is fantastically large for switzerland, with a separated toilet. The shower has a uniquely designed glass screen with curved shower screen. The layout of the room is open plan, with a coffee machine, and enough space to open bags, move around and relax. I was extremely comfortable in this location, especially after moving from my last hotel stay (Hotel Leonardo in Antwerp). The ceilings are high and the bed super comfy. I really do not have any gripes about this room, and as such, this room gets a 5/5. The window is extremely large, and lets in an amazing amount of natural light. The view is minimal, and not worth worrying about.

BREAKFAST: A traditional european breakfast with cold meats, croissants, cereals and the option to order whatever type of eggs you would like. Perfectly satisfactory, and although many complain about its minimalism, it is refreshing to be away from the traditional americal style breakfast of greasy bacon and overcook eggs. We ordered combinations of half boiled, omlettes and friend eggs and all were cooked to perfection. The dining hall is within the “library”, and is a great place to hang out.

INTERNET: There is internet available throughout the hotel with wifi. I actually can’t recall whether or not it is of decent quality or not, but I don’t recall being disappointed with it either. In this day and age, no free internet is ridiculous so I will comment on it in all my further reviews.

LOCATION: As mentioned above, its hard to get around by public transport from this location. Really, its location is beautiful, sat on top of a hill, overlooking the city. It was perfect with the snow falling outside. If you needed to be in the city centre, or wanted really close proximity to trams etc, then this may not be the best place for you. We found it the perfect place to relax at the hotel, and use their facilities. Which brings us onto:

SPA: FOR CHF25, hotel guests can enjoy the adjoining spa (linked via lift to the hotel). The spa is like nothing I’ve ever experienced (I don’t go to spas usually so this may not be that revolutionary) - but the spa is an open area with maybe 10-15 different rooms, each with their own focus. There are rooms of all temperatures, with spa jets within, and moving from each to the other is through a fantastically designed system - all within an old brewery. The old brewery features are really beautiful and they have been maintained in a really minimalistic and classic way. Truly a relaxing experience. You could easily spend the day there (if you have the time) as there are areas to purchase food from throughout. We used the roman bath area as well which is a routine of moving from steam room to spa in a specific sequence, including showers with exfoliant etc. While this type of thing isn’t really my thing, my girlfriend loved it. The area was full of young people, and 95% of the people there are couples, and as other reviewers have mentioned, some are much more amorous than others. I honestly think that you would feel uncomfortable being there by yourself. Go find a friend so you can at least pretend like you’re not on your own! Singles - don’t bother, unlikely you’ll ever find someone to talk to there!

VALUE: We got a prepaid package. It was great value from anything else we have seen in Switzerland. I highly recommend doing it this way, as comparable accommodation in Zurich is ridiculously expensive (when compared to equivalent 5 star accommodation in Australia, Asia and the rest of the Europe).

OVERALL: As a couple, this was the perfect retreat. Highly recommended for honeymooners, and those wanting to hang out with their loved ones. Probably not that recommended for the single traveller wanting to be around the city centre. Staff are extremely helpful and warm. We were really impressed. Definitely will return in the future when we are in Zurich.
(Recent stays - Hotel Leonardo, Antwerp; Hotel Opera, Zurich; Town Hall Hotel, London; Holiday Inn, London; Novotel, York)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    57
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
98
3
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Travelled to Zurich to work on my third city guide (app) and decided to stay at the B2 (B Square). What a very pleasant surprise. Compared to other hotels the rates are fairly reasonable for Zurich and for Switzerland. I had a regular room but it was so well appointed. From the moment I arrived until the moment I left the staff was warm and welcoming and always helpful. Included in the room is breakfast (all local products such as cheeses, meats, etc) with muesli, croissants, juices, etc - all very good quality. A minibar is stocked with coke/diet, flat/sparkling and beer or OJ replenished daily and FREE. Wifi was also free (we love that at onestop). The spa/thermal baths are not owned by the hotel so you have to pay to use them but it's CHF25 for 24 hours (actual 24hrs, not per day). You have a private entrance from the hotel and can use the bracelet they give you to access it and even charge items such as food, drinks. As some people have mentioned before, weekends are mobbed and you will enjoy it much more during the week.

