We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

5 stars isn't enough for Hotel Helmhaus, we arrived early to the hotel after a long flight from Australia and our rooms were ready and waiting, the service was excellent, the location is very central, we had to leave early the next morning, no trouble to have early breakfast, nothing was any trouble. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Grüezi ourfreddi

It is a pleasure to know that we could make you feel completely trouble-free while staying with us. We can understand that being made feeling „home away from home“ is very important when one is in a foreign country, and especially when so far away from home. With the high quality of our products and the high class personal service by our team we want to make every guest feel „home away from home“.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    135
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
217
58
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Zurich was the last city we visited in Switzerland and the Hotel Helmhaus provided a warm and friendly welcome and send off. Our room was bright with light; white walls and three windows, modern and clean but at the same time, comfortable and quiet. It is well situated in the historical section near churches, the lake and many shops and restaurants. The staff from desk clerks to the breakfast servers are bend over backwards friendly and accommodating. Particularly the gentleman that was there for most of the evening/night shifts at the front desk. He was a pleasure to talk to and share stories with and also very helpful with reservations and map guidance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Grüezi Tara R

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus for your last days in Switzerland. It is a pleasure to know that we could give you an enjoyable and comfortable farewell from Switzerland and made you leaving with a good last impression of our country.
Your compliments about the friendliness and service provided by our team members have been duly passed on.

We wish you all the best and want to thank you for recommending us.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We found this hotel on TripAdvisor website when searching for "reasonably priced" - for Zurich with easy access to the Old Town and Railway station.

The hotel is located about 50 meters from The Helmhaus tram stop via tram #4 from the railway station 6 minutes and 4 stops on the tram. It is located on a quaint pedestrian street with lots of restaurants and even a Starbucks coffee within 5 minutes.

Hotel Hemhaus is a good example as to why the Swiss are known as "the hoteliers to the world". We knew we were in for a treat when the very friendly management offered us a complimentary drink while getting us checked in!

Our room as spotless and had all the comforts of home, flat screen TV with MULTIPLE English channels, as we were becoming quite distraught watching the usual doom and gloom English TV offerings of CNN and BBC News that most upscale French and Italian upscale hotels offer. The internet was free and fast and the room had a minibar with refrigerator and locking safe for valuables.

Be aware that the electrical plugs in Switzerland look similar to France but that they are not compatible, the Helmhaus front has a large supply of complimentary plug adapters, just ask.

Included Breakfast was complete filling and tasty. All the staff Speak English and likely 4 or 5 other languages.

The only bargain to be had in Zurich is the Zurich Card available from the TI at the central railway station (under the blue hanging statue). It cost 12 Franc for 24 hours and includes all public transportation including IC train to the Airport and a 90 minute cruise on Lake Zurich as well as museum admission etc. Remember to activate it in one of the blue boxes at the tram stop before the first use. The rail station at the airport is under the main terminal with elevators to arrival and departure so save yourself the 60 Swiss Franc taxi fare as the train takes only 10 minutes.

Overall a very pleasant stay in Zurich anchored by the Hotel Helmhaus the whole city is clean and efficient but expensive - I think the whole country was designed by Rolex watches!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Grüezi FunOnly

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, and it is nice to know that you had a comfortable time in Zurich and at our Hotel Helmhaus. Our location in the heart of the city offers easy access to many of the major sights, and our newly renovated rooms offer many features, i.e. individually adjustable air condition during the summer, sound proof windows, minibar and a safe to make our guests stays as enjoyable as possible.

We wish you all the best and thank you for having been staying at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Helmhaus was delightful. The service and location are perfect. Rooms are clean, showers are great, breakfast is excellent, beds are comfortable, air-conditioning is good, and Wi-Fi works every time! Next time I am in Zurich, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Grüezi Teacher7-Sue

Thank you very much for having spent your time in Zurich at our Hotel Helmhaus. I am delighted to know that you valued the quality we want to deliver to our guests to make their time relaxing and enjoyable, i.e. free Wifi internet, comfortable newly renovated rooms and a hearty Swiss Breakfast buffet to start the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of the most historical and traditional hotels of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel Helmhaus is small, well situated and the service is very friendly and warm. The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable and provide all that one requires. The breakfast is excellent, offering cooked as well as cold options. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Grüezi CJSJHB

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you appreciated all that our Hotel Helmhaus and its team members has to offer, i.e. 24 newly renovated rooms, a rich Swiss Breakfast buffet and a high class personal service.

Thank you for having been with us and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was ideally located within walking distance of everything you wanted to do. They were so helpful at any request we had. I also loved the Nespresso and litle sweets in the lobby (that I certainly ate too often). The rooms are very well designed and spacious and the breakfast perfect to start the day.
Zurich is very expensive but if you are going for a quick break this hotel is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Grüezi uptonIV

Thank you for your recent stay with us, it is a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable and well taken care of by our team members. The little sweets in the lobby are certainly there to be nibbled so we are happy that you enjoyed them.

We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our first visit to Zurich, celebrating the opening of the girls-fashion shop "Brandy & Melville"of our daughter.
Central location, Adequate WIFI, excelent hospitality, rooms as they should be, and the perfect breakfast.
We will be back for sure!
Robert & Henriette

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Grüezi ANK2009

Thank you for having been with us on your first trip to Zurich, I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time. Your daughter has stayed with us before too, and it is nice to know that she had chosen our hotel for your stay as well.

We wish you both all the best and Good Luck for your daughter with her business.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#6 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.