We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady's First Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lady's First Design Hotel to your Saves list
Lady's First Design Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Seefeld)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Glyfada, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited this Hotel during Easter Holidays in April. The rooms are really spacious, we had a mini suite for 3 adults and 1 kid and a baby. It was very clean, enough quiet, and the breakfast was delicious and with a big variety! We also had our swiss chocolates every day in the breakfast, and as a welcome in the room. I also tried a massage, which was really good (by Ursula). The location is really nice, next to the lake of Zurich (5 min walking distance), and near a tram station. I recomend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Ladysfirst, General Manager at Lady's First Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful headline. We appreciate your positive overall conclusion of your stay last Easter with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. At the Lady’s First design hotel, we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations and we are delighted to forward your positive comment to our massage therapist Ms Ursula Mair.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Yours sincerely

Verena Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    117
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
111
62
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a really good base for Zurich. Staff is very nice and attentive. They are very responsive and trying their best to make your stay comfortable. Hotel is out of city center, but transport connection is so frequent and convenient that you don't feel being remote. On the positive site the location is in very nice residential area next to lake where you can swim in the morning in summer time. And in our case hotel rate was very reasonable compared to Switzerland prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Ladysfirst, General Manager at Lady's First Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us and for your recent stay at the Lady’s First design hotel.
We are delighted to hear that we met your expectations.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Lady’s First design hotel on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Verena Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel before - it feels to us very much like home from home, especially since we have given up our flat in Zurich.
The rooms are very cosy, ours had even a small balcony from which we enjoyed the view on the lake. The later is close, perhaps a 4 minute walk away.
Staff is friendly, "our" breakfast lady exceptionally so. The feeling of the hotel is very relaxed and yet the staff is utterly professional.
We loved the breakfast buffet, the coffee is excellent.
Value for money? Unsurpassed in Zurich!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Ladysfirst, General Manager at Lady's First Design Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Lady’s First design hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you are a returning client and enjoyed and appreciated our product and services again. Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, especially to our breakfast service ladies, since they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards

Verena Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Good experience. Area was beautiful. The hotel was modern, clean, and staff was friendly. Was nothing to rave about- and didnt really view it as a design hotel as my room had a bit of a IKEA feel like I was happy and comfortable and had no complaints

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Ladysfirst, General Manager at Lady's First Design Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us and for your recent stay at the Lady’s First design hotel.

We appreciate your useful comments regarding the hotel interior. It’s our goal to continuously improve the quality, the service and also the variety of products. Therefore suggestions like yours are very important to us. We would like to point out that the building was carefully renovated by the famous architect Pia Schmid and is a unique combination of passed century ambiance, powerful colors and extraordinary materials. Overall, no IKEA furniture is part of our interior design. However, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services beside this.

Yours sincerely


Verena Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I loved this hotel; I felt like I was staying with really cool, sophisticated friends. All the perks of a boutique hotel + WONDERFUL breakfast. Plus, check this out: they somehow managed to launder and remove a massive red-wine stain from a white cocktail dress I wore out one night. I called the front desk and asked if they had any suggestions for how I might remove the stains, and they offered to try themselves. The next day when I returned to the room in the afternoon, the dress was hanging on the bathroom door like it was brand new. I didn't even think it was possible to remove red wine from white cloth. I absolutely loved the lady vibe of the place; all really nice women, though men are welcome. I can't rate it high enough. I have traveled all throughout Europe and this was one of the coolest places I've stayed.

Room Tip: corner room was great (big, double views), but hall-way rooms had AMAZING bathroom (my friend stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Ladysfirst, General Manager at Lady's First Design Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Lady’s First design hotel. We appreciate your positive overall conclusion and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services, made from ladies for ladies and discerning gentlemen, of course.

We are proud our housekeeping ladies were able to remove the stain from your dress and we wish you lots of future occasions to wear it! Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, especially to our housekeeping department, since they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Lady’s First design hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Verena Kern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady's First Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.