We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and customer-oriented staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roessli to your Saves list
Hotel Roessli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roessligasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and customer-oriented staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only had one night in Zurich, so Roessli was chosen for it's location and size (we dislike big and anonymous hotels). The hotel is five minutes from trains, close to the waterfront cafes and walks and it is in the old town, so lots is happening on the streets. Best of all we received very helpful suggestions about public transportation, restaurants and places to visit. As we were leaving early, they suggested a breakfast tray be made up for us and brought to our room the night before. Clean and spacious, good access, reasonable rate (for Switzerland and Zurich that is) and helpful staff. For what we wanted and hoped for...5/5.

Room Tip: It can be noisy on a summer evening (with open windows) and the patrons of the bar on the street are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Hockleybear

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    63
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
56
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed only a night and I had a room that did not face the street. It was roomy, clean, quiet and well maintained. The hotel bar is also a very cool place filled with locals and guests. I would stay there again if I plan to be in Zurich again.

Room Tip: Do not face the street as I can imagine that being noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear newthink4

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a clean, classically decorated room, with great floor and air space, which is in contrast to the small and tiny entrance and reception. Grand bathroom when it coms to equipment with two separate sinks and a large bath tube. Though rather dark in decoration. No air conditions. We where told that they are not allowed in these historical buildings in the old town of Zürich. A very friendly and helpful staff. Internet (w-lan) worked on 4th floor and was included in the price as well as the breakfast.

Room Tip: W-lan worked on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Tom R

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we were super happy with the apartment that we stayed at. it was quite a big apartment for europe standard- essentially 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, a kitchen, large living/dining room plus a beautiful rooftop terrace. if we had known it was going to be so spacious and centralized, we would've booked it when we returned to zurich on our last night.

the hotel is centrally located in old town with the grossmunster basically in it's backyard....its a 5-7 minute walk from the bahnhof stadelhofen station and a 7-10 minute tram ride to the zurich hb station.

of all the breakfasts we had in switzerland, we thought hotel roessli had the best! it had the typical cold meat and breads, but a huge selection of yogurts which made us all very happy!

we'd recommend anyone going to zurich to stay at hotel roessli as it's truly unbeatable!

Room Tip: if it's a party of 4, i'd definitely recommend getting the apartment instead of 2 double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear hungryforrice F

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had a short, 2 night, stay there on my way home from a business trip and in order to attend the opera. The location is ideal in Old Zurich and the accommodation and staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a short distance from the main rail station and convenient to the airport. A great alternative to airport hotels and a great way to spend an evening in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear billandbeth

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My and my man got upgraded from a double room to a penthouse suite. The suite was amazing. It was a mix of modern and old-school, very comfortable bed, huge bathroom with a shower and a tub, and a great, rooftop view of downtown Zurich.
The hotel has a bar next door but the prices are outrages (15.50 CHF for a gin and tonic :/), so you're better of just having a beer. The hotel is also difficult to find in the labyrinth of streets which is Old Town Zurich. It is quite a walk from the train station, but the location is worth it. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around.
The staff is friendly and speaks English very well. We loved our room and will be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Kay A

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
We just learnt from planning department and building control office that our alley receives additional letterings which should make it easier to find us.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice modern clean-cut hotel in the old town.

Short tram or walk to the main station and plenty of restaurants and bars around nearby.

Breakfast buffet very good.

Only down side was that it was very noisy outside late at night even though we were on the top (third) floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anina H, Manager at Hotel Roessli, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear PB&SK

Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
A secret hint for your next visit: please ask for a quiet room facing the backyard.
We would be delighted to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm regards from sunny Zurich, Anina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roessli

Address: Roessligasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
#37 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roessli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually luxurious, modern and historically protected, this property gives visitors to Zurich a taste of the old, a twist of the new and a whole lot of charm. Also the 27 guestrooms connect old with new in a fascinating way and are characterized by lovingly and uniquely designed furniture and love to detail. Contemporary pieces of art of different painters underline the historic ambience. The hotel makes guests feel they are the only guest in the hotel, both in style and service. Located in the historical area of Zurich, a short walk from Bellevue square as well as the Kunsthaus, just within one reach of the busy financial centre and surrounded by few of the best and most interesting restaurant and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre, nightlife and shopping. Ideal for both: the active and culturally curious guest and the business guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roessli Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roessli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.