We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel right in the center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel right in the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Helmhaus as a weekend getaway. The location was perfect and walking distance from most of the main attractions of the city.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and modern. Although it would have been nice if there were more options at breakfast, overall we had a fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Grüezi Kate R

Thank you for spending your weekend at our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus and for your appreciation of the quality of our rooms as well as the service and friendliness of our team members who made your stay ‚fantastic‘.
According to our motto „Quality, not Quantity“ also our Swiss Breakfast buffet might not be very extensive and large but it offers a variety of cold and hot Swiss products of highest quality, some of them even self-made or purchased directly from local farmers.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Managament Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    115
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
192
53
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February on the way to skiing. The hotel is small but the rooms are big and the location is perfect. The service is second to none!
Breakfast is of a high quality and no-one went hungry.
We travelled with 2 children and the grandparents so had 2 rooms with a sofa bed in each.
Would not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Grüezi AmeliainDubai

Thank you and your family for having been our guests in February. We know that travelling with family can be a bit challenging from time to time. Therefore it is nice when everything around you works well so one can enjoy the time with the loved ones. I am delighted to know that you had a good time at our hotel and that everyone of your party felt comfortable.

Thank you for recommending us to others, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Managament Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Fantastic hotel perfect location .very clean and courteous staff .small rooms but very. Well equipped .very nice breakfast .stayed here based on reviews no regrets .close to old town and facing the river .

Room Tip: Perfect location !!close to old town and station .very friendly staff and very courteous .will stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Grüezi Shubha B

It is nice to know that we could fullfil the high expectations you rightly had based on the other reviews. We are continually anxious to keep up the high standard of our product and the services. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

All the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fantastic! Stay here!!!! I booked this hotel based on reviews and it was perfect in every way!!! Looking forward to staying here again!! Nice staff. Great location. Breakfast was perfect. Everything was great. Nooooooooo complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Grüezi V M

It has been nice having you staying at our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. What more is there to say than ‚Thank you‘ for your positive feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a ,great and perfect‘ stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Perfect location, warm and friendly staff. Breafast was very fresh and tasty. Although the rooms are too small, they are very functional and well equiped. Will definetely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Grüezi BAHADIR B

Thank you for having been with us and for sharing your comment with other travellers and us. It is nice to know for us that you had a comfortable stay within the walls of our historical building and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and quality of the rooms as well as the breakfast.
Set within an old and historical oldtown house our double rooms comfort are appr. 20sq m (215sq ft) and our double rooms superior are appr. 25sq m (270 sq ft). In order to get the best rooms and rates we encourage our guests to book directly with us via our homepage, email or telephone. With this we very often can offer discounts, i.e. the 10% Tripadvisor Saver discount.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in February and it was a very pleasant experience. First thing to note is the friendliness and professional manner of the staff. The hotel is small and my room was small also. All the fixtures and fittings were of a high quality and the shower was really nice. But again everything was on the small/cramped side - but maybe I'm used to large corporate hotels too much. My bed was comfortable but again on the smallish side. Breakfast was great and lots of variety to choose from.
The biggest disappointment for me is the lack of tea/coffee/water in the room - but I hear that this is a Swiss issue.. ;-) - that being the biggest disappointment should tell you how overall it was a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Grüezi Dboi10

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am delighted to know that your stay with our little hotel was a very pleasant experience and that you valued the friendliness and professionality of our team members.
Our hotel is set within an old historical building dating back to the middle of the 14th century and closely connected to the history of Zurich. Therefore it is very important for us to communicate our room sizes and hotel features very detailed to our guests so they know what we offer. We do indeed provide a complimentary tea set up upon request, and our minibar provides still and sparkling water. Since our reception desk is manned 24 hours a day our guests are encouraged to ask for anything they miss, and we do our best to provide it.

Thank you again, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place lives up to the many great reviews. A quaint boutique hotel in the heart of old town. Easy to find and plenty to walk to,you will never need to take the tram or a taxi. When checking in, we were greeted by a charming young man who offered us their traditional warm pear cider, very good. He offered to have our bags delivered to our room, but we only had one bag. He also gave us a map and marked several places of interest since this was our first time here, very nice.
The room we had was a double and awesome. Not much of a view, but we were there to sightsee so it didn't matter. Everything is modern and very comfortable. We had a parlor with a couch and chair to relax after walking all day. The bathroom is really great with a fantastic shower. The beds are fantastic and relaxing. THe best part is the traditional Swiss breakfast (complimentary) with a variety of many healthy items and very attentive service. A fantastic barging in a town with rooms that can go over a 1000/cf a night. My only advice, if you like to sleep in, get a room on the top floor since the floors are wood and those who rise early above you will wake you up. Really great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Grüezi Jimmy R

Thank you for having been our guests recently, and we are delighted to know that we could live up to the expectations you rightly had about our hotel after reading the reviews of other travellers. Our well trained team members live up to our credo of delivering quality, not quantity, and it is nice to see that you appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness you were greeted with.
With the most major sights literally at our door step we encourage your guests to explore them by coming face to face with the charme and history of our city.
All our rooms have been renovated in the past five years, and for our Swiss breakfast buffet we only use Swiss products of highest quality. Our wooden floors have been inserted for quality and hygienic reasons, and comfortable slippers are provided to prevent disturbances for guests staying in rooms underneath.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our „great place“ and wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#6 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.