We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying in this delightful hotel, situated in a charming cobblestoned street.The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean, comfortable ad quite.
Great shops and restaurants nearby.
Fabulous breakfast!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Grüezi Gfagreen

Thank you having been our guests and for sharing with other travellers and us how comfortable you felt and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    122
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
202
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street, and we feared it would be noisy, but no problem.
Very pleasant room, decent breakfast included, excellent location, and pretty good value for Switzerland.
Friendly front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Grüezi 60sAussiecouple

Thank you for having been our guests, and it is nice to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Our soundproof windows keep any noises and sounds outside very well, and it is good to know for us that you appreciated the quality of the windows.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel on recommendation of a local friend and were not disappointed in any way. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. The area in which this hotel is situated is a busy one and you can enjoy a lot there. Staff is courteous and helpful. It isn;t as big as some of more fancier and chain hotels, but is more than adequate and perfectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Grüezi Fernando C

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus based on a friend’s recommendation. We are delighted to know that we could meet the high expectations you had and that he is still your friend :-)
Since the last stage of extensive renovations was completed in 2012 our entire team can offer even more comfort and higher quality to our guests. This mixes with the historical charme of the nearly 700 years-old building.

We wish you all the best for the new year. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel at an affordable price. It is located in the old town area with plenty of restaurants (the Italian place just in front of the hotel is very good) and small boutiques. The city centre and Bahnhofstrasse is across the canal, ten minutes on foot. Like other hotels in Zurich, rooms are small but well appointed. Staff were welcoming and helpful, even offered to prepare an early breakfast for our early morning departure. We visited in August and rooms were a little bit hot though.

Room Tip: In summer the lower levels seem to be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Grüezi aussievoyager

Thank you for your recent stay at your Hotel Helmhaus. It is nice to read that you especially valued our location as well as the helpfulness of our team members when it comes to the little extra step.
All our rooms are equipped with individual adjustable air conditions, and I think that the 3 weeks of nearly 35 centigrade every day and high humidity (very unusual for Zurich) in August can be a challenge. I can understand if you felt that the rooms were a little bit hot, and our guests are encouraged to contact our front desk any time during day and night for assistance.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great position and great staff. We normally stay in five star hotels and I was looking at the Widder hotel but I took notice of tripadvisor and I am glad I did. No it's not a Five star hotel but it has a lot of things that they don't. Friendliness at reception and only to happy to help and give recommendations. The breakfast room staff very good even though the breaky is only small there is plenty to eat and to choose from. Scrambled eggs bacon to very good fresh fruit salad and the usual fare. Everything is very fresh and clean
The beds are very comfortable and windows open so you can have fresh air so don't need to run aircon which we don't like.
Again I will say congratulations to all staff for their friendliness and their cleanliness you should be very proud of your hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Grüezi Dogsey

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for giving a chance to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich. It is a pleasure to read that with our service and our facility we could cope with the five star hotels you are used to.
Our team and I are indeed very proud of our hotel and to work here because not only can we provide a very high standard and quality to our guests but also such comments as yours encourage us.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Two great nights in a hotel that lives up to its billing. Experience made all the better by the friendly and most helpful staff at the desk and in the breakfast room. Location was perfect for touring. would be my first choice on return to Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Grüezi River57

I am delighted to read that we could meet the high expectations you rightly had after checking our rating and other traveller’s reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts and for having been our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed in a superior double room at a price of 395 Swiss francs per night (breakfast included). The room was very good, in every way: spacious, nicely decorated, well maintained and equipped with all the facilities I would expect from a small hotel in a European city. The front desk service and breakfast were also excellent.
The mattress was less soft than I am used to, but this characteristic is constant in most hotels in Europe, except some five-star and a few from Scandinavia, so I do not consider it important.
There was one small flaw in the service, but i have not considered it serious: clean clothes of another guest were delivered to my room while I was away.
When I arrived and reported the fact to the front desk it was immediately solved with an emphatic apology and a chocolate bar left in my room while I was dining out. Definitely it was nothing serious and I strongly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: I read some prior negative reviews about room size. The room where I stayed was an excellent size an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Grüezi BrazilianJudge

Thank you for having been staying with us and for taking the time to share your positive opinion with other travellers and us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and that the little flaw in service could not dampen your overall experience of our recently renovated and modernised hotel.

Thank you for recommending us to others, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.