We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic Swiss dining experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drei Stuben

Drei Stuben
Beckenhofstrasse 5, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
+41 44 350 33 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,375 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $31 - $66
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An authentic Swiss dining experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Located on the side of a street, the restaurant looks like a typical german restaurant. However, you enter into a very cozy and rustic dining room. This place will complete the Swiss experience for you! Plus the bonus is, we noticed that we seemed to be the only tourists in the restaurant, but they do have an English menu.
My husband and I ordered the hazelnut salad and veal steak to share. The salad tasted so fresh and we found it was a fairly big portion! The roasted hazelnuts and homemade vinaigrette really made this stand out. The star of our meal was the veal steak, which the restaurant so thoughtfully had split in two plates for us. The plate was delightfully orchestrated and our steak was delicious. It was so tender and moist, it melts in your mouth. Wine list is also excellent here, we both had a couple glasses of a Swiss pinot noir and it was beautiful. If you are in Zurich, I would highly recommend you seek out this restaurant! It is off the beaten path but worth seeking out. It makes you feel like you are eating in a romantic restaurant in the Swiss countryside. Prices are high, but what isn't in Zurich :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We ate there while visiting Zurich and had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant is charming , the service is good and the food delicious. We would definitely recommend it. It is pricey but you are in Zurich.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Swiss food with modern presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Me and my friends had a relaxing lunch in the Drei Stuben's garden enjoying the Sun and delicious Swiss food with beautiful presentation. During the lunch time, they offer the lunch menu which include a salad or soup. All the dishes looked and tasted good. Cordon Blue was probably the best Swiss food that we tried on this trip. Service was excellent as well. We will definitely go to this place again when visiting Zurich next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Swiss food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very pleasant intimate feeling restaurant with fine Swiss food. Can dine inside or out. Good service too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful setting, (too) fancy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Certainly an interesting restaurant. The setting is unique, since it reminds much more of a "Quartierbeiz" - a local - than a fancy dinner place. The restaurant feels very cosy and welcoming. the service is attentive albeit perhaps a bit "professional" rather than truly warm. The food - in our assessment - has not convinced us. We had a bowl of salad that was fresh and truly enjoyable. We then had a typical Swiss dish, Zuercher Geschnaetzeltes and that was very nice, it even included the kidneys apart from the veal (muscle) meat, a nice old fashioned tradition and it is optional. The only disappointment was a white asparagus wrap. It essentially was overpowered by capsicum and has completely ruined the subtle taste of the asparagus. In general the food is too fancy and missed out on emphasizing the core taste of its ingredients....less would be more. The wine was lovely....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drei Stuben also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Drei Stuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drei Stuben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.