We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small welllocated, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Tripadvisor Discount
Ranked #4 of 123 hotels in Zurich
los angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small welllocated, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Another Trip Advisor gem.The room was amll also the Bathroom, but very functional. Great clothes driers, the best anywhere !
Very quiet even over the street, and excellent and friendly service by front desk staff. Good Breakfast.
Excellent location next to tram station

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Grüezi leidenaar

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
It is nice to know that for you our traditional yet modern Hotel Helmhaus has come up as a gem in the heart of Oldtown Zurich, and your compliments about the quality of our interior are much appreciated.
Especially when our guests are booking with us directly via phone or email we can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    113
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
186
52
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Helmhaus was our introduction to Switzerland and it could not have been better. A warm welcome from the front desk and efficient sign in were just the start. Our room, on the top level, was spacious, charmingly decorated and spotlessly clean as also was the beautifully appointed washroom. Reception staff were exceptionally helpful with maps and advice as we got our bearings and headed out to tour. Restaurant recommendations for dinner were excellent. Breakfasts (included) were sumptuous with an excellent selection of foods from which to choose.
The hotel is literally steps from charming old town Zurich, restaurants and shopping.
We fell in love with Zurich on this initial trip and look forward to returning in the near future. Hotel Helmhaus will definitely be our accomodation choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Grüezi Ex-airfaircrew

It is a delight indeed to read that our team at Hotel Helmhaus has contributed greatly to your first good impression of Switzerland and to even falling in love with Zurich.
We know that travellers coming to Zurich have high expectations, and by providing quality above quantity we want to do our best to meet these expectations.

Thank you having been our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future tot he smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There are a lot of small boutique hotels in Zurich but this is one of the better ones.

Very nicely situated near the river and with friendly reception staff, arrival was a pleasure.

My room, a "superior" one, was a cut above the normal boutique hotel offering - a large room with all the "trimmings". I really could not fault the room - maybe the bathroom was a little small but I could live with that. It had all the amenities that one comes to expect and was spotlessly clean.

It does not have a restaurant or a bar but there are dozens of eateries/bars very close by which are more than adequate and there is a small breakfast room on the First floor which serves a more than adequate hot and substantial international beakfast.

No other facilites and a tine two person lift, I'm afraid but that suited me ideally as I only wanted a nice room to sleep in and somewhere to have breakfast - it was a three day busines trip where not much more was required.

Its not a resort hotel and does not pretend to be but I really enjoyed my short stay - I have no hestitation in recommending it. Really friendly and helpful people.

Room Tip: Go for a slightly more expensive "superior room" and avoid the higher floors (they get too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Grüezi CTCTraveller

What a pleasure to know that what our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus offered you was exactely what you had expected for your business trip. I want to thank you for sharing you positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
And having a good night’s sleep in a clean and well functioning newly renovated room, a hearty Swiss breakfast where only high quality Swiss products are offered, and the possibility to use our free of charge wifi internet already count for a good day’s start.

Thank you for having been our guest, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel (in a double room) while on vacation in Zurich. The hotel location is great and the front desk staff was very friendly & helpful (especially Nadia!). The rooms were nice and clean. It's Europe, so rooms are a bit small - especially the single room that my sister stayed in. One great feature of the room was the heated floor in the shower! The elevator was super small (expected since it's a very old building); however given it's only a 5 story building there is a great set of stairs that can easily be used. The property is in walking distance of great restaurants, shops and other attractions. They also offer free wifi and a great breakfast. Additionally, they were able to book us a shuttle to the airport for a very reasonable price.

My family had such a great stay that we decided to spend another night at the end of our week in Switzerland. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Double room on the 4th floor has a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Grüezi SeattleJayHawk

Thank you and your family for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus für your stay. I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay that you were moved to spend additional time in our wonderful country. And since our building is so historical (nearly 700 years old) the past mixes with modern comfort in a very nice way, especially since the completion of vast renovations in 2012.
We look forward to having you staying with us again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were very pleased with all the functions of the hotel. The room was wonderful and gave good sneers to ll our needs,very Clem nd comfortable. The wellcom was very nice and the coffe and cake very testy. The bear fast is outstanding the food is very good and the service very pleasant.
We love this hotel and in our next visit to Zurich we will come again.

Room Tip: We love the type of room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Grüezi nelsontelaviv

Thank you for staying and for sharing you positive thoughts with other travellers and us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich and that you were pleased with everything we offer our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent location. Tram is just around the corner. The main train station and bus terminal for daytours/excursions are just 10 minutes away by tram. Zurich is not a big city and you can leisurely walk to most of the attractions and shopping areas from the hotel. Lots of restaurants in the surrounding area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean, quiet, and decent size for a European hotel. Free wifi a plus. The included breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Grüezi japaca2013

Thank you for your stay at our recently renovated Hotel Helmhaus. As you mentioned already, with Zurich being a very international but not very large city it is easy and convenient to explore it from our location.
Your compliments about the quality of breakfast and room as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members have been passed on.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This cute hotel which is exceptionally clean and located very centrally in Old Town is great value. It's close to everything, and staffed by incredibly nice, helpful front desk staff. They also have an awesome European-style breakfast spread that is often included in the room price.

Some may say that it's a bit noisy, but that is a function of the location in Old Town, not the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Grüezi Tiff719

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your positve thoughts with other travellers and us. I am delighted to know that you appreciated all our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus has to offer its guests, especially our rich Swiss Breakfast buffet and our friendly and helpful team members.
Our sound-proof windows keep most of the sounds of the Oldtown’s evening life on a warm summer day outside, so our guests can, in combination with the individually adjustable air conditions in each room, enjoy a comfortable sleep.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.