We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice service and well priced for Zurich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady's First Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lady's First Design Hotel to your Saves list
Lady's First Design Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Seefeld)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, nice service and well priced for Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed a the Lady's First Design hotel whilst on business. The hotel is centrally located and easy to access from the tram. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and there's a warm welcoming reception with fireplace. The hotel is in quite an old building that has been pleasantly refurbished into a chic boutique hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, however the only downside is the old fashioned wooden floors mean it's quite noisy when others are walking in the short corridors so I would recommend some earplugs. Nice breakfast and would generally recommend this for those wanting a nice but not stupidly priced hotel in Zurich with easy access to the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    124
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
119
63
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel close to the centre, 10 minutes walk. Room and breakfast where ok. Staff was pleasant and very thoughtful. Room very clean. Public transport close and frequently running into city centre. Next to the wellness possibilities, not much to do in the hotel. Quite location in a nice area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lady's First was named by a local as a friend's top choice when visiting Zurich. It's in a solid old building three tram stops beyond the Stadlhof, in a pleasant residential neighborhood near the lake (very nice place to jog or stroll). It was clean and quiet, and the minimal service was cheerful--I don't remember whether there's room service, but you can get made-to-order expresso drinks at breakfast or order tea or drinks in the lobby, which has a small seating area with fireplace. There is also a spa which I not try. The reception closes at 10 pm and the outside door is locked, so you use your key to enter the building at night.

When I got to my room it seemed so small and dark that I called reception to verify that they'd given me the superior that I'd reserved. They confirmed that it was, and offered me another on a higher floor, which was even smaller. The hotel calls itself a design hotel, which apparently means modern furniture and plain colors in renovated rooms. The bathroom was modern; toiletries were what I'd expect in a cheaper hotel. Granted, Zurich is breathtakingly expensive, but for the price there's really nothing special about this property. Compared to the three other Zurich hotels I've stayed in, this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Easy to reach from the airport and the main train station. The lake is a 2 minute walk away and the downtown area can be reached within 10 minutes.
The room I stayed in, was nice and large enough. Unfortunately I did not find any sleep as i could hear the other guests clearly. The guests on the floor up from my room (206) pretty much walked around all night and I could hear every step very clearly.
When I mentioned this to the reception in the morning, they did not care much. I asked for the supervisor, but she was on vacation. Also the hotel director could not be reached. Voicing this complaint was impossible.
Breakfast was okay, but nothing special.
At 220 CHF per night, the stay was not cheap, either.
When coming back to Zurich, I will avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacarei, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

For working, sometimes I head in to Zurich. I do have the option to pick the hotels, but my choice is LF. Staff is lovely, simple and feels like home to be there. Clean, cosy, comfortable, nice breakfast, very well located, nearby the Lake. lovely to see the sunset and having a "gelato".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel was nice enough, but the floors were loud and creaky, the staff was completely overworked and not able to deal with a full house. Breakfast they ran out of food and it was horribly crowded in the breakfast room. Too expensive to have harried service and no breakfast on a Sunday. The rooms are very small and are very loud.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Recently my wife and I went to Zuerich to visit our son and his family. Because the wether was not so good, we were compelled to stay in the "Lady's First Hotel" more time than we planned. The misfortune was not so dreary also because our comfortable room 101 helped us to have in any case a nice time.

Room Tip: During a week end, ask for room 101. It's very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady's First Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.