The hotel is walking distance from trams, SilhCity with movie theatres, shopping, etc and also around 15-20 min walking distance to main train station or Banhoffstrasse. The cab I took from the train station when I arrived was around CHF25-30.

My room was 121 and had a great view, was extremely quiet and everything worked perfectly with a comfy bed. The place was spotless. My only criticism is that the hotel doesn't have a gym.

I look forward to coming back some day.

Room Tip: Room 121 was great but if you have the $, get one of the duplex suites, they are gorgeous and very o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spend a long weekend in beginning of February with my wife and 3y.o. daughter and we are very happy with the hotel.
At check-in we were upgraded to a suite (I believe they called it Honeymooner's) which is nice and specious on two levels - living space, bathroom, and kitchen downstairs and bedroom with open space bathtub upstairs. Service was flawless all the way. Location of the hotel is OK next to train station (5mins to Zurich HB).

The only disappointment we had (major one) was the Spa. Although it is not anything below what the photos show (nice rooftop pool and huge underground area) one should know that on slow week day afternoon there are as many as fifty people in the rooftop pool and over hundred in the basement.
I believe that this is only place with thermal water in Zurich and this make it crowded. Pools are very nice and warm but this is not hotel spa center - it is community pools. Going in a spa one would assume that it is quite and relaxing. A place where to recharge and calm down. Here however its noisy, fully with people (many students making up in the corners), and nowhere to sit & enjoy.
Also the restaurant is menu is quite poor (some snacks, and daily soup & main course).
Bottom line - the hotel is nice for sleep over. One cannot really enjoy the Spa or in-house dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. Despite arriving late the welcome was warm and friendly and I was able to have a quick dinner just before he restaurant closed. The dinner fare was a bit below expectations given the really atmospheric surroundings seated in the central all of the old brewery with 30,000+ books. The room was a very good size, very well equipped and spotless - a very welcome surprise for Zurich where hotels can be exceptionally expensive for tiny rooms. The breakfast buffet the next morning was just what was required and overall an excellent stay. Will be back and next time will try and make use of the roof-top pool.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano/palermo
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I like hotel with pools, but I didn't expect such extraordinary location!
The hotel is located close to the city centre in a high hill, its used to be a beer factory and recently turned into a five star modern hotel fully serviced with a very good spa.
The room are big, with big bed, modern interior design, the shower is created by glasses and even the lights are very original and warm.
The breakfast wasn't very big but with a very high qualities of food, but the best attraction is the hot pool on the roof of the building, from where you can see all the city of Zurich surrounded by bubbles, and once you finish there you can enjoy in the cantinas the rest of the SPA amazing number of pools with different temperatures and height.
It's really a very good experience and If are you looking for relax is the place where to go...

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room is very big, better to go to the spa during the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstaad, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Used to have a corporate rate at the Dolder but it all got a bit tired up on the Züriberg so we switched to the B2. Now staff are lining up for the Zurich trips again and the mental shift of our company travellers is as refreshing as the hotel itself. Top kudos for excellent and personal service, and a director who has instilled a can-do attitude in every single one of her staff. Interesting lobby bar concept with a focus on local food and wine. The rooftop pool is alone worth the visit. And the hotel enjoys an excellent location just a few minutes walk from the center yet still in an oasis of calm perched on a promontory overlooking the entire city. Only a few quibbles: flakey Internet service that logs you out every few minutes; cool but poorly-designed, drafty showers with limited water pressure on the upper floors. And it's location next to the Googleplex means a few of those slightly-too-loud American new media types who never quite seem to get that everyone around them can, like, hear everything they are saying, you know. But this is hardly the hotel's fault: check out the B2 for an excellent property for business or pleasure at a reasonable price (and that's saying something in Zurich!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A modern, well-designed hotel with spacious, clean and cosy rooms. Very friendly staff. Breakfast in the impressive library lounge is included in the hotel rate. Just 10 minutes away from the city centre by tram or 30 minutes walking. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Address: Brandschenkestrasse 152, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa in the former Hürlimann brewery offers 60 rooms and suites - all with parquet floor, Nespresso machine, free Wi-Fi and 2 boardrooms for up to 18 people. The highlight of the hotel is the Library with 33’000 books, where breakfast, SWaPPa's (Swiss tapas) and wine from Zurich are served. Guests enjoy special conditions and direct access toThermal Bath & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.