We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac to your Saves list
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Seefeld)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from this hotel.The hotel is in an excellent position very close to the centre.
The staff were most helpful and friendly.In my opinion the breakfast for 35 chf wasn't worth the money.
The room was spacious and comfortable,however the air-conditioner only works by circulating air it dosn't cool the room which for us was a downfall. Last week was expectionally hot over 33c,even though we were given a fan it didn't help much.That was my only fault with this hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room on arrival had a great view overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comment on tripadvisor.com. The reviews of our guests help us to continuously improve our services.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac and certainly will forward your compliments to our staff.
As you mentioned due to environmental reasons our hotel only has an air circulation system and not an air condition. This indeed does not cool down the rooms as much as an air conditioning does and we are sorry to hear that this had an impact on your stay
Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac.
With best regards from Zurich

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
58
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is excellently situation, if a little easy to miss the first time you pass it, as the entrance is narrow and between the windows of a car showroom. That being said, it was a very warm welcome and the interior, and in fact throughout the entire hotel, elegant and modern. The welcome from the reception staff was genuine and friendly, and the shot glass filled with 'power juice' delicious and a nice touch. They all spoke very good English, which is a constant embarressment when I visit Europe, as its my own and only language. However, we asked a number of touristy questions, both then and throughout our stay, which were all answered with genuine enthusiasm, if, on occaisoin, not a lot of knowledge about the city, which let the overall score down.

Our car was parked for us and we were quickly advised of our room numbers. No offer was made to carry our cases, despite that we had booked the best suite in the hotel, however, to us, it made little difference. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff each day did a great job and paid attention to the detail. We booked the corner suite over two floors, which included a marvellous private circular rooftop where we ate breakfast and enjoyed a breathtaking view across Lake Zurich, and if your budget stretches to it it's a wonderful indulgence. My daughter and son had seperate doulbe rooms, overlooking the lake, and they too were marvellous with great views and small private balconies.

One odd thing was having no tea and coffee making facilities, which was highly annoying. I was informed that this was due to 'fire regulations' which sounded like rubbish and made me feel that it was simply down to trying to get more money from you via room service charges. That being said, room service was swirt and accurate and the standard of food was very good indeed. One small gripe was that the beer on draught was warm however it was replaced when I pointed this out.

In terms of location the hotel is perfect, within five minutes stroll along the promenade to the opera house and the edge of the old town which is stunningly beautiful, safe and clean beyond words. We ate out twice, once in the old town in a 'that will do' choice the first night there - but served marvellous swiss food. The second night we ate at Zeughauskeller which, although touristy, is filled with german and swiss holidaymakers, and the food was wonderful - highly recommended if you like meat, cheese, potatoes and beer, with a fabulously eclectic interior.

Directly across the road from the hotel entrace is a Lido, on the lake itself, which was a great place to enjoy the sun and swim in the lake - but be warned, the water is very, very cold, and i mean cold with a capital COLD, so if you have any sort of heart condition do NOT enter by jumping it, but test it first with the shower in the communal centre section which is shown to you on entry to the Lido. Very friendly staff there too if its your first visit.

On the whole, a very good, but not great, hotel, with quailty staff who really do try to ensure your stay is a positive one, and it would take only a few small touches required to tweak the experience.

Departure was with clinical swiss efficiency. Would I stay there again, definately.

Room Tip: no pool and no requirement for kids activities hence the terrible rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr Boyde

Thank you for writing us such a detailed review. We appreciate your time since we can only continuously improve our services through the feedback of our guests.
We are glad to read that you were satisfied with your room and our staff and certainly will look into your suggestions for improvements like coffee making facilities.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac and wish you in the meanwhile all the best
With warm regards from Zurich

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I don't really mean that, but this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel in Zürich (and I've visited over many years) when I've felt the high cost is worth it: too often the rooms have been mean and poorly air-conditioned, breakfasts small or non-existent, service just adequate. The Bellerive rooms are superb: spacious, well-designed, properly sound-proofed, with comfortable beds and great views. The breakfast costs an arm and a leg, but is excellent, and is served in a restaurant overlooking the lake and the hills in the distance. I had a problem with a minibar charge added on beyond what we'd already paid, but this was resolved after an exchange of emails.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake from the upper rooms is what I'd go for, although you have to keep the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for taking time to write us a review on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your feedback which helps us to continuously improve our services.
We are glad you had a good experience staying with us and were satisfied with the room and breakfast and will forward your compliments to the whole staff.
We hope to welcome you again in near future and wish you in the meanwhile all the best.

