We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Businessman's Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
johannesburg,southafrica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Businessman's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dear Andre Rosenberg, I can only thank you for the amazing service and support my partners and their business associates received at your hotel two weeks ago. Your people could not have been more helpful. Your hotel itself is a special oasis in Zurich - "chic and small in a great location" is the best way to describe you. I will certainly be in Zurich during 2013 and will not consider staying anywhere else but your haven. Sincere regards.

Room Tip: As I have said in the past, choose a smaller rather than a large hotel if service is a priority; alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Grüezi travelworld23

Thank you very much for sharing your positive thoughts about our hotel Helmhaus with other travellers and us.
By delivering quality not quantity we want to provide to our guests what you nicely described as „haven“ – a comfortable feeling of being home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013 and we wish you and your family a Merry Christmas!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    145
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
236
61
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is in a wonderful location if you are visiting the old town - just far enough away for some quite but an easy walk across the bridge. The hotel is clean and cared for - and the room was spacious from my experience with European hotels.

But what really kicked this hotel to 5 stars was the service. We arrived early and they jumped into action to get us a room quickly and were nothing but attentive and helpful for the stay.

Definitely would recommend them for a stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Grüezi BrianT787

We want to thank you for your recent stay with us. Indeed we have just finished the last part of our extensive renovations about nine months ago, and it is nice to know that you valued the cleanliness and the care we have taken and will always take for our little historical hotel.
Your compliments about our team members have been duly passed on.

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Right in the heart of the city, friendly staff, nice rooms, modern bathrooms with good shower. If you are only looking for a clean room and don't need a gym or library etc and can afford Zurich rates this is a good place. We paid 350 Swiss franks for a double with bf.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Grüezi nafihsus

Thank you for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your thoughts about it with other travellers and us.
We want to deliver quality not quantity, and therefore it is nice to know that you valued the quality of our rooms and the friendliness of our team members.
Our website gives most detailed information what our hotel has to offer so guests can inform themselves in advance about our facilities.
We understand that prices and rates in Switzerland are high for visitors. Rates in our hotel are on an average level for Switzerland considering the high level of quality that is provided.

We wish you all the best and a Merry Christmas!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the recommendation of my predecessor and certainly was not disappointed! real wonderful service. we received excellent room and breakfast simply superb in every way .see that all staff take off work as though it is their own business. strongly recommend this hotel .
i will return again when coming to zurich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Grüezi ellale

Thank you for having been our guest, especially since the decision to stay with us was based on the recommendation of your predecessor.
It is a pleasure to know that the recommendation was worth it, that you enjoeyed your time with us and valued the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members.
It would be nice to welcoming you back to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Comfortable and well-ordered in the Swiss tradition, though notably not the Swiss Protestant tradition of sobriety - I was offered a big glass of apfelmost on arrival, and at breakfast someone was served a beer. All this cheeriness, and just within walking distance of the Bahnhof (if luggage fairly movable, don't bother with the taxis, whose drivers seemed fresh off the boat and knew less about Zurich than I did ). Only complaint is there was no soap or shampoo in my room - just an oversight, I imagine.

Room Tip: My room was at the front, which was on a pleasant lane but noisy with the local revellers on a Satur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Grüezi mark s

Thank you for your recent stay with our little Hotel Helmhaus. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the location.
I am sorry to hear that you were missing the soap and shampoo in the bathroom. We do provide high quality Swiss toiletries in our bathrooms, and if something is missing our guests are encouraged to contact the Front Desk at any time.

The team of the Hotel Helmhaus wishes you and your family a Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Your Helmhaus Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The lift is big enough for the luggage, and gave us some excercise to the floor we stayed on. Our room was stunning, the team Helmhaus was always friendly and helpfull. Next time, I will be go for at least a week. Breakfast was Yummy!!!
See you again in 2014.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the view, It is the room that count. It was quiet and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Grüezi Annamarie C

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay with us and that, despite that our hotel is supposed to give you rest and comfort, exercise was also part of it.
Your nice comment about the helpfulness and friendliness of our team members has been duly passed on.
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 to our little historical yet modern hotel, and we wish you a nice Christmas time!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Always love to stay at the Helmhaus when I am in Zurich. It's small but very cozy boutique hotel with all new refurbished rooms and bathroom in the heart of Zurich's old town, the Niederdorf. Lots of restaurants, shops, museums etc in closest vicinity. And the staff are super friendly and attentive to details. Plus the delicious breakfast buffet with all fresh and high quality products, served in style by again top professional staff. Well done Hotel Helmhaus, I will always come back on my regular trips to Zurich

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Grüezi traxlan

Thank you very much for being our repeated guest over again. We appreciate a lot that you have taken yet another time to share your thoughts with other travellers and us.
To welcome you back on a regular basis shows us that with our efforts in the past years (i.e. renovations, improvements etc.) we are on the right way in delivering quality. The friendliness and helpfulness of our team members contributes a lot to a comfortable stay when one is away from home – it is nice to know that, like other guests, it is appreciated by you.

We look forward to having you as our regular guest for many years more and wish you a nice Christmas time!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.