We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do. . . .do not attempt to drive to this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helmhaus to your Saves list
Hotel Helmhaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Whatever you do. . . .do not attempt to drive to this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nice quiet hotel. Modern and clean rooms. Good/diverse breakfast included with the room. Location was excellent. Staff was courteous but not well informed of local sights and attractrions.

We drove into Zurich and this hotel sits off the main street on a pedestrian street rendering our GPS useless. Mind you, I am no noobie when it comes to driving in Europe but after driving around the block (because of our GPS we had a general idea where it MIGHT be) for 45 minutes through Zurich traffic we called the hotel in desperation. A staff member (Mario) then walked out to meet us where we had pulled off the street and parked (illegally I might add). Mario was a great guy.We never would have found the place without him as there are no signs for directions to the hotel from the main street.

Btw. . .parking (as is everything else) in this town is incredibly expensive. We parked at a park platz nearby and it cost 76 SF for 2 days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Grüezi Ralph C

Thank you for having been our guest and for sharing your feedback. It is nice to read that you valued the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our team members.

Although you appreciated the hotel being in the heart of Oldtown we do understand that getting to the hotel is not always as easy - due to its location in the medieval city centre with its narrow lanes and one way streets. We encourage our guests to visit our website which contains driving instructions to and from the hotel, and to contact us directly in order to get full information.

Switzerland is an expensive country but it also delivers high quality and service.

Dear Ralph C, we would look forward to welcome you again in the future to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star Hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    135
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
217
58
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I tried a few hotels when I arrived in Zurich and settled at Helmhaus, small and perfectly formed - I’ve been staying there for 8 months so there’s an endorsement.

The staff are great, friendly, efficient and helpful - They really make guests feel at home.

Breakfast always has fresh fruit salad & birchermüesli made that morning, a wide selection of breads, quality cheeses & meat, really good scrambled eggs (the real thing unlike many chain hotels) and a wide variety of leaf teas.

Location is perfect and it’s very quiet, not immediately by tram/road but 50m to the tram and 3 minutes walk to the lake and Bahnhofstrasse (main shopping district).

There's no gym or on-site restaurant for lunch/dinner but given the plethora of restaurants nearby, don't let that put you off.

The WiFi is free – well it’s like water to many of us these days!

If you go to the Helmhaus, enjoy your stay and tell them Mr James sent you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Grüezi Citywurzel

Thank you very much for making our little hotel Helmhaus your second home away from home. It is our great pleasure to have you staying with us for such a long time!

Like you many of our guests appreciate the location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich and the free WiFi internet access.

Especially since the last step of the renovation was completed in February 2012 our rooms deliver even more comfort and quietness. With this we live up to our credo „Quality, not quantity“ even better than before.

Dear Citywurzel, thank you for your time of sharing your opinion with us, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Traveling on a two-week business trip, I had to find a decent hotel over the weekend that allowed me to combine business and pleasure and this fit the bill nicely. It's a small hotel in the Zurich Altstadt so its location is fantastic --- walking distance to the train station and to many other sights (although the excellent public transportation in Switzerland makes a location a bit of moot point). Although the room was very small (but typical by Swiss standards), it was functional -- it had great Internet access, a/c, and a decent bathroom. LIke all things Swiss, it was quite pricey but provided a good breakfast (and, I'll say it again, a great location). The downside was that the desk was window sill (big enough for my computer and papers but still a window sill) so people could see me working (privacy is not a virtue of this place). This is good place for those traveling alone or as a couple and looking for a quiet getaway that's practical and close to the city sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Grüezi TravelingPards

Thank you for having been guest at our little historical Hotel Helmhaus. We provide a free and easy accessible internet access in our hotel because we know how important this is for business travellers nowadays. Combining easy working with a location where guests still have time to explore the city is one of our quality goals, and it is nice to know that we could achieve that for you.
We furthermore recommend to our business guests to book a double room for single occupancy instead of a single room so they can enjoy more space for working.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Hotel Helmhaus, Zurich. We are very satisfied with this great property located in the heart of old town, walking distance from all key areas in downtoen Zurich.
The staff are very very cooperative, despite numerous queries from all travellers they are always there to guide us and provide their suggestions to make our trip enjoyable - Kudos!!!
The breakfast is well laid out and the overall ambience is very good.

One item which I have suggested is use of double bed comfortors in double bed rooms, the twin comfortors provided do not give the required coverage for a couple.

Overall agreat experience and good value for money

Room Tip: request for front side rooms for more sunshine, but remember these could be slightly more noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Grüezi Vivek P

Thank you and your wife for staying with us. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your time in our little Hotel Helmhaus and appreciated the service and friendliness of our team members.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Location
The location of the hotel is excellent.
Very quiet, near the lake and the river, three min walk from Bahnhofstrasse.
The reception is very small so is the elevator but the receptionist were very nice and helpfull.

Room – Comfort Double
The room was quite small as are most rooms in Zurich.
It was very clean and pleasant.
The bathroom was very small but spotless and renovated.
The bed was very comfortable.
The view was another building so close it was a little annoying.

Breakfast
A very nice Swiss style breakfast was included in the room rate. It was served in a cozy room and included hot dishes but the selection wasn't very rich.

A very nice small hotel I will certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Grüezi WorldTraveller10101

Thank you for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us.

It is nice to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel in the heart of Oldtown Zurich and our rooms – all of which have undergone extensive renovation in the past few years. Providing „Quality, not quantity“ is what we want to achieve for our guests.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Helmhaus is a small clean hotel where the scale of the place makes for a friendly pleasant atmosphere. Sure, the entrance foyer could have been larger, but a smile and a welcoming coffee made up for that. We requested a larger room with a quiet setting and this was met most adequately. The general location of the hotel was very convenient, and way better than others we had considered. The breakfast was both appetizing and served in a cosy attractive dining room. Staff were attentive without being intrusive. If you need more intimate accommodation than this hotel offers,
. . . check out the elevator for cuteness and size ;-)
Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Request larger room perhaps? Uncertain of parking availability for we did not require any.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Grüezi designmatters2me

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts about it. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. As you mention yourself: size does not always matter. In our small historic building we want to deliver warmth and cordiality, be it with the friendliness of our team members or with the colours and the decor of our newly renovated rooms and hotel interior.

It would be nice to welcome you again to the smallest and most centrally located Four Star hotel of Zurich, where history meets art and design.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

ideal location, small boutique hotel very herlpful and friendly staff.Walking distanceo all opf centrla Zurich (mainly old town)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Grüezi kenneth m

Thank you for having been our guest and for your positive feedback. It is nice to know that you valued the location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich and the friendliness and service of our team members.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Business Hotel in Zurich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zürich’s smallest and most centrally located 4-Star hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.