With warm regards from Zurich

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensdorf, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good ambiance and perfect location to stay with family, and from the rooms balcony you can see a very nice view from outside which we stay in Suites room, very nice room especially the bath room I really like it very clean and the breakfast buffet is fantastic, all staff are friendly and organize.. The Receptionist is very attentive and fast service and friendly too.

Room Tip: suites room are large and perfect location especially the over view from the balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ms Schulthess

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com and your booking at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. Indeed our junior suites are of good size and offer a beautiful view over the Zurich Lake. Also we will certainly pass your compliments to our staff.

The Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again and wishes you in the meanwhile all the best.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located on the lakefront less than 10 minutes walk from the city center this is one of my two preferred hotels in Zurich.

The ground floor being taken by an Audi / Volkswagen showroom (the importer actually owns the hotel) the access to the reception might seem weird, but at least one can dream about the car he/she would like to drive.....

The rooms are furnished in the original "Bauhaus" style and the whole building is a hstorical monument in itself.

Rates can be (too) high and I recommend to aim for the weekend rates or last minute availability. Instead of paying rack rates rather go to the Florhof Hotel.

Rooms are well soundproofed and the lakeside ones have balconies. In summer cross the road and go to the "Badi" to have a swim in the pristine and perfectly clean lake.

For opera lovers it might be interesting that the opera house is a 5 minutes walk away and that at the excellent restaurant they are happy to serve you a late dinner which is not common in Zurich.

Room Tip: Lakeside high floor where the trees do not interrupt your views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great River, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Travel agent recommended this hotel. It was great. Nice location on Lake. Short walk to shopping, sites, cathedrals and old town. Front desk very helpful. Reasonably priced based on how crazy expensive Zurich is! Room was quite large with large bathroom, closets, sitting area and desk. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and that you have spent time to write a review on trip advisor.com.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac and we also forwarded your compliments to our whole staff.

The Steigenberger Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again and wishes you in the meantime all the best.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been for 4 nights end of February 2013. Thehotel is very well situated just in front of the Lac promenade with an excellent view ( in condition you reserve a lac view room). The staff is very polite and very helpful. The room is a reasonable size and clean. Breakfast buffet is ok ( just what you need). Thehotel needs some renauvation from outside as well as for the rooms . Beside the hotel it is a nice area with plenty of restaurant and with5 minutes walk you can find COOP supermarket with all you needs and even a nice restaurant. Overhaul it's a nice hotel but little bit expensive. P.S : Don't exchange franc Swiss in the hotel, the rate is not good while a few meter away you there is a bank with better rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Bellerive guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com and your booking in the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we will certainly pass your compliments to our team. Unfortunately we are not able to change anything on the outside as the building is under monumental protection but we are always improving our rooms from the inside.
The Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again and wishes you in the meanwhile all the best.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Address: Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#36 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the hotel Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, the guest will enjoy the view of Lake Zurich and the city centre which is a mere ten minutes away. The small boutique hotel with its spacious rooms and suites is comfortably furnished. In the "Vivus" with its terrace you can enjoy regional and international specialties. And in the Bellerive Lounge and Bar you might draw the day to a pleasant close in style. The event rooms are ideal for small meetings and seminars, and the Salon du Lac is the perfect venue for exclusive events or private occasions such as wedding, jubilee or birthday celebrations. In the small, but fine fitness and wellness area you can relax in comfort. Before this, we recommend the endurance athletes among our guests to make use of the jogging and walking paths along the shore promenade, or swim in the lake. The world-famous Zurich shopping mall, the Bahnhofstrasse, the business and financial centre surrounding Paradeplatz, together with the historical old city centre can be reached easily and comfortably on foot or by tram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Bellerive Au Lac zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.