We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, quick and very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Corner

Friends Corner
Josefstrasse 140, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty, quick and very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Small cosy cafe with very good food - I've been there numerous times either eat in or take away and was never dissappointed. Lamb and chicken curries with rice are both very good and have nice side dishes of lentils, spinach etc to go with. Current favourite is the kottu roti with either chicken or lamb. 13 Sfr for the takeaway dishes gets you *a lot* of food - probably some of the best value for money of anywhere in ZH. Not sure of the opening hours but they seem to be open most days and evenings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“As Delicious as Always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just passed by today for a lovely curry lunch on a sunny Friday.

After ordering at the counter we went and sat outside on one of the 5 or 6 tables that they have on the pavement and enjoyed a superb meal.

My plate consisted of a potato curry, an aubergine masala, yellow daal and lamb curry served with rotis on the side. You can also order this selection with plain basmati rice or saffron basmati rice (buryani). First and foremost, for the price of CHF 15.00, it is one of the best bargains in Switzerland. Second of all the quality of the food is simply superb. Each of the curries was absolutely delicious and each one tasted different from the other using different spices and methods of preparation. More importantly it was authentic, consistent and home made.

The service was lovely & friendly and the food was divine.

Indian food is one of my favorite types of cuisine but unfortunately in Switzerland, Indian food at Indian restaurants is watered down and westernized. That is why I have converted to Tamil joints because they keep the food authentic.

If you are in the area, do yourself a favor and discover lip-smacking foods at Friends Corner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Still Superb ... Keeping it Real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

It's amazing that a tiny Tamil café produces such authentic and fantastic food day in day out at such reasonable prices. Swiss hoteliers have A LOT to learn from our friends at Friend's Corner.

It doesn't matter what you order: Kotu roti, curries and roti or buryani, (that's how they spell it) everything is superb. Food is cooked fresh daily and depending on what you order, it can also be cooked à la minute.

It's a tiny place on Josefstrasse, just off Langstrasse and it is one of my favorite places to eat. Excellent authentic food served by passionate people. Who cares that the décor resembles a truck stop, it's the food and the hospitality that matters.

And yes, I would bring someone here on a lunch date. People with an open mind and who have travelled the world will appreciate it and enjoy it. I introduced my friends to this place and their Swiss girls love it. If your date resembles Paris or Brittney, then forget about it, you have poor taste and don't belong here :).

I come here often and will continue to do so.

Keep it up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent Sri Lankan café”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have 2 faovurites in Zürich and this is one of them. Why you ask? Because it's 100% authentic, unpretentious and serves delicious home made Tamil food. The other place is Sher-e-Punjab that serves Punjabi food. I have a review of it as well.

Friend's Corner is a tiny and simple Tamil place just off Langstrasse. Whether you opt for curries & roti, buryani or Kottu roti, the food is fresh and hot. Plus it's always full of Sri Lankans, the perfect sign of an ethnic restaurant.

I don't believe it's open in the evening, so make sure you go at lunch for a good curry. I normally get a takeaway and the portions are SOOO large, they last me 3 meals, and I'm a big strong lad :).

If you're into good simple Tamil food, this is the place. Far better than Nimmi's which is right opposite.

Keep it up my friends, you run a great place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends Corner also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Friends Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.