We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small Hotel with Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Small Hotel with Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was disappointing, the location was great and the staff were very helpful and pleasant but the fridge in our room was not working and it was smelly so it had not been working for awhile. Our friends who we met there were also disappointed with their room considering the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Grüezi maxinea42

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. First of all it is nice to know that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members as well as the location of our little historical, almost 700 years old hotel.
I regret to read that the quality of our rooms did not meet your and your friends‘ expectations. We do understand that after the complete renovation of all our rooms between 2007 and 2012, and also considering the hotel rates in Zurich in general, our guests‘ expectations are very high. Therefore we have very detailed information about our rooms (i.e. size, interior, bed sizes) on our website for our guests to inform themselves properly before making a reservation. And our guests are encouraged to immediately report anything they find missing or not working in the room during their stay.
You did not specify what your friends found disappointing in their room so if they would like to specify it more detailed they are welcome to contact our Front Office Manager on Mario.Strehlow@helmhaus.ch .

I hope those information were any helpful. We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    114
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
189
52
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Helmhaus in Zurich has a perfect location, just a walking distance from the major highlights of the city.
The staff is very friendly, be sure you'll be offered a welcome drink upon your check - in.
The rooms are not very big, but clean. The brekfast is decent.
That's not a luxuary hotel, but a very cozy and friendly hotel.
I would recomment it with pleasures to the travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Grüezi Flower53_10

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to comment your visit. It is a pleasure to know that you valued the friendliness of our team members as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. With our efforts to maintain the charm of our historical building, combined with the high class personal service of our team and the modern comfort of a boutique hotel we do not aim at being a luxury hotel but being a place where our guests can feel „home away from home“ in a cozy surrounding.

Thank you for recommending us. We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is located close to the Grossmunster, which is accessible directly via tram No. 4 from Zurich HB. The room was not too large, but very clean and comfortable. The staffs were friendly. We had to leave before the breakfast time, but they provided us with light meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Grüezi Kaminaga

Thank you for having been our guests recently. It is nice to know that besides the friendliness of our team and the comfort of our rooms you also appreciated the little Helmhaus Breakfast which we do offer our guests who have to depart before the official breakfast time. This service we do provide since we understand how uncomfortable it can be departing with an empty stomach for a long flight or a business meeting.
This is one of our efforts of delivering quality not quantity.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I sepent two nights at the Helmhaus. We found the hotel to be very central, close to the night life area and shopping centre accross the Limat. The staff at the reception were very nice offering us a welocme drink on arrival. Our room was upgraded, which we found very spacious on the fifth floor, clean and nicely laid out with modern furnishings. Although check out time was 12.00 hrs we were allowed to keep the room a few hours extra as the next booking was checking in later.
We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Grüezi THOSVAD

Thank you for having been guests to our centrally located historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. It is always a pleasure to give a little extra comfort where possible so our guests can feel „home away from home“ in our recently renovated hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A small 30 room hotel right on the river in the old Zurich. No bar or restaurant but plenty nearby. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable. Free wifi. But the best is location, location! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Grüezi Tulloch1

Thank you for having been our guest. I am delighted to read that you appreciated all our little historical yet modern hotel has to offer its guests, i.e. newly refurbished rooms, a rich Swiss breakfast buffet, free wifi internet and an excellent location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich.

Thank you for recommending us, and we would also look forward to welcoming you yourself again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What an excellent find. In a refurbished older building you'll find a boutique-style hotel boasting a stylish fitout with quality furnishings. An ideal central location, excellent if rather small Swiss breakfast and helpful, knowledgeable staff make this a welcoming place. Restaurants, transport options and attractions abound outside the door.

First night was so good we decided to stay a second, which required a change of rooms due to a previous booking.

The only reason there isn't 5 stars was the A/C didn't work in our room on our second stay, requiring us to open the window for ventilation to the noise on a busy, warm weekend night at the restaurants below. As with everything in Zurich, indeed Switzerland, prices are comparatively steep. However from where we booked Hotel Helmhaus was much better value than elsewhere, especially considering the character embedded compared to a standard large hotel.

Oh and parking...there isn't any. After all, you're in the centre of town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Grüezi PeaJayOe

Thank for having been our guests recently. I am pleased to know that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the boutique-design interior of our hotel and its surroundings.
I regret to hear that you experienced troubles with the air condition in your room during the second night of your stay. That you still highly valued your stay and the quality of everything else our hotel had to offer you is nice to hear.

We wish you all the best, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future - maybe during the colder Christmas time when Zurich is beautifully illuminated with thousands of Christmas lights.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I visited Zurich a couple of months ago and stayed in Hotel Helmhaus for 3 nights over the weekend. In general, I had a great time in Zurich. Hotel Helmhaus is centrally located in Old Town Zurich very close to Fraumunster and Graumunster (2 must see Churches). The shell of Hotel Helmhaus s a historical building which has been remodeled and modernized to meet current standards. The hotel has 5 or 6 floors including a basement. My entire take on the hotel after staying here over a weekend is that, it clearly excels in certain areas, but it has major issues that need to be addressed in others.

Let me go through the good things first. The hotel is in a good location, and is close to everything. People in reception are friendly (not just a little friendly, EXTREMELY friendly). The continental breakfast was great and included a wide selection of juices, pastries and cheeses. The hotel staff also accommodated me and let me check in early at the front desk because flight arrived early morning into Zurich from Dubai. I very much appreciated this because I was extremely tired, jet lagged and ready to pass out by the time I arrived at the hotel.

When I first arrived at the hotel, tired, jet lagged and ready to pass out from exhaustion, after I checked in at reception I made my way up to my room. The guy at reception offered to take my luggage up to my room which I gladly obliged as I was very short on energy at the time. Good thing too as the elevators in this hotel are very small and can barely fit two people at one time. So my luggage and I would have been a very tight fit if I had gone that route.

The first thing I did right when I entered my room and received my luggage in my room, I took off my shoes and crashed on my bed (almost). I was ready to fall asleep, but me being the germaphobe that I am decided to take a closer look at my bed sheets before I hopped into bed. From far away the bed sheets smelled fresh so I wasn't expecting to find much. I was dead wrong.

When I examined the bed sheets, comforter and pillow covers closely, they had hair all over them! I got instantly grossed out! I showed house keeping my sheets and they seemed as amazed as I was and offered to change the bed sheets, comforter and pillow covers. To make a long story short, they changed the bed sheets but still couldn't get me clean bed sheets without hair on them. After the 2nd time I complained in 10 minutes, I wasn't going to be happy with just a simple changing of the bed sheets. I asked them to take me into the room where they wash the sheets and show me that they are actually washing them. Surprisingly they were alright with that and washed my sheets in front of my eyes.

Did that take care of the problem? You would think so, HOWEVER, the bed sheets still had hair on them! IN FACT, ALL the bed sheets in the entire laundry room had hair on them! So the only logical conclusion that I could reach after this was that the washing machine was broken and wasn't picking up the hair off the sheets properly. At that point I was too tired to argue any more so I just accepted the fact that I would sleep in bedding with hair on it. What can you do...?

So has the hotel fixed the washing machine or even done anything about it? I can't say, however if they had even a little bit of sense (since it's been 5 months) they would replace the washing machine and dryer immediately. On top of that the only other thing I disliked about the hotel was that the walls of the building were paper thin! I could hear everything in the hallway as well in the neighboring rooms. So, I'm pretty sure everyone in the neighboring rooms could hear everything in my room as well.

In general, like I stated above, even though the hotel excelled in certain areas, it still needs some major work in others. I would've given this hotel a better rating (3 or 4 stars) if I didn't have to sleep with someone else's hair on my bed. Also, the hotel can make guests' stays more comfortable by adding some soundproofing to the walls.

Room Tip: Check bed sheets for hair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Grüezi SaadQ

Thank you for having been our guest and for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay with us.
I regret to read that your stay was not as comfortbale as you had anticipated. Although many of our guests value the cleanliness of our rooms and its furnishings above many other things we will take a closer look into the matter of your dissatisfaction with our bed linen since we know that this is an important issue for everyone.
I am sorry that you heard other guests in the rooms next to yours, as you had the feeling of being heard in your room by others. Since our hotel is an old historical building, dating back to middle of the 14th Century, we are bound to special tight regulations of the City of Zurich when it comes to constructional modifications of the buildings interior. So we are sometimes not allowed to be as free in our wish to modify the building’s interior as other modern hotels are. But we think that makes the charme of your little hotel where the history of the structure meets with the modern comfort of its facilities.

I hope those information were any clarifying, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.